Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Native Watercraft Mariner 12.5 Propel Kayak
Native Watercraft Mariner 12.5 Propel Kayak
$2,299.00
 
Native Watercraft Mariner 12.5 Propel Kayak
$2,299.00
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Native Watercraft Mariner 12.5 Propel Kayak is a ultra stable comfortable wide beamed kayak. Yes it's still a kayak even with all the fancy options it comes with standard. The propel system is fully functional forward and backwards for great fishing patterns on you favorite lake. Plenty of storage and room to maneuver around this yak.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
MJ
Rating:
5
Date:
9/25/2014
Review:
Love the boat - best purchase I've made in a long time. However, it came missing the propel unit and there were no instructions as to how to set up the seat (or anything else). AK took care of the missing propel unit quickly and I think we got the seat figured out. The only issue is that my husband is a left-hander and the rudder control is on the left which does cause some problem while he fishes.
Reviewer:
Wahoo
Rating:
2
Date:
5/25/2014
Review:
It is nice and efficient, and great to be able to go in reverse while fishing but the negatives outweigh the positive. If you kayak in an area which is high in vegetation, forget it. You will be picking weeds ou of the prop and conjugating new forms of the F word. Salt water use requires meticulous maintenance. I bought one for my wif who couldn't paddle due shoulder issues. We live on deep water creek here in Georgia and she would go out by herself and often not take meticulous care of the propel mechanism. It lasted one season before it became completely frozen and useless. I was unable to take it apart even with numerous attempts with products intended for this pip use, a heat gun , even a sledge hammer. I have since purchased her a Hobie Mirage (and one for myself). It is a far superior product.
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
10/7/2013
Review:
So stable!! Awesome..Cadillac of kayaks. Love the pedal option.
Reviewer:
Drew
Rating:
5
Date:
5/8/2013
Review:
Best kayak I have ever been on, shipped with no problems what so ever. Was at my front door in 5 days. Broke it in on 4 ft beach waves. Super stable, love the scuppers. I have purchased the kayak and all accessories through austin kayak, best prices compared to local shops. A couple scotty mount pole holders and milk crate, it is a fishing machine!!!
Reviewer:
djrflorida
Rating:
5
Date:
4/18/2013
Review:
After a year researching many top brand of kayaks the Native Watercraft Mariner won out. The main reason the peddle drive and the fact that it can be peddled in reverse a big plus. I tested it out in tight locations where I could not paddle due to overhanging mangrove branches with a few forward and reverse moves I was out of the thicket kind of like driving a car. A full size paddle was of no use in those conditions. Fishing a main channel with boats coming and going, with the chop, the current, and the wind all against me I held my spot along a seawall catching seabass all the while slowly peddling in reverse holding my postion. It was an excellent decision hope others will consider this boat. Very roomy and a breeze to stand in.
Reviewer:
Omots61
Rating:
5
Date:
3/10/2013
Review:
I’m a 62 year old, 5’9”, 190 lbs. with only a year of kayak fishing experience. I had a 10’ sit-in kayak before buying the Mariner 12.5’ Propel. A shoulder issue made paddling the sit-in a problem after a couple of miles. In the Mariner, I've gone 8 miles nonstop at a steady 3 mph without feeling fatigued. The seat back has a wide range of adjustment, and a bar underneath with three settings for the seat tilt. I've rigged it with mounting plates on left & right side for fish finder and rod holder, anchor trolley, battery storage, and homemade fishing crate – and there’s still plenty of room even with all the gear including three rods. It remains stable, and easy to peddle. I find the ability to put it in reverse by back peddling very handy when fishing. I use a 240 cm paddle which helps when paddling this wide kayak. I’m disappointed with a single steering lever on the left side, but that’s only because I’m a leftie and hold the rod in my left hand. The rudder assembly is fixed in place and could be damaged by lifting the bow to drag the kayak. So I always drag by the stern when getting the kayak to the water, unless using my cart (not a Native Watercraft cart). I really like having 16 attachment points around the inside of the cockpit. I found the Native Watercraft ‘Plug N Play Latch Points’ to have too much flexibility for my needs, so I mounted a SS 1” D Ring to each attachment point metal bar using the pre-drilled hole. Cons: (all relatively minor in my humble opinion) * A sore tailbone within a couple of hours the first few times out – added a Skwoosh seat cushion * It’s a heavy kayak, so a roof top mount would be a workout – I carry it on a 12’ boat trailer * The pedal assemblies were squeaky right from the start – a dry Teflon lube took care of that * Forward hatch is too tight to open when on the water – I added a ‘T’ pull handle to facilitate opening * Rudder is exposed to damage if stern is dragged on the ground Pros: * Easily maintain 3 mph with minimal effort (GPS speed measurement) * Easily reverse direction by back pedaling * Turns tightly when moving at speed * Very stable, and able to stand up when in calm water * 16 attachment points * Seat is fully adjustable and 6” above waterline * Plenty of room in forward storage compartment * While Propel drive is audible when moving at 2- 3 mph, it is quiet when maneuvering into a fishing spot
Reviewer:
Chris Shepley
Rating:
5
Date:
12/3/2012
Review:
Thanks for the prompt service i recieved,i recieved it in 5 days from purchase date.i have used this kayak last year ,very easy to use,trolling ,manurvering,pedals and seat very good....one of the best out there.I WILL SHOP HERE AGIAN.
Reviewer:
Ron Dilks
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2012
Review:
I would like to get some feedback about the 16 indentions around the inside of the Mariner. I know that you can buy a plug and play lashpoints for $40 buy I wish that they sold individual ones to mount a fish finder or rod holder. I know that they have the Rectangle Fishing plate but the only place that you can put that is where they have the large silver screws four of them. Anyone have any ideas???
Reviewer:
Ron Dilks
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2012
Review:
I received excellent help when ordering my Native Mariner 12.5 and when it arrived with damage from the shipper ACK quickly offerred to replace it.
Reviewer:
Zack
Rating:
5
Date:
8/23/2012
Review:
For two summers I have used this kayak for bass fishing on a small lake that has non motorized boat access from a small park. The speed and maneuverability are great. Sure beats a tube. I modified it with a rod holder and depth finder and I can fish as well as from any other boat. The only downside is everyone wants to stop you and look marvel at it.
Reviewer:
nymphman
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2012
Review:
I purchased the Mariner 12.5 because I didnt want to have to deal with a motor gas,oil,etc.nor a battery whenever I wanted to go fishing and also I needed a craft that could make headway on windy days. On my first trip I was very surprised how smooth I could peddle straight into the 12 to 20 mph wind and didnt have to strain myself. This Mariner is heavier than most kayaks and care must be taken when loading/unloading due to the way the rudder is placed but once in the water it is terrific!
Reviewer:
OldGems
Rating:
5
Date:
4/13/2012
Review:
What an Upgrade! Recently Sold my Ocean Prowler 13 Fishing Kayak for this Mariner Propel. Incredible difference. Wind and current are no match compared to paddling the Prowler. On first trip I was running circles around other paddlers during a strong incoming tide current. Once you get used to the rudder for tracking took me about 15 minutes, operating this kayak is a pleasure. Should have purchased this Kayak sooner. Austin Kayak shipping and customer service departments are Great! The Kayak arrived ahead of estimated delivery date In Perfect Condition! I plan on and have already purchased from ACK Again and again!
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.211.180.175 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat