Home > Kayaking > Rudders > SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Rear Mount
SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Rear Mount
$219.00
 
SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Rear Mount
$219.00
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

Smarttrack combines fixed foot pegs with movable rudder pedals. Allows you use a rudder without giving up rigid foot braces, essential for solid bracing in a performance kayak. May require optional tubing kit.

• Fits kayaks that have a vertical spot on the real for mounting, includes bracket
• Foot braces are adjustable while sitting in the cockpit
• Choose rudder foil designed for Tandem/Sit-On-Top or Single (solo) kayaks
• Kit fits kayaks with flat backs.
• Vertical adjustment kit may be necessary to align foot pegs.
  • What's Inside?
  • Item #: 275
     
    Back to Top
     Product Videos
    Back to Top
     Product Documents
    Back to Top
     Reviews
    Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
    No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
    Back to Top
     Questions
    Have a question about this product?
    Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
    If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Rear Mount please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
    * Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
    ** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
    customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
    Customer Rating: 4.1 of 5
    Rating Stars  

    Customer Reviews

    Reviewer:
    Joe
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    3/24/2014
    Review:
    I purchased the SmartTrack rudder system for my 2001 Necky Looksha 3. The Necky already has a rudder system, but the original nylon adjustments on the footpegs have a lot of give and does not allow for optimal paddling. With exception of the footpegs, installation was pretty simple, hardest part was adjusting the tension just right and patching holes from the prior rudder rest and rudder clam cleat. The SmartTrack rudder line clam cleat is much smaller than most other clam cleats out there, and the thinner line would not work in the original. Footpegs on the older Necky's do not use the standard 13.5" hole spacing. Correspondence with SmartTrack suggested purchasing their vertical adjustment kit and drilling new holes in the plate. However, their response was a form response and I could not find actual dimensions of the vertical adjustment kit to indicate that it would accommodate the close to 18" spacing of the Necky holes, and drilling new holes in my hull was not an option. I ended up purchasing a 1/4" high density plastic sheet from Amazon and with a drill, tap and die set, router, sandpaper, and table saw was able to fabricate my own mounting bracket. Not an easy task and required a high level of precision, an entire evening, and long arms, but has worked very well. First time in the water I liked this rudder better for straight travel, but was not impressed with turning or the smoothness of the mechanism. It took much more force than necessary to turn, and the Looksha lost its ability to turn on a dime. However, the solid bracing was a drastic improvement. Before my second paddle I lubricated the pivots and lines and found it worked significantly better - able to more easily get the full turning angle with reasonable force. Still not as sharp of turning as the original Necky rudder, but pretty close, and feels like less overall drag due to the reduced rudder slop on the straights. I do notice slightly decreased stability from the reduced surface area of the rudder, hard to know if it's from me working on my paddle rotation or the smaller rudder. One note: I bought the tubing kit and did not use it. The cables fit the existing cable routing through the kayak seam and appeared to be the same diameter cabling as standard rudder kits (I think it's a 0.125 diameter stainless line). Is it an improvement? Yes. ACK was great - always are. Took off a product star as SmartTrack's customer service was not very helpful, and I can't understand why they didn't answer my questions about the improved and specialized SmartTrack rudder housings only available on Stellar's website. Think they should also have a Necky retrofit kit (or at least a template for download), and be better prepared to answer installation questions. How hard would it really be to make an installation YouTube video for a company that specializes in retrofits? Great product, just needs better support.
    Reviewer:
    Russell
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    6/20/2013
    Review:
    Product is awesome. Did not realize how much of a difference it would make. Awesome. Get it. You will be happy that you did. Really.
    Reviewer:
    Steve Kolasa
    Rating:
    1
    Date:
    5/20/2013
    Review:
    This rudder kit was the worst money I have ever spent Very bad install instructions and absolutely no customer support. would not recomend this to my worst enemy
    Reviewer:
    J. Murray
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    11/29/2012
    Review:
    Awesome, installed on my Dagger Cayman, with some minor fabrication, and it works flawlessly. This is potentially a difficult install for some people, especially on certain makes/models of boats like mine, but well worth the effort.
    Reviewer:
    davidinwakulla
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    9/27/2012
    Review:
    My Hurricane Expedition was rudder-ready which made the installation pretty seamless, however the attachment bracket included with the rudder kit had holes that were spaced way too far apart for my rig. I had to drill a hole in the hard stainless to make it fit. Ive had the rudder on for about a dozen trips on rivers now and am amazed by how well it has held up to sever conditions for a rudder, branches, brambles, logs etc. I am also very pleased with the design and function. It enables me to keep on track in a strong river current while snacking, drinking or viewing through binocs. It also allows me to concentrate on stroking when going upstream as I can course correct with the rudder rather than having to compensate with the paddle.
    Reviewer:
    David Daberkoe
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    8/31/2012
    Review:
    The kit is excellent, although the rear mount plate holes did not match up on my Hurricane Expedition; no problem drilled a new one in between the plates existing holes. I was not sure if a rudder would improve the issues I was having or not. I was hoping it would: A Help control direction when paddling upstream in a river. B Minimize/prevent directional drift when taking a break from paddling C Allow me to train the vidcam on a subject without the need for constant paddling corrections. The rudder has been fantastic for A & B so far. I have not had a chance to vid yet, but I think it will help with that also. One unforeseen benefit has been that the rudder increases my paddling efficiency because I dont have to dig like crazy to correct directional drift. Extremely fast shipping, thanks.
    Reviewer:
    sobecarlos
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    8/27/2012
    Review:
    I bought this kit to install on an Advanced Elements Convertible kayak. The staff at ACK was very helpful and quickly ansered all of my questions. Apparently no one has or at least admitted they have performed this installation before on an AE Convertible kayak. I was able to install the rudder kit with minor modifications to the kayak and to the foot braces. I have used it for hours of kayak sailing, and it has performed very well. My main concerns were ease of installation, ease of modification for an inflatable folding kayak, ease of breakdown for stowing of the kayak and minimal drag. Other than the fact that one of the cables kinked hopelessly while feeding it into the cable tubing, requiring replacement with sailboat standing rigging cable from West Marine which works much, much better than the original cable, I have no complaints. The kit takes little time to install with preplanning and performs very well in the water.
    Reviewer:
    Dan
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    5/8/2012
    Review:
    Ordered the tubing with the rudder kit, so no issues there. However, my rudder kit came with the old wedgies, instead of the newer ones, so the unsheathed wire cables did not lock in place. If I had not researched the issue online, I never would have known what the problem was. Austin Kayak put me in touch with the distributor, but it was actually their fault for packaging the old components with the new cables. Received the new wedgies direct from the distributor, but lost a great weekend for kayaking. Austin gave me a 20% discount coupon for my troubles, but Im still disappointed by the experience. Overall, installation went smoothly. I did a rear mount custom install on a Heritage Featherlite 12 and used some YouTube videos for guidance on cable placement and drilling. Unfortunately, I havent had a chance to take her out since.
    Reviewer:
    Michael
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    4/29/2012
    Review:
    Living in Australia, I bought the complete system and a few extras to complete the construction of the Steve Killing designed Reliance kayak. A big double kayak, my main concern was the load placed on the rudder and stern when executing a turn. So my research all lead to me selecting the Smart track system. The service from Austin Canoe and Kayaks was swift and all parts arrived complete and well packed. I will write another review once I have finished the kayak and tried the system on open water.
    Reviewer:
    Alan
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    11/26/2011
    Review:
    Cable kit is minus tubeing,which is required? Not advised of this when purchasing! Had to obtain later. This is sure a well built item. Minimal instruction included, tho assy straightforward. Rudder tracks should have method for securing from outside,without need for vertical adjustment, which secures from behind. Rudder retract cord, should have a smoother route thru top of rudder securing pin. Cord will wear there. I will fit a fishing rod line guide there. All in all, great build/value. Stiil building so una to report on performance. As my kayak's a double, expect good results.
    Reviewer:
    John Guha
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    7/2/2011
    Review:
    Great system if only sent without confusing instructions and parts that fit together differently than the stated instructions; also, I have a WS Tsunami and the wrong metal bracket was send; hence, causing the system to get dislodged off the kayak on the first day, and requiring creative remodifications to fix. But when it is working, it is awesome. Just needs fine-tuning, more attention to details of parts and instructions, and better matching of parts to individual brands/models of kayaks.
    Reviewer:
    MetroMan
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    10/28/2010
    Review:
    The kit is great. Installation was not too difficult after studying the instructions prior to ordering. I have a Mad River Canoe Synergy 14 (Sit on top, hybrid). My kit was missing a couple of small components (cotter pin, cleat, and the little ball that does on the end of the rudder cord), but AK shipped them out quickly...along with a free t-shirt. A couple things of note: -For a sit on top kayak you will need the "Vertical Adjustment Kit". I didn't see this mentioned anywhere prior to purchase. I found this out after receiving my kit...staring at the pieces...staring at the kayak...drinking a beer...then staring some more. I called them up and they explained it to me. -For a sit on top, you will need the rudder tubing kit. I found this out while doing preliminary research. The kit is very good, but would be GREAT if they included the rudder tubing. Why not include it if its an essential part? Would you buy a car without wheels? Also, if the Vertical Adjustment Kit is needed for Sit on top kayaks, why not publish that information? After installation, the kit works great. A simple flex of the toes operates the rudder in each direction. With the rudder being spring loaded, deployement is really effortless.
    <<  <  1       >>
    Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
    All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
    ip:54.161.236.92 svr:123
    Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
    Live chat by BoldChat