Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Kayak Product Details.
$1,019.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
John
Rating:
5
Date:
6/10/2014
Review:
After reading a lot of reviews and paddling 15 different kayaks on a demo day, I decided on the Tarpon 140. I also liked the tarpon 120 and probably would have been happy with that one too if I had purchased it. I use my new 140 on a large lake with relatively calm waters except for the wakes from boat traffic. This kayak is stable, tracks straight, and is relatively quick. The phase 3 seat is extremely comfortable for those long paddles. I'm 6'1, 200 lbs and relatively strong. You will need either a cart to wheel this kayak around or another person to help you get it to the water. It is heavy and difficult to handle by myself. But once on the water, it is terrific and I am glad I purchased it. ACK was great to work with they helped me select a paddle and pfd. Get a good paddle!
Reviewer:
Paul Laureano
Rating:
4
Date:
9/19/2013
Review:
Tarpon 140 with Rudder kit. Excellent kayak. The rudder makes a great difference. I use it on the St, Johns River. It is connected to the ocean, So it can get quite rough. This kayak goes straight. It handles quite well no matter how rough it gets.
Reviewer:
Susan S.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2013
Review:
My husband and I are new to kayaking, and wanted kayaks that would be safe in reasonably calm ocean water, and also fun for flat water river trips. We also wanted to be able to take friends kayaking in the local lakes near us. We ordered 2 Tarpon140s with rudders, delivered to our home on Orcas Island off the coast of the state of Washington. The kayaks arrived with a week, and in perfect shape, and free shipping besides! Over the last month, we took our kayaks into both fresh and ocean water and couldn't have been happier with how they performed. We love how sensitive the rudder is and what a great option it is for a 14 ft. long kayak - allowing the kayak to turn on a dime. The kayaks are also extremely stable and the seat is comfortable for long periods. We haven't tried our kayaks in ocean water with strong currents, wind, etc., yet. The only drawback for us is the weight of the kayak, but my husband and I have a system for putting it on and off our car racks together, which has so far worked well (we are not very strong or young!) We have needed to carry a small step ladder with us for putting the kayaks on the car. Very happy with our purchase!
Reviewer:
Joseph Harvey
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2013
Review:
Great Kayak! Should be cheaper or come with rudder package for this price!
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
5/28/2013
Review:
I love this kayak. It tracks straight without the rudder. It's kinda heavy paddling but I mainly use it for fishing and sailing. I'm glad I choose the mango color as it is visible from afar. ACK is a great website and for all my kayak/boat purchases will be with them. They offer free shipping on orders over $39 and they take care of your tax. Great website too!
Reviewer:
Matt
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2013
Review:
A long time canoe owner. I researched kayaks for literally years before finally buying one. You can drive yourself nuts reading the various forums on what boat is best. I wanted quality. WS has a good reputation. My needs are complicated. I paddle for exercise (performance), exploration(speed, efficiency), hope to do some camping (storage) and I do a lot of fishing (stability). Basically I needed a lot out of one boat since I can't afford 2. I've done a couple of trips in the month I've had it. My biggest concern was my weight. I'm 260, but am happy to report water does not sit in the footwells. Its close, but its no tub like critics claim. Do you get wet? Sure - a little if there are waves. It sits low, so windage is minimal (coming from a canoe its nothing). Also that low stance lowers the center of gravity making this fast boat pretty stable. Consider this in a market of boats where stability and speed are at the ends of the performance spectrum. I got it with the rudder kit, which I really like. Only complaint so far is not a common one- The seat is not as comfortable as I had hoped. I'll hopefully find an adjustment that I like, but it really doesn't tarnish my overall satisfaction with the boat.
Reviewer:
Alec
Rating:
5
Date:
10/4/2012
Review:
I placed a order with Nelly for the Wilderness Tarpon 140 Sept 31 Friday and had the optional rudder installed. The following Tuesday my kayak arrived in San Diego! Awesome service from ACK! On Thursday I took it and got it wet in San Diego Bay... Wow, I love this kayak! So far the only negative thing I can say is the rudder line is little stiff when I pull the rudder up from the water. And the center hatch is little shallower than I thought. Otherwise very fast and stable for SOT kayak. The cargo space in the back is plentiful. Lots of room in front hatch. And Im sure I find items to add to the 4 tracks that came installed on the kayak.
Reviewer:
T
Rating:
5
Date:
9/5/2012
Review:
This is an awesome kayak! Get the rudder, you will like that option. ACK packing and delivery were great. I ordered the camo color, it looks really nice. You cant go wrong with a Wildy!
Reviewer:
David Turko
Rating:
3
Date:
9/3/2012
Review:
Kayak has been great, I was lead to believe the rod holders would have come with the package being called the Tarpon 140. I would only assume it was a fishing package kayak????
ACK's Response:
This configuration of the Tarpon 140 does not come with rod holders. Item #1088, Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Package includes rod holders.
Reviewer:
Rob
Rating:
4
Date:
8/27/2012
Review:
I am very satisfied with this kayak. I used to own a T 160, bought in about 2003, and loved it. Unfortunately, it was stolen a few years ago. The 140 is not as fast, but the overall changes that have been made in comfort and convenience are very nice. Im happy to trade a little speed for the extra stability. Very good workmanship.
Reviewer:
Patrick S.
Rating:
4
Date:
6/4/2012
Review:
After a ton of research,I decided on the Tarpon 140. It came packed pretty well,but it still had some tears in the plastic and some underlying scratches...nothing major. Wish they would use a heavy shrink wrap from the factory. The yak is fast and stable. Im 61 and 235. I kept the 4 rear scupper plugs in and left the footwell ones out and had about 1/4 of water in the footwells most of the day. Pretty dry ride for me. Wish there was some adjustibilty in the footrest distance. My knees are little up and splayed out. This sometimes interferes with my paddle stroke and my upper thigh rubs on the bungee islet that holds the paddle in place. Wish these were more flush with the hull and not protruding. Also a self centering rudder would be nice springs,bungees??. The seat is very comfortable and adjustable. Also a replaceable skid/skeg would be nice. I also recommend the Werner Skagit CF paddle. Very lite with bite. Great dealing with ACK and will do so more in the future. Patrick
Reviewer:
Bill Adams
Rating:
5
Date:
4/13/2012
Review:
I am very impressed with the Tarpon 140. I also own the Tarpon 120. I purchased this Tarpon 140 to use on a large lake with a lot of boat traffic. Handles great and I suggest the Rudder. The service with Austin Canoe and Kayak is exceptional.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.237.249.10 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat