Home > Kayaking > Hatches > Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
MSRP:  $54.99
$49.99
 
Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
MSRP:  $54.99
$49.99 You Save: $5.00(9%)
Ships in 1-2 Weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This is a great way to add some storage on the Old Town Vapor 10. The Stern Hatch Kit easily installs over the molded area behind the seat to make a semi dry storage area. The hatch kit was easy to install with a few tools - one being a rivet gun which you can get at your local hardware store for about $20. 6 holes to drill, 4 rivets to install and you are done. I rate this as a beginner installation project.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Timothy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2013
Review:
product was just as described. delivery was fast and not too expensive. I has one little problem with the rivets, but that was not ACK's fault. but the customer service rep. was great. They replaced the rivets at no extra cost. I will shop at ACK again for that reason.
Reviewer:
willerocket
Rating:
3
Date:
5/4/2013
Review:
This kit would be great but there is a hardware issue.The rivets supplied are not the standard pop type. So after you insert the rivets you have to cut the stems off.Instructions call for 3/16 rivet hole's.The supplied rivets would not fit in a 3/16 hole.Had to go 15/64 on the holes.i think the solution is to use other rivets.
Reviewer:
Stacey
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2013
Review:
This is a wonderful addition to our Kayaks. Received a call from customer service, shortly after ordering, and was given the option of free installation. Accepted the offer and am very pleased.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2012
Review:
Parts were no problem to install. Service was great. Price was great compared to others I checked. Thanks
Reviewer:
Jamie from MA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Great fit, easy installation. Provides a great place to keep a small, soft sided cooler and a dry box with phone, wallet and keys. Keeps a lot of the water out but it really prevents stuff from falling out. Nice low cost addition.
Reviewer:
Real McCoy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/5/2012
Review:
Perfect fit. Very easy installation. Only tools needed are a drill, a couple drill bits, and a pop riveter.
Reviewer:
Dan R.
Rating:
4
Date:
7/24/2012
Review:
This was a great addition and necessity for my Kayak. Installation was very easy with the correct tools. When seated inside the Kayak it is hard to reach back and close the hatch. I solved that problem by adding a pull cord to close the hatch easily without having to reach far behind.
Reviewer:
richardvfr
Rating:
5
Date:
12/13/2011
Review:
This hatch kit is a great accessory. It was very easy to install and I feel is a necessity for this kayak. Not only does it improve the functionality of the storage area it also makes for a much more finished look.
Reviewer:
rkaled@sbcglobal.net
Rating:
5
Date:
8/25/2011
Review:
Although I hate working with rivets, this was an easy installation. The hatch cover seems to be a must for this kayak, and I don't know why it isn't standard equipment. This hatch is not waterproof, but never claimed to be. It's a nice addition to the Vapor kayak and does the job of keeping your things inside the boat in any condition (capsized or otherwise). They supply plenty of bungie for the latch, but you'll want that fairly tight, so tie a knot (or two) closer to the hatch cover. That'll make the cover a tighter fit. I think a thin rubber strip, glued to the underside of the hatch cover could make this watertight, but I'm not certain about that. Gotta love Austin Kayak. Their price can't be beat, speedy delivery, and a great company to do business with. Thanks ACK.
Reviewer:
ibike
Rating:
4
Date:
8/8/2011
Review:
Hatch back for Old Town Vapor. One needs to know how to use a riviter but if one does, it is a 10 minute job. closure is a little iffy being amini bungy cord but so far it has worked well for us. There really is not other option if you want the opening covered.
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/4/2011
Review:
I agree with the other positive reviews. This was easy to install, and though it's not waterproof, it does keep out most routine splashes and even small waves. Great price and fast shipping from ACK.
Reviewer:
john
Rating:
5
Date:
6/1/2011
Review:
great addition to the vapor 10. gave me a good reason to get a rivet gun. so far so good. 5 kayak trips and working fine.
Live chat by BoldChat