Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
MSRP:  $249.99
$199.99 You Save: $50.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit helps you gain control and efficiency in wind or fast current. The Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit is the factory rudder for the Wilderness Systems Tarpon series, Pamlico Series and Rides (Rides produced between 2006 - 2014). The Rudder Ready kit is for all 2009 - 2014 Wilderness Kayaks with cable tubing already installed. This kit includes all the necessary parts, hardware, and instructions to install a rudder on your boat.

• Gain control and efficiency in wind or fast current
• This kit works on all Ride models 2006-2014
• Rudder Ready kit is for all 2009 - 2014 Wilderness Kayaks with cable tubing already inserted
• Includes all necessary parts, hardware, and instructions
  • What's Inside?
  • Item #: 137
    Part Number UPC
    8023052 0729282033123
    Back to Top
     Product Videos
    Back to Top
     Reviews
    Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
    No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
    Back to Top
     Questions
    Have a question about this product?
    Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
    If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
    * Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
    ** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
    customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
    ACK Review: I recommend the Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder to anyone that kayaks and wants more control. Easy to install.
    Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
    Rating Stars  

    Customer Reviews

    Reviewer:
    Dan D.
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    7/26/2012
    Review:
    Kit was great. Rudder works perfect. THE DIRECTIONS FOR INSTALLING THE RUDDER KIT ARE THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN. Please!Please!! Spend some time and money to rewrite your installation instructions and take some pics. A picture is truly worth a thousand words.
    Reviewer:
    G. Wold
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    6/4/2012
    Review:
    Overall it is a very good product. Everyone says how well it works in the wind. It also works well on small ponds and in confined spaces. The instructions really are confusing. It took me 4 hours to install, but that was because I went online to check out the installation video which was more straight forward. There are a lot of extra parts that arent needed for certain applications. Overall I am happy. Im a newby but patient.
    Reviewer:
    Battle Boy
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    5/16/2012
    Review:
    I cant say enough about the addition of a rudder kit to my Tarpon 120. I would not have a another kayak without it! Keeps you pointed in right direction, which means more time for fishing! Wilderness Systems quality is second to none. If you are going to buy a Kayak, have ACK to install the Rudder System for you, their service is second to none! Fast shipping and extreme packaging!
    Reviewer:
    e.yamano
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    2/25/2012
    Review:
    Installation was easily possible. I can row it in a head wind comfortably and am satisfied.
    Reviewer:
    R. Scott
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    11/1/2011
    Review:
    Great addition to my Tarpon 140 kayak, easy to install, Austin Kayak is an awesome business. I highly recommend them and this rudder.
    Reviewer:
    Stonefaces
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    10/28/2011
    Review:
    The kit was easy to easy to install and work wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone that need more control for the kayak.
    Reviewer:
    Gus Kayak
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    10/27/2011
    Review:
    I’ve been kayaking and kayak fishing for 5 years in my “rudderless” Tarpon 140. Then, a couple of months ago I bit the bullet and purchased a rudder from ACK—and WOW what a difference! Now, crossing a lake in windy conditions is a snap. Trolling, with the wind on your back, is a joy because course adjustment is via the rudder, leaving the hands free for more accurate casting. Same for trolling down rivers or creeks. The rudder kit was not difficult to install especially since my Tarpon was “rudder ready” (though a few photos would have helped). The kit’s components are all high quality and the total package works flawlessly. A suggestion for the novice: Wait a full year and learn to control all facets of paddling – then add the rudder.
    Reviewer:
    ws
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    10/3/2011
    Review:
    Installed it in about 30 minutes on my Tarpon 140 that was rudder ready. The rudder works smoother than the rudders on my other kayaks.
    Reviewer:
    John B.
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    6/18/2011
    Review:
    Great kit! Instructions were clear and easily adaptable for our 16ft. Tarpons. We have two boats, so the second installation was a breeze. Just be sure to read the instructions all the way thru first and assemble the tools needed, ready and at hand. Organize all the small parts into groups so you know where everything is. Easy! I would recommend.
    Reviewer:
    Mike
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    5/20/2011
    Review:
    While the instruction left allot to be desired the rudder was easy to install. The rudder works great. It really proved it's worth on a recent kayak fishing trip with heavy wind and rain for three days Without this rudder it would have been miserable experience, with it it was great.
    Reviewer:
    D-Sea
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    1/14/2011
    Review:
    Good product from ACK but instructions were a bit confusing mainly due to lots of variability between Tarpon140s during 2008-2010. Once I figured what type 2009 my used Tarpon 140 was, all went smooth. I now have lots of left over parts as I continue to rig my kayak for fishing.
    Reviewer:
    Mike N.
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    5/22/2010
    Review:
    Put one on my T-120. Absolutely luv it. Makes paddling much easier on a windy day and helps a lot when drifting. Instructions - not so great. Could also be a lot less expensive if they made a kit specific to the rudder ready Tarpons. There were a LOT of parts not needed.
    Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
    All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
    ip:54.198.33.96 svr:123
    Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
    Live chat by BoldChat