Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems Ride Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems Ride Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99
 
Wilderness Systems Ride Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99 You Save: $50.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: I recommend the Wilderness Systems Ride Rudder to anyone that kayaks and wants more control. Easy to install.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Ed
Rating:
4
Date:
1/24/2015
Review:
The rudder arrived in a timely manner and intact with all parts included. The only complaint I have is that since the instructions included several different models of kayaks and there were no photos included to assist in installation, I resorted to viewing a video on You Tube to make it clearer. I would suggest to the manufacturer to include photos and make it clearer which model they are speaking of.
Reviewer:
Bernhard N.
Rating:
3
Date:
1/8/2015
Review:
Nice product and easy to install. Wilderness Systems has already prerigged its kayaks for future installation. Only flaw seems to be the bracket used to mount the rudder to the unit. It just seems a little under engineered (flimsy) to me. It remains to be seen, over a period of extended use, whether my concerns are justified or not. ACK pricing and customer service was excellent as ususal. The product was received on time and as expected. Would give five stars but for my, as yet unfounded, concern about the durability of the mounting bracket.
Reviewer:
Aaron P.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/22/2014
Review:
As the other reviews have stated, instructions have some overkill which can become confusing but fairly simple kit to install. Was worth the purchase to help tracking while drifting and paddling into a hard wind.
Reviewer:
Gary R.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/30/2014
Review:
This actually the second rudder kit I have purchased from ACK for Wilderness Systems kayaks. As with the first, this one came with all the required hardware and more. While the instructions aren't perfect, this isn't rocket science and the installation is a piece of cake. I highly recommend this product,
Reviewer:
Alan
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Like the previous user, the rudder is great once installed. Way too extra unneeded parts and a very poorly (an out-of- date) installation manual adds a lot of time time to the install.
Reviewer:
Charles
Rating:
5
Date:
6/21/2014
Review:
I should have listened to my sales counselor last January and let AKC install a rudder before shipping. I took the Ride 115 out this morning with rudder for the first time on Indian River Lagoon. The wind was at the upper end of what I would normally paddle in for bird photography. The rudder was a blessing as I stayed true to course on my paddle out to the rookery. There is one real negative to the kit. Honestly, Harmony could do a 100% better job of packaging kits if they would try to be less inclusive of Wilderness System's product line. There were no less than 10 different yak's worth of screws and fittings in the kit. That coupled with confusing directions would have added 50% time to the retrofit. My suggestion if you are retrofitting is to Google your Yak and rudder install and throw the directions away. I did that after step 1 and the install went great.
Reviewer:
todd
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2013
Review:
very easy to install
Reviewer:
Don
Rating:
5
Date:
4/27/2013
Review:
I always thought I didn't need a rudder. Then I bought my Ride 135 I decided to try it. My advise for anyone who doesn't have a rudder on there Kay is get one. This one is prefect.
Reviewer:
Grungy
Rating:
5
Date:
1/13/2013
Review:
The rudder kit installed easily on my Ride 135 thanks to the well designed yak. The instructions were adequate but illustrations would be a welcome addition. Unfortunately I can't test it until ice out.
Reviewer:
excellent product
Rating:
5
Date:
12/26/2012
Review:
This is a must have item on all kayaks. Really helps you track well as well as deal with cross winds.
Reviewer:
mechdogg2
Rating:
5
Date:
9/18/2012
Review:
great rudder! fits perfect!
Reviewer:
Tom
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2012
Review:
Great product. Easy to install.
<<  <  1       >>
Live chat by BoldChat