Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Repair > Hobie Large Rudder Blade - Pro Angler
Hobie Large Rudder Blade - Pro Angler
$26.99
 
Hobie Large Rudder Blade - Pro Angler
$26.99
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
toby d.
Rating:
4
Date:
10/28/2014
Review:
the xl rudder is on my 2014 pa-14. it was not a simple install, no instructions, had to use a phillips head driver on a ratchet wrench, to get enough torque. went on easily after the original was removed. have used it several times, and will give it 4 stars, it does improve short radius turnout, and provides additional directional stability. the place where i experienced the most improvement was when drifting along a shoreline, i can stay 40-50 feet offshore and fly fish the shoreline cover. by adjusting the rudder angle, and occasional use of the mirage drive, i can drift along parallel to shore for as long as i want.
Reviewer:
t. delgiudice
Rating:
4
Date:
10/26/2014
Review:
the new rudder improves response from stopped to tight turn, as when drifting, then turning to avoid obstacles. also makes controlling drift attitude and direction when fishing, much more precise. i do a lot of fly fishing along lake shores while drifting parallel to shore with wind and current, rudder lets me control drift better than stock unit.
Reviewer:
Fred G.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/6/2014
Review:
this should be standard on all Pro anglers. get this, it will help you steer faster and in harsh conditions you get caught in. i got caught in a storm coming in and was not able to steer pretty much (5 sec to respond) eventually i ended up flipping over on my 2014 (14ft) pro angler. the standard rudder does not do the job in rough conditions. that being said, this was stormy weather and i got caught in it coming in, but having a larger rudder would have been BETTER i ended up losing about $500 worth of stuff and it took me until this date 9/8/14 (i think thats todays date) to replace what i lost. get it, it is a safety issue!
Reviewer:
Dale Renaud
Rating:
5
Date:
7/2/2014
Review:
After installing the ruder upgrade I was absolutely amazed how much better the tracking and even the turning was improved. I fish in lakes and the bays the constant wake and waves are si much easier to navigate because of the larger ruder defiantly worth the money.
Reviewer:
FL guy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/30/2014
Review:
Impressive improvement in fallowing seas and or severe current conditions. I trailer my PA12, no problem with rudder drag. While waiting a long time for delivery Austin Kayak kept me well informed, I'm pleased to do business with this company.
Reviewer:
Johnnyo
Rating:
5
Date:
6/29/2014
Review:
Pro angler large rudder ..... Probably the best modification I did on my pro angler 12 thus far!! Anyone who has the pro angler it's a must install! Greatly improve steering and drifting control!!
Reviewer:
Redfish Tucson, AZ
Rating:
5
Date:
2/8/2014
Review:
As always ACK rules on shipping. Ordered afternoon of Feb 3rd at my doorstep on the 7th. Took less than 20 minutes to install. Finally went out and hit the water today 02/08/14 and if you don't have this $26 upgrade I don't know what you are waiting for. The stock rudder was responsive when in motion but if you were at a stand still or drifting didn't quite respond. This larger rudder is a night and day difference. Yes it sticks out about an inch and a half or so when the rudder is collapsed in but a simple mod can fix that problem. I trailer my PA so no worries there. If you throw your PA on the bed of your truck just place the Hobie cart in the scupper holes and that should provide plenty clearance so you don't damage the rudder. Once again if you don't have this upgrade GET IT...
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:23.22.204.36 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat