FREE Shipping on ALL Orders + 15% Accessories w/Kayak* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Tail Mount - Long Pin
SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Tail Mount - Long Pin
$219.00
 
SmartTrack Rudder Kit - Tail Mount - Long Pin
$219.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The smarttrack rudder kit is a excellent rudder for people want the added stability that comes with just adjusting your feet not your legs.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Pelican
Rating:
5
Date:
5/4/2014
Review:
I have three Native Ultimates and have SmartTrack rudders on all three. I wouldn't have a kayak without a rudder and SmartTrack is the best one on the market IMO. To mount it on the Native Ultimate you have to use the rudder bracket from the Native rudder kit and enlarge the pin hole. There is also a after market rudder bracket for the Ultimate that will work.
Reviewer:
Sid
Rating:
2
Date:
1/23/2014
Review:
Why should I give you feedback if you are going to censor it - good system but not totally compatible with Focus 155 - drop in pin with no anchor falls out when being transported on side if not secured by bungee.
Reviewer:
Dan
Rating:
4
Date:
8/17/2013
Review:
Installation was easy (found a youtube video that showed everything step by step). I like the idea of the way the pedals work, but I personally have a bit of an issue pressing them. Not sure if it is an ergonomic issue with the design of my kayak (crappy homemade job), bad adjustment on my part, or just a pedal design that needs some tweeking. It just seems like I can't quite rotate my foot enough to press them all the way. But like I said, that might be something going on on my part, and maybe I can figure out how to make it a bit better (though it does work OK as- is). Otherwise, this kit is great, but make sure you also order the tubing kit. For some reason it is NOT included, and word on the streets is that other brands of tubing wont work with these cables.
Reviewer:
Steve Muse
Rating:
5
Date:
12/14/2012
Review:
This is the best system on the market! It covers a wide range of attachment syles and the kit I purchased fit my Eddyline Whisperlight tandem perfectly. I added the Vertical Adjustment kit so that my wife can use the peddles with her small feet. The cable adjustment doesn't require swadging and easily tuned for proper tension. Also, the spring tension to deploy the rudder is adjustable and easy to raise when going over rocks or landing. Worth every penny I spent on this great design.
Reviewer:
Robert Lucas
Rating:
4
Date:
11/22/2012
Review:
ACK shipped the item very quickly, as usual. The kit installed pretty well on my Perception Search 13, but I did have to do some some minor modifications to the installation. Once installed the rudder worked perfectly and did a great job of stabilizing the kayak in the wind. I think I will order the larger blade which I think might give me even more control and manuverability.
Reviewer:
guy white
Rating:
5
Date:
11/19/2012
Review:
Very well made system and fairly easy install.
Reviewer:
David Wells
Rating:
5
Date:
7/31/2012
Review:
Fit perfectly,easy to install, great perfomance.
Reviewer:
Dr Miller
Rating:
5
Date:
11/19/2011
Review:
I installed the Smart Track in my Ultimate 12. ACK provided a bracket for the Ultimates rudder system and with a very slight and easy modification it's a perfect marriage between the Ultimate and the Smart Track. I've put the Smart Track thru the test, I've hit it on trees, stumps, rocks, dragged it across limbs and everything in the lake, with no problems. The rudder is extremly easy to raise if you need to. Smart Track has handled every wind that I've been in and I've been out a couple of times when I should have stayed home. ACK was very helpful with this custom install. Worth every penny.
Reviewer:
gary flanigan
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2011
Review:
This is my first rudder. Very easy to install, My kayak is light and sets high in the water, wind is a broblem, and so is the tide, kayak tracks very staight with no wind or tide that,s very seldem. I did a lot of reserch on the internet and it defintely pade off. I got the best rudder kit on the market. Love it.
Reviewer:
Buck
Rating:
5
Date:
11/6/2010
Review:
Works great on an Old Town Dirigo Tandem. The vertical adjustment kit is definitely worth the money for helping with placement of the control rails. Also get the cable tubing kit for new installations.
Reviewer:
Ernesto Gómez Vallejo
Rating:
5
Date:
10/13/2010
Review:
Excelente, envío rápido a Europa. El kit es de gran calidad y muy fácil de instalar aún siendo universal, para diferentes modelos. Yo lo he instalado en un Kayak marca Nova Artic 1 que viene con pre instalación y ha quedado perfecto. Gracias.
Reviewer:
Steve
Rating:
5
Date:
5/26/2010
Review:
This rudder rocks. I had a larger rudder by Yakima on a 14.5 Perception Carolina. It had a quite a bit of drag and I eventually broke a cable. I switched to this rudder and it has much less drag. I hardly notice it in the water. The rudder was easy to install. I also used the vertical adjustment kit and it helped with pedal placement. The toe pedals are great and you alway have a solid footrest regardless if the rudder in in or out, left or right. There are rods connected to the pedal so you can adjust where the pedal is (i.e. fore or aft), right from the cockpit without reaching down. It is right next to your thigh. I used the existing holes on my kayak to mount the vertical adjustment kit. It helped get the pedal lower to keel as I short and have smaller feet. The vertical adjustment kit is a good investment and made the whole intallation easy. Austin Kayak was also great as I wasn't sure what size pin I needed. Overall Austin Kayak was great and so is the rudder.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.234.0.85 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat