Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Kayak Product Details.
$1,019.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Eric Heline
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2011
Review:
Excellent watercraft. My first sit upon, I am impressed with its stability and handling. I've had it out in the estuaries and the surf, and am now very comfortable being at sea. Well thought out for a fishing craft. Ordered with a rudder, it makes a world of difference, and I highly recommend this option. The rudder controls will be a bit tight for anyone over 6 feet, and there is not a lot of room left to extend the cables or the pedals. A photographer, I have the sand color; and the boat blends in well with the background. All in all I'm very pleased and can heartily recommend this craft. Shipping was quick, and as always, the service with Austin Canoe and Kayak is exceptional.
Reviewer:
Tom G.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2011
Review:
I'm very impressed with the Tarpon 140. We had rented a Tarpon 120 and a Native Magic 12 last year and preferred the features of the Tarpon 120, but compared to the Native, the Tarpon 120 was a dog to paddle. I reasoned that a 14' version might be the perfect solution - a longer waterline will mean a higher hull speed and the narrower beam should mean lower resisteance at any given boat speed. Prior to purchasing, we did a paddle-off between the Tarpon 120 and 140 at the local Canoe and Kayak shop. There was a huge difference in paddling effort and handling between the two boats. The 120 is wider and shorter. It's incredibly stable. However, the longer, narrower 140 paddles much easier. It is noticably less stable though, and does take a few minutes to get comfortable with the lessened stabilty. It's not scary, but it is noticably more tender. I'm not sure I'll be able to paddle with my 65 pound Golden Retreiver granddog like I had envisioned... The one time I tried, we both wound up in the river. The 120 also tended to corkscrew going downwind in a 12-16" chop; the 140 tracked straight as an arrow. Without the rudder, the 140 has a huge turning radius and might be obnoxious to manuever in tight quarters. With the rudder, directional control is perfect. Definitely get the rudder. After purchasing the Tarpon 140, we rented a Redfish 14 for a week because I'll be looking for a second boat perhaps in the Fall. We again did the paddle-off thing. The Tarpon 140 is 3" narrowerer and without a doubt easier to paddle. It's layout and outfitting is also much better thought out than the Redfish 14. I'm very comfortable that for my primary purposes, the Tarpon 140 is the right boat for me. I don't plan to fish from the boat, so the usefulness of the emedded mounting rails is questionable. However, I store it upside down on a homemade rack, and the rails do a great job of distributing the load across the length of the rails and I don't have to worry about the deck caving in over time. For the first week, I stored the boat on a wheeled dolly, and the bottom (between the main cockpit scupper holes) did go somewhat concave on me. With time thogh (now that it's stored upside down) the hull seems to be returning to its intended contour. ACK is awsome. The local Canoe and Kayak shop was quoting a 3 week delivery time, ACK provided it in nominally a week. We had issues with getting the local delivery company to deliver the boat from the local terminal to our home and ACK pounded them hard for us; the boat was delivered the next day. ACK mistakenly sent us the wrong paddle and they fixed that in next to no time and with zero hassle as well. I'm a big fan.
Reviewer:
JPB
Rating:
5
Date:
6/14/2011
Review:
Previously owned a wilderness system tarpon and have tried many differant types as well. I kept going back to the T140 and bought it from ACK- Houston the weekend before memorial day. The kayak handles and tracks great. I have since added a rudder and it even improves on the already great qualities of the ride. ACK in houston took their time with me and answered all my questions. Outstanding bunch to work with. I bought my last Tarpon in Austin and great service both times.
Reviewer:
wisyakman
Rating:
5
Date:
6/11/2011
Review:
I had the Tarpon 120 and wanted something a little faster so I grabbed a Tarpon 140. I all ready new the tarpon handled swells well,tracked and glided great and handled all my fishing gear so why get anything else. Over the years I have had a Native Ultimate 14.5 tandem, OK Trident 13, and a jackson Coosa Elite, but nothing and I mean nothing comes close to a Tarpon. I also shop ACK instead of the two local shops becuase of the fantastic customer service and speed they have for getting my items to me undamaged and often early. love you guys keep it up from Wisconsin
Reviewer:
jedagi
Rating:
5
Date:
12/16/2010
Review:
I bought my tarpon 140 about 6 years ago. At that time I lived in deep south Texas. I put a lot of hours in fishing the lower Laguna Madre. Paddled as much as 10 miles getting to a fishing spot. Fished in some pretty rough conditions without ever capsizing a single time. I've been drug all over by black drum. This kayak performs perfectly. The 140 is a pretty fast kayak but does seem to have a point of top speed where harder faster paddling does not seem to change your speed any. The only stability issue I had was trying to pull a huge black drum into the boat. My kayak has a rudder and it is especially handy when drift fishing to keep you at the optimum angle while casting. I added a butt pad for comfort and plugs in the scupper holes for a dryer ride. The 140 has plenty of room for readily available gear and loads of stow away storage. I highly recommend this kayak for fishing and recreational activity.
Reviewer:
Robert
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2010
Review:
Bought two Tarpon 140 and could not be happier. ACK in Houston were great in their advice and guidance. This is a stable, fast and comfortable boat. By the way, get the rudders as it makes guiding the boat effortless. Again, could not be happier with the boats or service from ACK Houston.
Reviewer:
Wink
Rating:
5
Date:
4/15/2010
Review:
Just bought my 1st 2 Yaks. Tarpon 140 & a 120. Overly impressed! Handle like a dream. Storage galore. Seat & foot pegs make it super comfortable. Mine are rudderless yet very easily steered. I'm a heavy guy & yet feel quite stable in these kayaks. Can't say enough good things about ACK! 1st Class Company! Personalized service. Great communication. Check them out on Facebook.
Reviewer:
josh
Rating:
4
Date:
3/3/2010
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Kayak is a great kayak and all work done by ACK was exceptional. However the craftsmanship of the kayak its self is slightly off, meaning the little things such as trimming scupper hole edges from production was hastily done leaving sloppy edges. this being compared to the other kayaks i own. This is due to wilderness systems not Austin Kayak they were great.
Reviewer:
Marcel L.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/16/2008
Review:
I have been researching kayaks for about a year and after all my investigation I finally decided on the 2009 Tarpon 140 with rudder. I could not be happier about my decision. This is a superior craft in every sense of the word. I highly recommend it. You should definitely spend a little extra and get the rudder. I did and my yak tracks like an arrow. Save yourself the time and trouble of researching your next kayak...I already did the work for you. Buy the 2009 Tarpon 140 with rudder. You'll be very happy you did!
Reviewer:
Bill Zwinge
Rating:
4
Date:
12/1/2008
Review:
First a little about me, seventy year old male, 5'8", 175 lbs, have been paddling for three years. Bought the 2009 W/S Tarpon 140 so that my dog would be able to go with me. She lies in the tank well, sixty lbs of moving weight. With twenty lbs of ballast in the front hatch the boat is very stable. It seems like every time I go kayaking the wind is blowing fifteen k+. Without the rudder the boat wants to weather vane. Load the boat myself, in the wind it can be a handful. That is another story. Did I mention how much I love the new hatch covers, and the seat is to die for.
Reviewer:
Greg Blackwell
Rating:
5
Date:
7/7/2008
Review:
After trying out many kayaks, I chose the Tarpon 140. It is the right fit for my type of fishing. It is fast, tracks well, and has room for all my gear. The best thing is the stability. I was caught by an unexpected storm on a grass flat the other weekend. The winds were 35+MPH. The Tarpon held tight in the wind, and it handled the waves like a dream. My only problem with it is that the cockpit holds water almost constantly. This can be averted by inserting the scuppers, and the water never gets to the seat.
Reviewer:
JD Blosser
Rating:
5
Date:
11/2/2006
Review:
Kayak is highly visable in the water and remarkably fast. Though a bit difficult to handle on rivers, it is unbeatable on lakes. Handles swells easily and is a lot of fun. Difficult for one person to carry very far, but easy for two.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.237.249.10 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat