Home > Kayaking > Hatches > Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
$49.00
 
Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit
$49.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit converts the stern day well on the Old Town Vapor Kayak to a covered hatch area. The hatch is easy to install and the hatch rope let's you open the hatch from the comfort of the cockpit. The hinged cover creates a water-tight seal protecting your belongings. Installation instructions are available under the Resources tab. The kit includes the hinged hatch cover, cherry rivets, hatch rope, and instructions.

• Converts your stern well into covered storage
• Fits the stern hatch area of the Old Town Vapor 10
• Easy to install
• Hatch rope lets you open the hatch from the cockpit
• Kit includes: hatch cover with hinge, cherry rivets, and hatch rope
Item #: 2173
Made in: USA 
Part Number UPC
01.1331.0600 0759239264157
Back to Top
 Product Videos
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Old Town Vapor 10 Stern Hatch Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This is a great way to add some storage on the Old Town Vapor 10. The Stern Hatch Kit easily installs over the molded area behind the seat to make a semi dry storage area. The hatch kit was easy to install with a few tools - one being a rivet gun which you can get at your local hardware store for about $20. 6 holes to drill, 4 rivets to install and you are done. I rate this as a beginner installation project.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Jamie from MA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Great fit, easy installation. Provides a great place to keep a small, soft sided cooler and a dry box with phone, wallet and keys. Keeps a lot of the water out but it really prevents stuff from falling out. Nice low cost addition.
Reviewer:
Real McCoy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/5/2012
Review:
Perfect fit. Very easy installation. Only tools needed are a drill, a couple drill bits, and a pop riveter.
Reviewer:
Dan R.
Rating:
4
Date:
7/24/2012
Review:
This was a great addition and necessity for my Kayak. Installation was very easy with the correct tools. When seated inside the Kayak it is hard to reach back and close the hatch. I solved that problem by adding a pull cord to close the hatch easily without having to reach far behind.
Reviewer:
richardvfr
Rating:
5
Date:
12/13/2011
Review:
This hatch kit is a great accessory. It was very easy to install and I feel is a necessity for this kayak. Not only does it improve the functionality of the storage area it also makes for a much more finished look.
Reviewer:
rkaled@sbcglobal.net
Rating:
5
Date:
8/25/2011
Review:
Although I hate working with rivets, this was an easy installation. The hatch cover seems to be a must for this kayak, and I don't know why it isn't standard equipment. This hatch is not waterproof, but never claimed to be. It's a nice addition to the Vapor kayak and does the job of keeping your things inside the boat in any condition (capsized or otherwise). They supply plenty of bungie for the latch, but you'll want that fairly tight, so tie a knot (or two) closer to the hatch cover. That'll make the cover a tighter fit. I think a thin rubber strip, glued to the underside of the hatch cover could make this watertight, but I'm not certain about that. Gotta love Austin Kayak. Their price can't be beat, speedy delivery, and a great company to do business with. Thanks ACK.
Reviewer:
ibike
Rating:
4
Date:
8/8/2011
Review:
Hatch back for Old Town Vapor. One needs to know how to use a riviter but if one does, it is a 10 minute job. closure is a little iffy being amini bungy cord but so far it has worked well for us. There really is not other option if you want the opening covered.
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/4/2011
Review:
I agree with the other positive reviews. This was easy to install, and though it's not waterproof, it does keep out most routine splashes and even small waves. Great price and fast shipping from ACK.
Reviewer:
john
Rating:
5
Date:
6/1/2011
Review:
great addition to the vapor 10. gave me a good reason to get a rivet gun. so far so good. 5 kayak trips and working fine.
Reviewer:
JB
Rating:
5
Date:
5/18/2011
Review:
Easy to install and looks great. Only downfall is had to purchase special sized rivet gun.
Reviewer:
Herb
Rating:
5
Date:
4/14/2011
Review:
A Great addition to my Old Town Vapor 10. Hatch fit perfectly and the instruction sheet made the installation go smoothly. Really appreciate the quick delivery and the communication from ACK regarding order progress and when it would arrive.
Reviewer:
ken
Rating:
4
Date:
3/14/2011
Review:
easy to install. product description was accurate
Reviewer:
Tibor
Rating:
5
Date:
1/2/2011
Review:
Great accessory for my Vapor!
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.161.236.92 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat