Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)‚Äč
Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > Hobie Trax 2 Kayak Cart
Hobie Trax 2 Kayak Cart
$204.00
 
Hobie Trax 2 Kayak Cart
$204.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Kayak carts aren't a fad or a luxury item for kayakers. It's flat out a necessity! You never know when your going to need to portage and dragging your kayak is never, ever a good idea. The kayaks are made of plastic and dragging them across concrete, asphalt, sand, rock, gravel or grass is like dragging a piece of cheese across a cheese grater. The Hobie Trax Cart is designed for Hobie kayaks and anyone who has purchased a Hobie knows it was a considerable investment. Protect it with a way to get your kayak from spot to spot even when your alone.
Customer Rating: 4.4 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
chris
Rating:
4
Date:
3/16/2014
Review:
It works well on hard and soft surfaces. Easy to use, and stow.
Reviewer:
Micah Gelfand
Rating:
3
Date:
12/26/2013
Review:
I've used the Hobie Trax for a few years now on pavement/ramps, dragging over beaches, rocks and driftwood. Pros: -Scupper carts don't require strapping (or straps) -Works relatively well on nearly all terrain, but it does sink into soft sand Cons: -Welds are absolutely garbage, they will break, its only a matter of when. -Using a scupper cart does put pressure on the scuppers, a vulnerable part of any sit on top kayak. Final word: The welds were easy to fix at a local welding shop, which is much cheaper than buying a new frame. The Wheelez large beach cart is a another option that may be better for some folk as it has wider wheels but it does require strapping. For my purposes it works good enough, especially after getting it properly welded.
Reviewer:
Redfish Ron
Rating:
2
Date:
8/14/2013
Review:
Hobie Trax Cart- I have had my cart for two years- it worked great until the tack welds failed- they ALL failed, not one or two but all- poor quality workmanship that is unacceptable- a single pass weld would have lasted forever and that is exactly what I had a certified welder do to fix my cart- he welded a complete single pass with a tig welder using 318 filler- not the single tacks that the factory used to tack it together-
Reviewer:
salt water yaker
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2013
Review:
Awesome wheels. Will make it possible to launch from anywhere, almost. I beat the crap out of them, and they generally only last about 2 years but I will keep buying b/c they are well worth it. I drag over rocks, beaches, all over and they stand up to lots of punishment. You need these.
Reviewer:
Rory OConnor
Rating:
2
Date:
8/24/2012
Review:
These carts are poorly made, which is upsetting because they are so expensive. Ive had to warranty two. The wheeleez wheels are VERY difficult to inflate because the valves are recessed why????, and the valves themselves are prone to break and not keep air. This happened to me twice. The wheels are also too small for soft sand. I really cant see why they cant make them bigger. But the worst part about this cart is the welds. Ive broken the welds THREE times. So poorly welded. Once those welds go, the cart is done. Ive only had one cart make it past a year. The only reason I give it two stars is because there is really no other option for the hobie outback. I have tried various cradle- cart options. They were all so difficult to use that they actually made me miss this cart, which I finally went back to.
Reviewer:
frank-lawler@ouhsc.edu
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2012
Review:
Really handy to have. tires have held up well. We have dinged the top of the caddy a bit and lost a plastic cap. Dont leave home without it.
Reviewer:
laundrynut
Rating:
5
Date:
7/25/2012
Review:
A must have item. I was moving the kayak from the water to my campsite daily with no problems. I received a lot of positive comments from others about the ease of use. ACK delivery was on time. Overall a very positive transaction.
Reviewer:
George Griffith
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Floats well across sand carrying a Hobie Adventure Island, fully rigged and loaded. Set the post collar clamps as high as possible as the back of the kayak rides low and hits when pulling it by hand. The tires float so well you can barely get the cradle out from under the kayak while it is in the water. Hobie comes to the rescue with the quick release wheel hub. You can quickly take each wheel off or put it back on the cradle while it is underwater, just dont let the cradle sink while the wheels are off. Keep the cradle pin in place until you can hold the cradle while you pull the pin. The wheels will fit in kayak hatch but the cradle wont fit. It would if the center support was adjustable, which would also fit other kayaks but Ive used adjustable cradles and they wobble around too much for me. I just strap the cradle on the back with my other gear if I need to use it on the trip. Dont leave your cart or Hobie peddles unattended unless they are locked to the kayak. Both items have a tendency to disappear easily.
Reviewer:
john leone
Rating:
5
Date:
5/2/2012
Review:
THe cart is solid, well built, well worth the money. ACK was the way to go. Fast shipping great service. If youre thinking of buying a cart for a SOT this is it! If youre thinking of buying from anywhere else dont ACK is the place to get it..
Reviewer:
Baja Mike
Rating:
3
Date:
2/23/2012
Review:
Good product, though a bit pricey. Mounting brackets don't fit the kayak as snug as I'd expect. The tubing is steel, but ACK still managed to dent it, either in shipping or prior to. Not so bad that it's non-functional though.
Reviewer:
Conrad
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2012
Review:
This is a must when moving around the kayak because they aren't light. This is easy to use and very durable.
Reviewer:
RedfishRon
Rating:
4
Date:
10/7/2011
Review:
The Hobie Trax 2 cart is a necessity for sot kayak owners who launch from the beach- the fat tires do not sink into the mud or sand and roll easily over soft ground and loose sand- it is a sturdy stainless steel cart.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.147.248.118 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat