Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2014 Closeout - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2014 Closeout Product Details.
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - Deluxe Package available at great savings !

Out of Stock

This product has been replaced by Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2015 .
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Mark
Rating:
5
Date:
6/1/2012
Review:
I got the Tarpon 2 days after ordering. The next day we were on the water catching fish! This is a high quality boat, and I especially like the slidetrax system and the new hatches. I have been out several times now, including lakes, rivers, and on the coast fishing for trout and redfish. This yak is a great all-around performer and we are very happy with the purchase.
Reviewer:
Bob Petrovic
Rating:
5
Date:
12/28/2011
Review:
I haven't had a chance to put my Tarpon 120 in the water yet - it's still kinda cold out there. The kayak was in perfect order when it arrived. The packing and packaging were a wonder of their own. The kayak is very solid and seems to have every convenience I can think of for an off-the- shelf unit. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase.
Reviewer:
Sam S
Rating:
5
Date:
8/29/2011
Review:
Great boat, well designed and very stable on the water.
Reviewer:
thebushpilot
Rating:
5
Date:
8/22/2011
Review:
It's great. Tracks great, stable, and seems to be almost infinitely customizable. The first time I took it out I spent about 6 hours on the lake without getting fatigued or sore. There was a decent amount of wind and some @#!*tards blowing through the no wake zone and had no stability issues. 2nd time was on a super calm lake and it cruised like a dream. I'm super happy with this thing and am looking foreward to going out on the bay with it. (Bodega, San Pablo, SF Bay area).It's also really nice that the rail system and accessory blanks are sized for common mounts/accessories. The only complaints I have are that the seat bottom could be a little rearward in relation to the seat back and the cup holder would be more convenient closer to the seat.
Reviewer:
BJ Taylor
Rating:
4
Date:
7/27/2011
Review:
Love them... we've been out twice and really love the. We accidentally found out though that there's a $75 rebate on the kayaks, and wonder why no one from Austin called that to our attention.
Reviewer:
Chuck Thoma
Rating:
5
Date:
5/8/2011
Review:
Kayak as it arrived and inspected is almost too pretty to use. I haven't had a chance to get it on water yet because of high water levels on Allegheny River. The Tarpon 120 has the features I need to fully enjoy the recreation opportunities afforded by the local waterways. But I'm still trying to figure out what scupper plugs are all about.
Reviewer:
westTXyakker
Rating:
5
Date:
5/6/2011
Review:
I had my selection narrowed down to 2 kayaks and I picked the Tarpon for the Phase-3 seat. Best decision I have made. That seat is unbelievably comfortable. I didn't get the angler version but I put rear facing Scotty rod holders on the tankwell slidetrax and like it better because I can have my rods horizontal to keep them from snagging on trees/docks. I like the slidetrax because it sure is a relief not to have to cut into the hull. The hatches lock tight and are easy to open and close. It tracks really straight and it pretty quick for a 12 footer in my opinion. Everything on it is high quality and you will not be disappointed.
Reviewer:
Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2011
Review:
I really like the Tarpon 120, it's very stable and turns very well. The ride is dry and I only leave the footwell plugs out to drain water from your feet. The customer service from ACK is great and the shipping is super fast. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!
Reviewer:
yakker
Rating:
5
Date:
10/10/2010
Review:
this is my first kayak, so I was a bit nervous about expending this amount on something that I had no experience with. It has turned out to be an excellent purchase. I had several criteria in mind when deciding which kayak to purchase. I read every review I could find online and did as much research as I could. My criteria narrowed down to a comfortable and adjustable seat, easy to open hatches, adjustable foot pegs and lots of storage. The Tarpon 120 meet those needs and more. I really like the track system so I can mount fishing pole holders and other accessories with out having to drill holes in the kayak. And I can take them off when I want to use the kayak for recreation and not for fishing. The orbix hatches are great. Easy to open and no bungees or straps to mess with. I have used this kayak on small lakes and on rivers and have enjoyed every minute. The seat is very comfortable and is adjustable and have no problems sitting for long periods of time. The Tarpon 120 tracks very well, is stable and paddles well with minimal effort. I would definitely recommend this yak. I am planning on getting the Tarpon 100 next spring so my girlfriend can go on trips with me. The only negatives on this product are: 1. The owners manual is worthless, it has very little detail for instructions and for the most part is a safety manual. 2. The scupper plugs that come with the Tarpon are not the best design and can be kicked out accidentally with your feet or they can get caught on your fishing line. These two negatives are pretty minimal. Overall this is a great Kayak! I'm having a blast!
Reviewer:
Desiree
Rating:
5
Date:
9/12/2010
Review:
After wanting a kayak for years hubby and I decided to go for it and did much research and comparing as well as asking friends that owned kayaks. Our friends urged us to go with the sit-on style and we're so glad they did. They are remarkable in all aspects for us. They track well, are very stable, hold lots of gear and are great for recreation or fishing. Our Tarpon 120's are at the top of our list! We're hoping to get one for our son as soon as possible!
Reviewer:
Shirley
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2010
Review:
Great kayak. I have somewhat impaired balance and the Tarpon 120 is very stable, even in choppy water with rude water skiers all around.
Reviewer:
Ozarkwoods
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2010
Review:
I have had a chance to take the 120 out two times now. The first was a lake with some chop. I found without the scupper plugs in a 1/2inch of water at my heals and a about an inch of water in the rear storage area. I weight 270lbs and I did have a cooler with water and our lunch in rear storage area. The Tarpon is very stable easy to get in and out of, and the seat was very comfortable (I have had two back surgeries) the second trip we traveled from Rockaway Beach to Branson and back on Lake Taneycomo water was smooth with some boat traffic. With plugs in no water in rear storage and only a small amount from footwear. The Tarpon tracked well. Love it
<<      3         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.19.148.56 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat