Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems BTS Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems BTS Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99
 
Wilderness Systems BTS Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99 You Save: $50.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The next generation rudder for your Wilderness boats just got better. This kit includes everything you need for whatever the year your kayak is from. This makes this kit so much easier to install.
Customer Rating: 4.0 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Matt
Rating:
4
Date:
4/11/2013
Review:
Ordered this with my Tarpon 140. Al the components are well made. ACK did most of the install. All I had to do was bolt the assembly to the stern of the boat when the shipment arrived at my home. Only complaint is that the ends of the foot peg sliders are kinda sharp on my calves. As far as function - I love it: Effortlessly make straight paddles across the lake. Fine tune your drift to position the boat for the perfect cast. I even figured out how to use it as a brake while keeping the boat straight when using the paddle on the opposite side.
Reviewer:
Dano
Rating:
5
Date:
10/17/2012
Review:
excelente accesorio, casi indispensable en kayaks largos como mi Tarpon 160, excelente atencion de customer service, gracias nellie que me ayudo mucho en esta y otras compras y que todos los contratiempos que surgieron se resolvieron de manera rapida y favorable. por su servicio me convirtieron en cliente fiel a ACK
Reviewer:
dgbingham
Rating:
1
Date:
9/30/2012
Review:
I put this rudder on a Tarpon 160. It has no noticeable effect whatsoever. The Tarpon 160 does not want to turn and this thing does not help with that or with the wind. I have another 14 kayak with virtually the same rudder and it works as expected but the Tarpon 160 is a real pain to turn and this rudder does not help; nor does it help in the wind.
Reviewer:
Steve
Rating:
4
Date:
7/25/2012
Review:
Clean install, works as intended. I have mixed feelings on this. It was suggested by a friend that I add the rudder due to the size of my new kayak. It will also allow some hands free control while I fish. It did take some getting used to the first time I used it but practice makes perfect.
Reviewer:
Patrick S.
Rating:
4
Date:
6/16/2012
Review:
This is a quality piece,but pricey. Have it on my Tarpon 140 and it really helps to turn. I would like to see a spring or bungee return to center device. I hate having to constantly have my feet on the pedals to track straight. I fould it easy to install,but it does get in the way of the rear grab strap when carrying.I also added some nylon washers underneath the clips/pins to help with wear and prevent corrosion.
Reviewer:
Eric Heline
Rating:
3
Date:
11/17/2011
Review:
Rudder works well and for me is an essential accessory to the Tarpon 140 I purchased it with. Two problems: I am 6,2", and the foot pedals extended to their maximum reach is still a bit cramped. There is still a slight amount of room on the slide to extend further, but I will have to figure out how to extend the cable. Secondly, the mounting bracket is a little weak. With moderate use it now has considerable slop where it attaches to the hull. The stern itself is slightly convex at the mounting point, the rudder mount is flat at the attachment point, and whatever fasteners are used do not hold the bracket securely to the hull. I am very careful not to back into anything, and always remove the rudder itself while loading or unloading from the cartop, or whenever I have to carry the boat. I will be able to remedy this by fabricating and installing a sturdier mount, but it will involve cutting an access hole at the stern to allow for the use of stouter mounting bolts.
Reviewer:
mojofishin
Rating:
4
Date:
9/27/2011
Review:
As said before, a must have on the Ride 135. Would give it 5 stars if not for price.
Reviewer:
Rockfordhx
Rating:
4
Date:
6/5/2011
Review:
A must on the Ride 135. Without the rudder steering is difficult; with the rudder I can turn on a dime. Give it a 4 stars (1 less than 5) since Harmony charges way too much for these things.
Reviewer:
Henry
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2011
Review:
This rudder kit works great. Got it with my Tarpon package. The rudder can be retracted easily with the side cords while still in the seat, and it attaches soundly to the kayak, even when the kayak is on the roof of my truck on the highway.
Reviewer:
BassnFlash
Rating:
5
Date:
11/13/2010
Review:
The WS BTS Rudder Kit was super easy to install. I have now used it and I enjoy the ability to make tracking and turning easy! I would highly recommend this rudder kit to anyone thinking of adding a rudder to their WS Kayak!
Reviewer:
cdamon
Rating:
4
Date:
8/19/2010
Review:
Bought this product to put on my wife's WS Tarpon140, and it made a big difference. A great product with quality components, and with the kayak being pre-rigged for a rudder, the installation was easy, though the instructions provided sucked. With some searching I was able to fine a more coherent copy online. The rudder isn't cheap, but I would definitely buy again. The transaction with ACK was smooth and I won't hesitate to buy from them again in the future.
Reviewer:
DMag
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2010
Review:
We bought two Tsunami 145s with rudders and took the advice of several bloggers and didn't use the rudders until we had learned to maneuver without them. These boats track well and don't really need rudders except in windy conditions or, as we found out last weekend, when we're taking our retriever along in the rear hatch. Leaning to turn with the dog in the back isn't a good idea, so the rudders were very helpful in that situation. We've been on several local lakes and on the lower Cumberland River with no complaints. The rudders had been pre-installed apart from bolting them to the stern, which was easily done. Great system, great price and the ACK transaction went very smoothly.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:174.129.74.186 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat