Hobie Quest 13 Rudder Kit - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Quest 13 Rudder Kit Product Details.
$176.00
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.4 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
R.B. Rambo
Rating:
4
Date:
4/12/2014
Review:
The rudder is very well engineered and functions fine. But, getting there was a pain for me. The instructions were not clear. They could have been more clearly written. The pictures were out of focus and not much help. The instructions leave out the specifics about hooking up the up/down lines to the spool. Fortunately, there were instructions on the Hobie website that I found helpful. I apparently have an older model Quest 13 and the rudder control pedals have changed. The instructions said new pedals were included, but they were not. I had to devise a different method of attaching the lines to the pedals until I can get newer pedals. Once I got the installation done, I am satisfied with the product.
Reviewer:
Friday Ululani
Rating:
3
Date:
8/14/2011
Review:
Good - Rudder mechanism is solid, and works. Bad - Instructions are almost worthless. I had to throw them away, lay out all the parts, and figure it out through trial and error. The tube that encloses the control cord is too short to meet in the middle. To trim the system, after installation, you wrap the cord around a screw. Tacky.
Reviewer:
Henry
Rating:
5
Date:
1/7/2011
Review:
Very complete kit. Everything is included. Instructions were detailed but could be better. The photos are in black and white and some details are hard to see. The overall quality is excellent.
Reviewer:
paddlefisher
Rating:
5
Date:
4/22/2010
Review:
Very complete kit, drill and Loctite included, easy to follow instructions, I would seriously consider this rudder even for a non-Hobie.
Reviewer:
Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
3/23/2009
Review:
Best thing I've purchased for my kayak, easy to install and makes it so much easier to track while paddling/drifting. Highly recommended!
Reviewer:
Gerald
Rating:
5
Date:
12/26/2008
Review:
Outstanding product, bought it for my sons Kayak. He is twelve and about 130 lbs and 5' 5" tall. His quest track pretty well with a full grown adult. But because he is kinda small for it. It doesn't track so well when he is paddling hard. This rudder was exactly what he needed, makes his yak track awesome and the foot controls are way cool.
Reviewer:
MelLandry
Rating:
4
Date:
12/26/2007
Review:
The instructions were very detailed but not completely accurate. The suggested hole size to drill for the control line was too small by about a quarter inch which left me increasing the size one 0.0001" at a time until I could get the guide for the control line to fit. The holes in the bracket for the rudder did not line up with the pre-installed threads in my boat (both Hobie). Inside the hull, a rubber tube is supposed to hold the two ends of the guild for the control line together. The tube was not tight enough, so the guides would fall out and bang on the hull. This was resolved with crazy glue. With all this said... the install was probably easier on my Hobie than it would have been if I had purchased a generic rudder kit. Function is fine. It made my Quest track a million times better. I enjoy the ability raise the rudder from the cockpit of the boat.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:107.21.158.100 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat