FREE Shipping on ALL Orders + 15% Accessories w/Kayak* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > SmartTrack Toe Pilot Foot Controls - Pair
SmartTrack Toe Pilot Foot Controls - Pair
$109.95
 
SmartTrack Toe Pilot Foot Controls - Pair
$109.95
  In-stock: Due to the holiday your order will ship on Friday 11/28/2014.
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: These Smarttrack toe pilot foot controls allow me to control my rudder even though I'm well over 6 feet tall. Rudders in the past have been difficult for me to use in the past because of the sliding motion.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Douglas B.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/6/2014
Review:
This is my second set of these pedals. After installing them on my kayak, I liked them so much that I bought another set to put on my wife's boat. I had a problem with one of my toe pedals where a plastic cable guide cracked, allowing the cable to escape disabling he rudder. Austin Kayak contacted the manufacturer on my behalf, and the manufacturer immediately sent me two replacement pedals at no charge. That is respectable customer service from all concerned!
Reviewer:
tanstaafl.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/17/2013
Review:
These pedals work very well, but don't think for a minute that you're going to just unscrew the old pedal tracks and install the SmartTracks in a half hour or so. You WILL need an assistant, unless each of your arms is about four feet long. If your boat has non-standard pedal mount spacing (my Necky Tesla was about 18" instead of the normal 14.5") you will have to drill new holes in your hull, and figure out how to plug the old ones. The Tesla has recessed deck fittings, which make bulges inside the cockpit that would have interfered with the toe pedals had I not mounted the new rack two inches lower than the original. The toe pedals pull less cable than the Necky rudder pedals, and thus wouldn't move the rudder through its full travel until I drilled new holes in the original Necky rudder bell crank that were closer to the pivot point. How to position the loops where the cables attach to the rudder bell crank was a complete mystery. Hint: put the rudder all the way to the right against the stop while you pull the LEFT cable tight to make your loop. Then reverse the process for the RIGHT cable. When you order the SmartTrack kit, be sure also to order some of the little copper cable swage thingies. I went to all nine of the hardware stores where I live in Central Mexico, and nobody here even knew what I was talking about. "Combinar dos cables juntos? ¿Por qué?" I ended up with an ugly albeit temporary kluge while I wait for my swages to arrive. A side benefit of my rudder bell crank modification is that with less mechanical advantage the rudder pedals are stiff enough that I can use them as trim tabs -- set a slight turn and leave it to compensate for a light current or cross-wind. So, am I happy with my SmartTrack foot controls? Well, during the installation there were times I questioned my sanity, but now that they are in... I LOVE them. tanstaafl.
Reviewer:
ishay
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2012
Review:
after buying the vertical adj kit I had no problem fitting it to my hurricane phoenix 160. tried it a few times and it works great! If you think about mounting it on a s.o.t dont forget to add the kit to your order as I did...
Reviewer:
Ishay
Rating:
4
Date:
10/6/2012
Review:
Looks and feels good quality, made a mistake and didn't buy the vertical adjustment plate so it doesn't fit my s.o.t hurrican Phoenix 160. Have to order it and try to fit it again
Reviewer:
dgbingham
Rating:
2
Date:
9/30/2012
Review:
I bought these for a Tarpon 160. They will not fit so I wasted a lot of money.
ACK's Response:
These are really designed for sit-inside kayaks but can be easily adapted for use on a sit-on-top with the use of the vertical adjustment kit and utilizing the existing foot rail in the kayak as a spacer.
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2012
Review:
I installed them in my custom woodstrip kayak. I had to come up with a mount for them, but out side of that I could not ask for a better system. I am very pleased.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
4
Date:
8/6/2012
Review:
I would give this system 5 stars, however, there were absolutely no instructions and the website wasnt much help either. On a positive note, I am very impressed with this product it performs better than expected!!!
Reviewer:
Wes W
Rating:
5
Date:
8/5/2012
Review:
Works well allows you to brace without placing strain on the rudder cables
Reviewer:
JohnMcD
Rating:
5
Date:
3/25/2012
Review:
I installed these on an old Arcadia Perception as there is no factory rudder kit I handmade the rudder and fittings from ideas seen on YouTube. The only thing I could not make were the foot controls. Removed existing controls fitted twit 3 screws 6.5 in apart, drilled and tapped the new foot controls to use existing holes. All went together no problems. Sea Trialled Kayak yesterday at Port Broughton South Australia, worked as expected, easy to adjust, easy control 5/5.
Reviewer:
X-Factor
Rating:
4
Date:
7/21/2011
Review:
I put these on a Malibu X- Factor. My first concerns were the exposed cables that run along the top of the controls. Turns out it really has not been an issue. I really don't have anything bad to say about this product. However, mounting them was a little bit interesting. The mounting holes that come tapped on this product did not line up on my x-factor. In addition to this problem there is no way to mount this product to an x- factor without some modifications. I ended up drilling out one of the pre tapped holes and drilled through the second wall as well. I then drilled the second mounting hole to line up with the x-factor's other mounting bracket. Once installed and cables adjusted this is a pretty awesome product. Total Time for installation took me approximately 2 hours.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
6/10/2011
Review:
This is a great pedal/rudder control system. You can really use the foot pad when paddling and not affect your rudder, then with just your toes you can work the rudder. I'll use this system anytime I need to replace my old rudder pedals.
Reviewer:
calcycle
Rating:
5
Date:
3/4/2011
Review:
This is the best controls I have found for the money. The ease of adjustment is amazing.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.91.45.143 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat