FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Dagger Axis 10.5 Kayak - 2014 - Product Reviews
Return to Dagger Axis 10.5 Kayak - 2014 Product Details.
$769.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: As a new member of the ACK family, I had the privilege of paddling many comparable transition kayaks. The Dagger Axis 10.5 kayak was among the more impressive of the transition style kayaks. Be it a relaxing cruise or a more rigorous river trip, this Dagger can handle it. Its maneuverability makes it great in any condition. Furthermore, the thigh pads make it even better for those like myself who really enjoy the a forward paddling position and incorporating the entire body for a more challenging steering approach.
Customer Rating: 5.0 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Sailmaker101
Rating:
5
Date:
7/21/2014
Review:
This is my 2nd review of the Dagger Axis 10.5. After 6 weeks of extensive use, my rating remains the same 5 stars, primarily due to Austin Canoe & Kayak Customer Service. The front (bow) retractable broke during the 1st month...it stopped retracting. ACK Customer Service helped with the warranty claim with Dagger Kayaks and did all the communicating with the factory to ensure a replacement part was sent. Additionally, they provided advice on installing the replacement part and stayed in constant communication until the part was delivered. The Dagger Axis remains an impressive kayak for my needs. Handles class I & II rapids easily and rarely takes on much water. The drop skeg is fabulous and provides excellent tracking. Keeping the skeg about halfway down seems to be the best position when negotiating rapids. I have hit bottom or rocks while going through rapids & because the skeg is "spring loaded: the skeg pops up and then back down without any damage. I recently completed 110 mile paddle trip and the adjustable seat was quite comfortable, even after 20 mile/day paddle. The Dagger Axis is a great value for a crossover kayak and handles flatwater & Class I & II rapids with ease. I chose the 10.5 because I frequently take side trips up small creeks; with the skeg up, the kayak is extremely maneuverable.
Reviewer:
Clinton
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2014
Review:
Last fall I decided to get back into paddling and bought a Perception Sport Swifty 9.5 rec boat just to play in. This spring I was hooked again and wanted a better boat so I bought the Axis 10.5 after reading a bunch of reviews. Where I paddle offers a lot of varying conditions depending on the amount of rain we have been getting. I live in the upper Ohio Valley and usually paddle a couple miles up a creek off the river. With a little rain the current can become a challenge and if the river is up the current can be a challenge coming back the other way. The day before the Axis was delivered we got about 2.5 inches of rain and I would have never thought about going up stream in my other boat, but I really wanted to give the Axis a try. When I first pulled out from the landing I was all over the place. I couldn’t believe how maneuverable the Axis was compared to the shorter Swifty. I dropped the skeg and headed up steam. The Axis tracks straight as arrow with the skeg full down, but with the skeg in that position it is a little sluggish in turns. After playing with the skeg I found the middle position to be the proper balance between turning and tracking for my paddling. So far all of my rides have only been around an hour, but the seat is very comfortable and the adjustability is great. The footbrace system is great. It nice to be able to adjust the foot pedals on the fly. The overall fit and finish of the Axis makes it seem like a more expensive boat. I can’t wait to try it out some moving water. I was a bit worried about ordering a kayak online, but ACK and Estes Express made it a painless experience.
Reviewer:
Tim
Rating:
5
Date:
7/11/2014
Review:
This boat is incredible.. I couldn't be happier with the way it paddles and the skeg works vry well when on lakes and wank to trak straight.. I would definitely recommend this boat to everyeone and the shipping was quick.
Reviewer:
Sailmaker101
Rating:
5
Date:
6/1/2014
Review:
Great crossover kayak. Having come from an Old Town Otter XT to the Dagger Axis 10.5 the difference in handling characteristics is phenomenal. The drop down skeg makes for extremely good tracking. The most surprising aspect of the drop down skeg: the Axis actually drifts in a straight line too. Pull the skeg up and the Dagger Axis turns quite easily. Paddling speed with less exertion is a real bonus. The adjustable seat is very comfortable, especially since both the seat bottom & seat back are independently adjustable. The cockpit size makes for easy entry & exit. One of my favorite features is the retractable handles. My previous kayak always had the handles dragging in the water, which shouldn't be a big deal but was annoying.The polyethylene construction appears to be on par with the Old Town Otter XT which is almost indestructible. At 10.5 ft and 50 lbs, the Dagger Axis is easy to load on to car top, even for those of us "vertically challenged". This is a real keeper and ACK (Austin Canoe & Kayak) customer service & immediate shipping (arrived 3 business days after order was received) makes them a 5 star kayak outfitter. I researched crossover kayaks quite extensively and the reviews for the Dagger Axis 10.5 match my own experience. My paddling venues range from lakes to creeks to slow moving rivers and Class l & ll rapids. If your paddling venues are similar, you can’t go wrong with the Dagger Axis 10.5. I didn't consider the Axis 12 because I needed a kayak that would maneuver in some of the narrow creeks. My paddling buddy and I are in our mid- 60’s and for price and features, this has to be one of the best crossover kayaks currently available.
Reviewer:
Beerwolf80
Rating:
5
Date:
5/5/2014
Review:
Great kayak. Tracks well on flat water, and easy to maneuver. I haven't had the chance to use it on moving water, but it exceeded my flat water expectations so I'm not to worried. Great beginner or intermediate yak.
Reviewer:
Pete427
Rating:
5
Date:
9/9/2013
Review:
Purchase the Dagger Axis 10.5 kayak after renting one several times. Easily handled getting in and out of the water and great on the water.
Reviewer:
Hayduke357
Rating:
5
Date:
8/21/2013
Review:
Not only is the Axis 10.5 an outstanding boat, but the customer service at Austin Kayak is second to none. I already had one Axis and bought the second one for my wife, who decided she wanted one (in yellow!) too after paddling mine in a local lake. I've had my Axis all over Colorado, inlcuding on the Arkansas River (up to Class III water) and it offers amazing performance for an all-water boat. The communication with Austin Kayak was terrific, they shipped the boat fast, and the packing was more than adequate. Even the driver for the freight service they used for delivery was pleasant to deal with, and waited patiently while I inspected the boat. Austin Kayak is just one more reason why Austin is the capital of everything that matters.
Reviewer:
Steven J.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2013
Review:
I can't rate this kayak high enough! It looks beautiful, has plenty of storage, is easy to enter and exit, tracks perfectly, is light enough to lift by myself easily, and glides through the water! If you are on the fence about this kayak or one with no skeg, get this kayak. The skeg is must for any flatwater paddler. Skeg up and you can spin in circles no problem. Have it down and you go in a straight line, simple as that. When I say straight, I mean straight. I literally pointed my boat at the boat dock from the far end of the lake (7 miles away) and hit it almost dead on without trying to turn or adjust at all. The dry storage in the back holds plenty but the opening is a little small to pack larger items. The seal on it works great and no water has leaked in despite being in some heavy chop. Cockpit is roomy and the padding on the side is comfortable. Adding to the comfort is the chair which is very nice. The adjustable backrest is great and provides great back support. I have spent several hours in the boat before my butt starts to get a little sore and I need to get out to stretch my legs. The boat is rock steady and doesn't feel tippy at all. Dagger has made a great product and the price is just right for everything you get. ACK was super as well. Very friendly and easy to work with. Shipping was very fast and the packaging was phenomenal. They do an amazing job of wrapping the boat up with plenty of padding to keep it from getting dented or scratched. I will definitely shop here again. Thanks and happy paddling.
Reviewer:
geoff
Rating:
5
Date:
10/10/2012
Review:
this is great kayak and exceeded my expectations, I have ordered a second one. ACK did an excellant job with fast service
Reviewer:
Charlie & Emily
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2012
Review:
We are middle-aged newcomers to kayaking, and for us, this was the perfect fit. It is quite stable, which we expected, but much less of a tank than we anticipated. Weve used it only on lakes, sounds and channels to date no whitewater but so far it handles beautifully.
Reviewer:
DR
Rating:
5
Date:
5/20/2012
Review:
Just went paddling twice this weekend. I am absolutely in LOVE with this kayak. Tracks great, speedy enough for me. Great turning around. The weight is good enough for me to carry around and put it on the roof of the car. Not easy, but is possible. Just have to be careful. The seat is very comfortable, knee pads are good too. The bungee system held my stuff in its place all the time. I already planned several more trips. No more renting for me! This summer me and my Dagger Axis are going to have plenty of fun! Thanks also to Austin Kayak for their prompt delivery. It came in perfect condition. Excellent Costumer Service.
Reviewer:
Jesse
Rating:
5
Date:
1/30/2011
Review:
I love this boat. The skeg works beautifully, and it's very stable. My only complaint is the stock thigh pads. They are very thin, and cause your kneels to nub against the hull. No worries though. Simply buy these thigh pads for 50 bucks it'll be perfect. http://www.harmonygear.com/product/0/AXIS_THIGH_BR ACE/_/Axis_Thigh_Braces On the other hand, you might not even need em. Take the boat out on the water a couple times and make the decision. Have fun out there (:
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.83.231.24 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat