Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99 You Save: $50.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: I recommend the Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder to anyone that kayaks and wants more control. Easy to install.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Dan D.
Rating:
4
Date:
7/26/2012
Review:
Kit was great. Rudder works perfect. THE DIRECTIONS FOR INSTALLING THE RUDDER KIT ARE THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN. Please!Please!! Spend some time and money to rewrite your installation instructions and take some pics. A picture is truly worth a thousand words.
Reviewer:
G. Wold
Rating:
4
Date:
6/4/2012
Review:
Overall it is a very good product. Everyone says how well it works in the wind. It also works well on small ponds and in confined spaces. The instructions really are confusing. It took me 4 hours to install, but that was because I went online to check out the installation video which was more straight forward. There are a lot of extra parts that arent needed for certain applications. Overall I am happy. Im a newby but patient.
Reviewer:
Battle Boy
Rating:
5
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
I cant say enough about the addition of a rudder kit to my Tarpon 120. I would not have a another kayak without it! Keeps you pointed in right direction, which means more time for fishing! Wilderness Systems quality is second to none. If you are going to buy a Kayak, have ACK to install the Rudder System for you, their service is second to none! Fast shipping and extreme packaging!
Reviewer:
e.yamano
Rating:
4
Date:
2/25/2012
Review:
Installation was easily possible. I can row it in a head wind comfortably and am satisfied.
Reviewer:
R. Scott
Rating:
5
Date:
11/1/2011
Review:
Great addition to my Tarpon 140 kayak, easy to install, Austin Kayak is an awesome business. I highly recommend them and this rudder.
Reviewer:
Stonefaces
Rating:
5
Date:
10/28/2011
Review:
The kit was easy to easy to install and work wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone that need more control for the kayak.
Reviewer:
Gus Kayak
Rating:
5
Date:
10/27/2011
Review:
I’ve been kayaking and kayak fishing for 5 years in my “rudderless” Tarpon 140. Then, a couple of months ago I bit the bullet and purchased a rudder from ACK—and WOW what a difference! Now, crossing a lake in windy conditions is a snap. Trolling, with the wind on your back, is a joy because course adjustment is via the rudder, leaving the hands free for more accurate casting. Same for trolling down rivers or creeks. The rudder kit was not difficult to install especially since my Tarpon was “rudder ready” (though a few photos would have helped). The kit’s components are all high quality and the total package works flawlessly. A suggestion for the novice: Wait a full year and learn to control all facets of paddling – then add the rudder.
Reviewer:
ws
Rating:
5
Date:
10/3/2011
Review:
Installed it in about 30 minutes on my Tarpon 140 that was rudder ready. The rudder works smoother than the rudders on my other kayaks.
Reviewer:
John B.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2011
Review:
Great kit! Instructions were clear and easily adaptable for our 16ft. Tarpons. We have two boats, so the second installation was a breeze. Just be sure to read the instructions all the way thru first and assemble the tools needed, ready and at hand. Organize all the small parts into groups so you know where everything is. Easy! I would recommend.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
4
Date:
5/20/2011
Review:
While the instruction left allot to be desired the rudder was easy to install. The rudder works great. It really proved it's worth on a recent kayak fishing trip with heavy wind and rain for three days Without this rudder it would have been miserable experience, with it it was great.
Reviewer:
D-Sea
Rating:
4
Date:
1/14/2011
Review:
Good product from ACK but instructions were a bit confusing mainly due to lots of variability between Tarpon140s during 2008-2010. Once I figured what type 2009 my used Tarpon 140 was, all went smooth. I now have lots of left over parts as I continue to rig my kayak for fishing.
Reviewer:
Mike N.
Rating:
4
Date:
5/22/2010
Review:
Put one on my T-120. Absolutely luv it. Makes paddling much easier on a windy day and helps a lot when drifting. Instructions - not so great. Could also be a lot less expensive if they made a kit specific to the rudder ready Tarpons. There were a LOT of parts not needed.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.81.124.198 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat