Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)‚Äč
Home > Racks & Trailers > Trailers & Trailer Accessories > Malone MicroSport Trailer Removable Storage Trunk
Malone MicroSport Trailer Removable Storage Trunk
MSRP:  $119.00
$107.10
 
Malone MicroSport Trailer Removable Storage Trunk
MSRP:  $119.00
$107.10 You Save: $11.90(10%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: There is no need to clutter up your backseat or trunk with gear or wet clothes when you are pulling your downeaster trailer. Pick up an easy to install Malone Downeaster Trailer Removable Storage Trunk and travel down the road in style and without the stink of your weekend gear. Or put all of the stuff that always goes with you like your pots, pans and other materials and store it all together till your next adventure.
Customer Rating: 3.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Grampa
Rating:
3
Date:
10/23/2014
Review:
A good concept until you load your kayak on the trailer. George sums it up perfectly. It becomes even less acessable with big heavy yak like our Hobie Oasis. George's summary: Access to the box is difficult once the kayaks are mounted. The cover can only be partially opened and the box is difficult to remove. You need to remember to remove the box when retracting the tongue. There is considerable air drag with the box on long hauls.
Reviewer:
Scott Stevens
Rating:
2
Date:
6/5/2014
Review:
Pretty disappointed in this equipment. I purchased this along with the MPG525G and couldn't install it in front of the trailer. I had to move this to the back half and had to drill holes for the mounting bracket. A simple 30 minute project took almost 2 1/2 hours. I wouldnt put anything in this box that you need to access if you arent taking EVERYTHING off the trailer. The only way to open the lid is if the trailer is empty. If you look closely at the description and pictures you would be able to see that, but it is really apparent untill you try. Lastly, if you are mounting your kayaks on their sides, using the Yakima stackers, then the kayaks will be resting on the box. not the best solution. All in all, not really a useful addition to a great trailer. I would recomment a different solution to where to store your materials.
Reviewer:
George
Rating:
4
Date:
5/8/2014
Review:
I purchased the Plano box for my Malone trailer which I use for kayaks. The installation was simple. The box itself is nice although a little lightweight. The latches are a little difficult to snap close because the box flexes. Access to the box is difficult once the kayaks are mounted. The cover can only be partially opened and the box is difficult to remove. You need to remember to remove the box when retracting the tongue. The box is very functional and I can live with these issues.
Reviewer:
Brian
Rating:
4
Date:
8/23/2013
Review:
This storage unit is extremly handy. We camp a lot and the ability to remove the unit makes it a great storage unit on and off the trailer. The only complaint I have is that Plano could have made this unit a little stronger. When you pack the unit the sides move out a little making it difficult to close the lid. You have to manuver the lid and sides around a little bit to get the lid to close and lock down. Also I wish they would have made it waterproof, but for the price you can't have everything. Very good product.
Reviewer:
PA JR
Rating:
5
Date:
8/3/2013
Review:
Bought the MicroSport and found the assembly very simple. Inspection was a bit tricky b/c they are very particular in PA, but just a couple of hoops to jump through. Otherwise, all is as it appears, is sturdy, and provides a simple way to haul bikes and plenty more I'm sure. Highly recommend the kickstand, retractable tongue options and like the storage trunk. Well done!
Reviewer:
BriFitz
Rating:
2
Date:
8/2/2012
Review:
Do not buy the box if you intend to retract the tounge. Also disappointed in the fact that it is not waterproof.
Reviewer:
Fishersyak
Rating:
4
Date:
6/21/2012
Review:
Works as advertised to hold most accessories. I actually prefer the strap in installation as opposed to others suggestion of a bolt in version. It makes it easy to remove and store during the off season. This is actually a Plano box, which can be found in many retail stores, so if replacement or additional boxes are required, they are easy to find. The mounting brackets are Malone. It would be nice if they sold just the brackets, as the box alone can be found on sale for as little as $20, which makes this kit a little pricey, but it still does a nice job of storing my accessories, such as life vest, rod holders, anchor, etc.
Reviewer:
KJC
Rating:
5
Date:
6/6/2012
Review:
A nice addition to the Malone Trailer. It isnt long enough to hold our paddles, but does a great job with all the other kayaking gear. Nice to have wheels on it to for transporting the trunk and its items to a room or other storage area. Would be nice if it bolted onto the trailer, but the strap works fine. Was easy to install too.
Reviewer:
dezrtdwelr
Rating:
3
Date:
6/2/2012
Review:
I almost sent it back because the construction seems a little flimsy and one of the latches is tough to secure, but the skirts for my kayak fit in it perfectly as opposed to the smaller containers Ive been using so Ill keep it. Could use some dividers to keep smaller accessories from shifting around when moving it on the rollers. I dont have the trailer yet that it fits into so I cant say how thats going to work out.
Reviewer:
Gordie
Rating:
5
Date:
8/24/2011
Review:
Trunk itself works as advertised; must be strapped in; would like to see a bolt on installation
Reviewer:
seacow
Rating:
5
Date:
3/25/2011
Review:
This was a nice addition to my trailer. Added much needed space for the things I absolutely can not do without. Love the ability to remove and roll to the cabin or tent while on extended kayaking events. Thanks for the support...
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
3
Date:
5/12/2010
Review:
The product is as advertised. Installation was easy. I wish the storage area was larger, but I knew the dimensions before I bought it. It does allow less clutter in my vehicle.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.166.255.168 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat