Home > Kayaking > Repair > KC Welder Pro with Hobie Color Rod Stock

KC Welder Pro with Hobie Color Rod Stock

$70.99
 
 
KC Welder Pro with Hobie Color Rod Stock
$70.99

In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The KC welder pro with hobie color rod stock is a must have for all Hobie kayakers. The ease of fixing holes and adding plastic to damaged areas is key.
Customer Rating: 4.1 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
eric
Rating:
4
Date:
6/30/2012
Review:
I dont understand why they wouldnt let you choose the colors for this. Who has 8 different colors of kayaks? That makes no sense. They should package the rods and the welder separately so that we could choose the colors needed. Otherwise, great product.
Reviewer:
Alex
Rating:
2
Date:
6/24/2012
Review:
ACK service was stellar. The welding kit was shipped the day it was ordered and arrived quickly. The color selection of welding rods was very good. The welder itself did not work well. It was not hot enough. I used another welder, purchased for $15 at a discount tool store, with the tip from the KC welder to complete the repair. The welder in this kit needs improvement.
Reviewer:
Lance Gurney
Rating:
3
Date:
8/6/2011
Review:
No instructions, it would be great if you made a video. I have not had luck filling holes yet.
ACK's Response:
Check out YouTube and search for plastic welding. There are numerous video out there that help explain the "art" of plastic welding. Unfortunately printed instructions are not available at this time.
Reviewer:
Al G
Rating:
4
Date:
7/20/2011
Review:
A nice product, easy to use, with a result that formed a very strong patch in a difficult location (where the internal framing member is joined to the keel of the kayak). Note to self - no fat friends in the front seat in low river conditions. Instructions on usage would be nice (i.e. insert the rod through the channel on the heating head. Choice of colors would also be nice (I needed white, got a mixed bag). Online resources suggest a mesh would be included. It isn't although it turned out the aluminum screening patch I bought for the purpose was unnecessary. Somewhat expensive but it did the trick when other expedients failed. And good service from ACK.
Reviewer:
Rob Hirons
Rating:
4
Date:
5/20/2011
Review:
The welding kit works extremely well. The problem is that they do not include enough plastic rods or allow you to choose the colours that you need. For example, if all your kayaks are blue you will still get a mixed assortment of colours in the kit.
Reviewer:
RC
Rating:
5
Date:
12/5/2010
Review:
A great tool, and yes, I agree that it does get very hot. Before using it on my boat, I practiced on a few scrap pieces and promptly smoked 'em. With that lesson, I worked with great caution and everything came out looking like a factory finish. Additionally, the tip can be unscrewed and other homemade tips added for greater versatility. Examples: a flathead/roundhead screw; moreover, a properly sized bolt screwed into the tip will melt a decent hex-shaped hole, or even let you permanently mount said bolt as a stud embedded in the hull (provided you press the bolt in while hot, maintain position, unplug the welder to let it and the plastic cool, then unscrew the welder from the bolt). Overall, a great tool that will let you do lots of repairs and mods.
Reviewer:
Roy Baird
Rating:
5
Date:
9/25/2010
Review:
Very easy too use, even without directions
Reviewer:
crlhuber@sbcglobal.net
Rating:
4
Date:
9/5/2010
Review:
Ask for any extra moss pieces instead you sent ivory dune!
Reviewer:
Mike Asbury
Rating:
4
Date:
9/5/2010
Review:
The welder and stock worked ok. It would be nice to have some instructions and tricks of the trade.
Reviewer:
YOUTUBE "HALIBU77"
Rating:
5
Date:
6/7/2010
Review:
THE PRICE IS GREAT !!!! IF YOU HAVE TO PATCH HOLES , SMOOTHEN OUT SCRATCHES , OR BOND PARTS TO THE KAYAK WORKS GREAT. THE KC WELDER INCLUDES DIFFERENT COLOR STICKS TO MATCH YOU KAYAK. THIS WELDER IS VERY HOT SO TEST BEFORE YOU APPLY.
Reviewer:
ron
Rating:
5
Date:
6/3/2010
Review:
Worked great! Canoes floating again!
Reviewer:
Jimmy Ray Clemons
Rating:
5
Date:
5/26/2010
Review:
Works very well.
Live Chat