FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
SmartTrack Toe Pilot Foot Controls - Pair - Product Reviews
Return to SmartTrack Toe Pilot Foot Controls - Pair Product Details.
$109.95
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
tanstaafl.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/17/2013
Review:
These pedals work very well, but don't think for a minute that you're going to just unscrew the old pedal tracks and install the SmartTracks in a half hour or so. You WILL need an assistant, unless each of your arms is about four feet long. If your boat has non-standard pedal mount spacing (my Necky Tesla was about 18" instead of the normal 14.5") you will have to drill new holes in your hull, and figure out how to plug the old ones. The Tesla has recessed deck fittings, which make bulges inside the cockpit that would have interfered with the toe pedals had I not mounted the new rack two inches lower than the original. The toe pedals pull less cable than the Necky rudder pedals, and thus wouldn't move the rudder through its full travel until I drilled new holes in the original Necky rudder bell crank that were closer to the pivot point. How to position the loops where the cables attach to the rudder bell crank was a complete mystery. Hint: put the rudder all the way to the right against the stop while you pull the LEFT cable tight to make your loop. Then reverse the process for the RIGHT cable. When you order the SmartTrack kit, be sure also to order some of the little copper cable swage thingies. I went to all nine of the hardware stores where I live in Central Mexico, and nobody here even knew what I was talking about. "Combinar dos cables juntos? ¿Por qué?" I ended up with an ugly albeit temporary kluge while I wait for my swages to arrive. A side benefit of my rudder bell crank modification is that with less mechanical advantage the rudder pedals are stiff enough that I can use them as trim tabs -- set a slight turn and leave it to compensate for a light current or cross-wind. So, am I happy with my SmartTrack foot controls? Well, during the installation there were times I questioned my sanity, but now that they are in... I LOVE them. tanstaafl.
Reviewer:
ishay
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2012
Review:
after buying the vertical adj kit I had no problem fitting it to my hurricane phoenix 160. tried it a few times and it works great! If you think about mounting it on a s.o.t dont forget to add the kit to your order as I did...
Reviewer:
Ishay
Rating:
4
Date:
10/6/2012
Review:
Looks and feels good quality, made a mistake and didn't buy the vertical adjustment plate so it doesn't fit my s.o.t hurrican Phoenix 160. Have to order it and try to fit it again
Reviewer:
dgbingham
Rating:
2
Date:
9/30/2012
Review:
I bought these for a Tarpon 160. They will not fit so I wasted a lot of money.
ACK's Response:
These are really designed for sit-inside kayaks but can be easily adapted for use on a sit-on-top with the use of the vertical adjustment kit and utilizing the existing foot rail in the kayak as a spacer.
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2012
Review:
I installed them in my custom woodstrip kayak. I had to come up with a mount for them, but out side of that I could not ask for a better system. I am very pleased.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
4
Date:
8/6/2012
Review:
I would give this system 5 stars, however, there were absolutely no instructions and the website wasnt much help either. On a positive note, I am very impressed with this product it performs better than expected!!!
Reviewer:
Wes W
Rating:
5
Date:
8/5/2012
Review:
Works well allows you to brace without placing strain on the rudder cables
Reviewer:
JohnMcD
Rating:
5
Date:
3/25/2012
Review:
I installed these on an old Arcadia Perception as there is no factory rudder kit I handmade the rudder and fittings from ideas seen on YouTube. The only thing I could not make were the foot controls. Removed existing controls fitted twit 3 screws 6.5 in apart, drilled and tapped the new foot controls to use existing holes. All went together no problems. Sea Trialled Kayak yesterday at Port Broughton South Australia, worked as expected, easy to adjust, easy control 5/5.
Reviewer:
X-Factor
Rating:
4
Date:
7/21/2011
Review:
I put these on a Malibu X- Factor. My first concerns were the exposed cables that run along the top of the controls. Turns out it really has not been an issue. I really don't have anything bad to say about this product. However, mounting them was a little bit interesting. The mounting holes that come tapped on this product did not line up on my x-factor. In addition to this problem there is no way to mount this product to an x- factor without some modifications. I ended up drilling out one of the pre tapped holes and drilled through the second wall as well. I then drilled the second mounting hole to line up with the x-factor's other mounting bracket. Once installed and cables adjusted this is a pretty awesome product. Total Time for installation took me approximately 2 hours.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
6/10/2011
Review:
This is a great pedal/rudder control system. You can really use the foot pad when paddling and not affect your rudder, then with just your toes you can work the rudder. I'll use this system anytime I need to replace my old rudder pedals.
Reviewer:
calcycle
Rating:
5
Date:
3/4/2011
Review:
This is the best controls I have found for the money. The ease of adjustment is amazing.
Reviewer:
Jerry Miller
Rating:
4
Date:
8/13/2009
Review:
The product is very well made and easy to install once you sit and figure out what need to be done and where to put the pedals. Instructions were non-existent! That is a serious issue for those not mechanically inclined. I don't know if any hidden design flaws will cause problems in the future, but one thing now has the potential for disaster. The rear threaded holes that mount the pedals to the boat are placed directly over the cable, so if the screw extents too deep it will pinch the cable and could cause it to fail over time. This could be accelerated by trying to adjust the pedal position with the adjusting screw if the cable were pinched. The cable would be frayed from twisting and that will lead to failure. Just FYI, something to keep your eye on. If you know it's a hazard you can take steps to prevent trouble. One other thing, no cable crimps were sent with the pedals, another serious issue! Buy a cable tubing kit, it comes with instructions and will make your life much easier. It has no cable crimps either, so buy a few just in case, it may save a lot of driving, or waiting time for the mail. Customer Service should include those as a gesture of thanks for the business.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.235.16.159 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat