FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready

Out of Stock

This product has been discontinued. Don't worry, we have more Rudders.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: I recommend the Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder to anyone that kayaks and wants more control. Easy to install.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
JMW
Rating:
3
Date:
12/30/2012
Review:
My Tarpon 160 w/rudder rocks. Even though I bought a left over 2012 from the outlet side I expected more from ACK. Based on looking at the protective wrapping and quickly opening it up when it was delivered I signed for it because I had to rush back to work (my fault). Upon further inspection it looked like it was tossed around. Surface scratches on the forward and rear decks and the sides and bottom of the hull. Like I said before, I based my initial inspection on the protective wrapping and a quick cut open. That won't happen a 2nd time. Not happy. Again, my fault for not performing a more thorough inspection. It still paddles like a dream. Yes, I will buy more stuff from ACK. They still are 2nd to none.
Reviewer:
dean
Rating:
5
Date:
9/19/2012
Review:
great product easy to install makes tarpon 120 even easier to fish .Big thank you to austin kayak for fast and friendly service highly recommended
Reviewer:
ron ward
Rating:
5
Date:
9/4/2012
Review:
great product, received it in a timely fashion. used it for the first time over the holiday and it worked perfectly. I would recommend this product to anyone who kayaks anywhere that current is a factor or in windy conditions.keep your boat on track!!
Reviewer:
Dan D.
Rating:
4
Date:
7/26/2012
Review:
Kit was great. Rudder works perfect. THE DIRECTIONS FOR INSTALLING THE RUDDER KIT ARE THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN. Please!Please!! Spend some time and money to rewrite your installation instructions and take some pics. A picture is truly worth a thousand words.
Reviewer:
G. Wold
Rating:
4
Date:
6/4/2012
Review:
Overall it is a very good product. Everyone says how well it works in the wind. It also works well on small ponds and in confined spaces. The instructions really are confusing. It took me 4 hours to install, but that was because I went online to check out the installation video which was more straight forward. There are a lot of extra parts that arent needed for certain applications. Overall I am happy. Im a newby but patient.
Reviewer:
Battle Boy
Rating:
5
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
I cant say enough about the addition of a rudder kit to my Tarpon 120. I would not have a another kayak without it! Keeps you pointed in right direction, which means more time for fishing! Wilderness Systems quality is second to none. If you are going to buy a Kayak, have ACK to install the Rudder System for you, their service is second to none! Fast shipping and extreme packaging!
Reviewer:
e.yamano
Rating:
4
Date:
2/25/2012
Review:
Installation was easily possible. I can row it in a head wind comfortably and am satisfied.
Reviewer:
R. Scott
Rating:
5
Date:
11/1/2011
Review:
Great addition to my Tarpon 140 kayak, easy to install, Austin Kayak is an awesome business. I highly recommend them and this rudder.
Reviewer:
Stonefaces
Rating:
5
Date:
10/28/2011
Review:
The kit was easy to easy to install and work wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone that need more control for the kayak.
Reviewer:
Gus Kayak
Rating:
5
Date:
10/27/2011
Review:
I’ve been kayaking and kayak fishing for 5 years in my “rudderless” Tarpon 140. Then, a couple of months ago I bit the bullet and purchased a rudder from ACK—and WOW what a difference! Now, crossing a lake in windy conditions is a snap. Trolling, with the wind on your back, is a joy because course adjustment is via the rudder, leaving the hands free for more accurate casting. Same for trolling down rivers or creeks. The rudder kit was not difficult to install especially since my Tarpon was “rudder ready” (though a few photos would have helped). The kit’s components are all high quality and the total package works flawlessly. A suggestion for the novice: Wait a full year and learn to control all facets of paddling – then add the rudder.
Reviewer:
ws
Rating:
5
Date:
10/3/2011
Review:
Installed it in about 30 minutes on my Tarpon 140 that was rudder ready. The rudder works smoother than the rudders on my other kayaks.
Reviewer:
John B.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2011
Review:
Great kit! Instructions were clear and easily adaptable for our 16ft. Tarpons. We have two boats, so the second installation was a breeze. Just be sure to read the instructions all the way thru first and assemble the tools needed, ready and at hand. Organize all the small parts into groups so you know where everything is. Easy! I would recommend.
Live chat by BoldChat