FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak Deluxe Fishing Package - Product Reviews
Return to Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak Deluxe Fishing Package Product Details.
MSRP:  $1,608.63
$1,383.98 You Save: $224.65(14%)
Kayak Color:
PFD #1:
PFD #2:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.4 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
CJ
Rating:
5
Date:
6/9/2014
Review:
We just received two Malibu Two XL kayaks from ACK, both were packages, one with installed hatches. We are very happy with our purchases from the kayaks, to the paddles to the life jackets. The kayaks track pretty well whether tandem or solo. Ordering was very easy and the representative was nice and helpful. Glad we got the packages as buying everything separately truly would have cost more. We also like the sunrise color scheme. ACK packing job was the best I've ever seen! Overall, a great purchase and would order from them again.
Reviewer:
Douglas
Rating:
1
Date:
3/27/2014
Review:
The company uses a photo of a lime green kayak which is a complete misrepresentation of the color scheme. The company representative noted lime/white is a 60/40 color mix. The color scheme is more like 90%white and hues of limes at the tips only. Other small issues are noted. Truly disappointed in this purchase and experience. When you call a company to confirm a color scheme it should know what it is selling.
ACK's Response:
Images have been updated. In blended colored kayaks the color blends will vary from kayak to kayak. We attempt to provide accurate representations. If there are any questions on color please call prior to ordering.
Reviewer:
Tim
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2013
Review:
Excellent value and a great Kayak.
Reviewer:
SomeDayIWillCatchTheBigOn
Rating:
4
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
I think this kayak is great. It is stable, tracks well a can hold 2.5 people so that is fun to take the wife and 2 year old. For fishing it is great. There is no real good place to store tackle and inside the kayake there is no compartment it is a full open cavity so stuff tends to shift forwards and back. My 5 year old and I take this kayak out fishing regularly and we have a blast. The kayak arrived packaged and wrapped really well. I was initially worried about buying a kayak online and having it shipped. It was completely wrapped and package with several layers and clear experience on how to wrap and shap a kayak to protect it.
Reviewer:
DR
Rating:
5
Date:
7/12/2012
Review:
I have had one of these from different vendor rigged for fishing for about 5 years and have been extremely happy with it. I just bought a second from austin kayak and I like their package even better. The paddles are super nice although if I had it to do again I would ask them to substitute 240cm versions Im 61 and its a fairly wide boat. They did a good job installing the accessories and it was packed extremely well. The only hiccup was that the shipping company lost it for a few days no kidding, they had an APB out but in the end all was fine. The flexibility of this kayak is just awesome: solo fishing in middle position, tandem fishing, day trips with up to two adults and a kid, camping trips with it loaded up up to 500 lbs!.
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
5
Date:
2/28/2012
Review:
When I bought this kayak combo I had two purposes. Take the family of three out on the water. And when not with the family fish by myself or with friends. This kayak accomplishes both of those goals. - Size The Malibu 2XL is large enough for a family of three and even four if the kids are small enough. With average sized adults and a child of 3-8, this kayak will have plenty of room for a day out on the water. You can also ride solo in it by positioning one of the seat closest to the center hatch. Paddling solo is easy and the kayak tracks well. It is surprisingly nimble and fast when going solo. - Gear storage As long as you have the hatches, you will have plenty of room to store gear, water bottles, poles, dry bags etc. I recommend attaching some thin anchor line and a caribiner clip to whatever you are putting in the hatches so you can easily retrieve it while on the water. The bow and stern storage areas are large enough for most things and the bungie nets keep gear solidly in place. - Fishing Outfitted the way it comes, the rear rod holders do get in the way of paddling if you have fishing poles in them. Now this can be overcome but the paddling position to do this is less than desireable for long paddles. I'd also suggest rigging it with an anchor trolley system or two. I have two and they work great for keeping the kayak positioned in the direction I want. -Maneuverability The best part about fishing with this is the ability to get to places where boats wouldn't dream of going. I paddled frequently to an area of 8 inches of water and the kayak just keeps on floating through. Many boats won't be able to get into the flats like the kayak can. Nor will many boaters purposely beach themselves on sandbars like you can with the kayak. Being able to float under overhanging trees is great and also floating straight through huge weed patches is not a problem. -Transportation There's no denying, the Malibui 2XL is a big kayak. At 13 feet 4 inches you need ot have a good sized car or truck to haul it. Because of it's size the only good way(absent of a trailer)I've found to transport it is upright on top of my Tahoe. Sure it adds a little extra drag and looks like a big banana but it really is the easiest way to get it up and down from the rooftop. Slightly disappointed in this but not a deal breaker at all in my opinion. -Overall impression My overall impression of the package is great. The life jackets are good size, the paddles are great. The seats are comfortable for long days and the hatches are definetly worth it for the extra storage room. Wether you're looking to get the family into kayaking for the first time or looking to get into kayak fishing, this package is a great all aorund deal and an easy way to do it. The quality of Ocean Kayaks products are top notch and built to last a long time with relatively easy maintenance. You wont be disappointed in this package.
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2010
Review:
Fantastic package for the money. Great kayak & paddles. Couldn't find a better deal anywhere. If you're looking for a good tandem deal, this is it.
Reviewer:
Les
Rating:
5
Date:
5/31/2010
Review:
Been enjoying the kayak. Brought it out 3x's already and caught fish on it. The only thing is the back person can't easily reach the poles if they are in the front rod holder and you can't use the back rod holders if you sit in the back because they are in the way of paddling. I just ordered two holders to install behind the back seat so the person in the back can use those and also allows the kayak to hold 4 poles. Very stable Kayak and plenty of room.
Reviewer:
John Crist
Rating:
5
Date:
5/7/2010
Review:
The Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak Fishing Package is an excellent package, everything you need.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.242.112.71 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat