FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready

Out of Stock

This product has been discontinued. Don't worry, we have more Rudders.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: I recommend the Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder to anyone that kayaks and wants more control. Easy to install.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Trevor
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2015
Review:
Found this rudder easy to install and works excellent. thank you
Reviewer:
G. Valdes
Rating:
4
Date:
4/6/2015
Review:
Ordered 2 of these from ACK and installed one of them on our 2014 WS Tarpon 140 kayaks. Installation is straight forward, but no thanks to the included instructions (ACK's videos on the product site were much more helpful for sure!) The screws included for the deck riggings for the rudder deploy function were too long so I had to use washers to make up the difference - not a big deal but for someone not too mechanical this would mean having to go and get some new screws. Installation was easy on the Tarpon although the internal foot rail nuts can be a little hard to get to since they are inside the hull - not bad but you will have to do some contorting through the dry hatches to get to them. Overall a very good rudder system for the Tarpon for the best price at ACK with really fast shipping and great communication. ACK all the way! Giving it 4 stars because of the instructions and the long screws but ACK is 5 stars on their end.
Reviewer:
Andy K.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/27/2014
Review:
Wilderness Systems Tarpon Rudder Kit - Rudder Ready. I purchased this kit after using my Tarpon 120 for kayak fishing for several months. As others have noted, the instructions are a little “fuzzy”, but hey, they cover a wide range of kayaks. The only other issue were the screws for the lift cord guides, they were a little longer than need. Having the rudder on the kayak has made a huge difference while fishing, no more picking up the paddle every few minutes to correct my position while drifting. Also, it makes returning to the landing with fish a bit easier. I hang my fish from the cleat on the left side of the kayak and they add enough drag to pull the kayak to that side, the rudder helps to keep me paddling straight. I think the rudder kit is well worth the cost, especially at the ACK price.
Reviewer:
Mad dog
Rating:
4
Date:
9/14/2014
Review:
We received the rudder kit quickly with everything needed. The directions could have been better, thank goodness for u-tube video to help. The screws given to us to install the cables for the up and down of the rudder were too long; but it was easy to find shorter stainless steel screws that worked. The rudder workers great.
Reviewer:
MikeL
Rating:
4
Date:
6/10/2014
Review:
Installed on Tarpon 140 - easy to install, one minor deviation from the instructions - said something about removing covers from the cable guides - mine did not have anything - simply inserted and pushed - twist a bit when it gets to the other end to help it through. A bit worried about the longevity of the bungi-cord at the end but I expect it will be easy to replace if/when it breaks. Like the foot braces that come with this kit MUCH better than the stock ones (which flexed too much)
Reviewer:
Rob Krul
Rating:
5
Date:
1/31/2014
Review:
put it on my Tarpon 160 instalation was very easy , as seen in the video. thanks, greetings from Holland
Reviewer:
Fishshooter99
Rating:
5
Date:
9/9/2013
Review:
Came as described and very easy to install.
Reviewer:
Francois
Rating:
5
Date:
9/4/2013
Review:
Haven't try the rudder on water yet. Installation went smootly. I recommend viewing of installation videos available on the Internet to ease the process. All parts were were in the package and well designated. GREAT service from ACK: delivered on time and quick answers even about Canadian delivery.
Reviewer:
IanK
Rating:
5
Date:
8/23/2013
Review:
Fantastic - the kit worked great. The handling in rough water & high winds is so much better. I found a couple of YouTube video's that helped show how to assemble.
Reviewer:
cato2482
Rating:
5
Date:
4/21/2013
Review:
If you put your tarpon in a river with some current, this rudder is a necessity. I worked my butt off in a local river without this rudder. With this kit the boat handles great.
Reviewer:
Mike Latham
Rating:
5
Date:
4/8/2013
Review:
Works great and easy to install on my Tarpon 140. If you need a rudder on your Tarpon save money and do it yourself.
Reviewer:
Male
Rating:
4
Date:
2/19/2013
Review:
Haven't tried out yet. A little tricky to install with no illustrations, but was not too bad. Seems to be a great fit
<<  <  1         >>
Live chat by BoldChat