Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
$2,599.00
 
Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
$2,599.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Mitch in Colorado
Rating:
5
Date:
2/2/2016
Review:
I have had this kayak since june of 2015. The Slayer has served me well, and is very comfortable for all day adventures. The way it is set up is great for adding extras, I have added a celblok for my fish finder...(No Holes), LED lights, 4 block light switch, basket, anchor trolley, paddle holder, front hatch, and so much more. This year I plan on filming my fishing adventures ,and I am so happy I have this kayak. I belong to a Great Kayak Club in Colorado, many people have other brands, and when they see me in Reverse, I see the jealousy...Reverse is the game changer with this craft, and at the end of the day, that is what sold me. Don't hesitate....dominate!
Reviewer:
Larry Ding
Rating:
5
Date:
1/28/2016
Review:
I am very pleased with this boat. I read many reviews of this boat and considered the Hobie revolution mirage drive but what sold me is the great comfort and adjustability of the aluminum frame seat, hard core fishability, ease of adding accessories such as fishfinder GPS, lights, extra rod holders etc. to the three accessory rails front, left and right; ample bow and stern storage, and ability to peddle in reverse which is so important when positioning the boat when casting to structure or orienting the boat when drift fishing. You simply cannot go in reverse with the miragedrive. The hull is a beautiful smooth, shiny and firm poly with cool graphic colors molded in that does not deform easily with pressure like most all other kayaks (it does ding permanently however if you hit it hard enough or lay the weight on too small of a support surface). The hull is a very stable tunnel design that you can stand up on and cast from. There are two drink holders (one is a combo gunnel/rod/drink holder another in the center console) and tons of storage in the front and behind your seat. The propel drive is very easy to install and operate and appears to be pretty sturdy aluminum. Peddling moderately fast, I can travel around 7-8mph for 15-20 minutes and not feel too winded. Going at a leisurely 4-5 mph pace can go for over an hour without a break. The only design I'm not crazy about is the rudder which is easily damaged as it cannot be raised out of the water when beaching. Fortunately it is easy enough to remove/install with a single phillips screw in about 10 seconds. Would definitely recommend to the person looking for a comfortable fishing kayak.
Reviewer:
Eugene W.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/30/2015
Review:
Still in progress of getting the boat rigged the way I want it but have had it on the water a couple of times and am really pleased with it. Its just amazing how effortlessly it is to maneuver
Reviewer:
Doug and Rhonda
Rating:
5
Date:
12/22/2015
Review:
We purchased two Native Watercraft Slayer Propels from Austin Kayak. They were shipped by Estes shipping. I helped the driver unload the kayaks from the semi. The kayaks were encased in plastic; under that, bubble wrap; and under that a cloth type fabric. The kayaks reminded me of Egyptian mummies, they were that well wrapped. Upon unwrapping the kayaks, both were in pristine condition. No shipping damage whatsoever. It took longer to unwrap the kayaks than it took to get them set up. I attached the rudder, put on the pedals, and set up the propulsion unit. Total truck to water time was about an hour. We live on South Padre Island and have a boat ramp 250 yards from our home. We put the kayaks on the trolleys and walked to the ramp. The kayaks are very stable and easy to get into. Shove off from the ramp, pivot the propulsion unit down into the water and pedal. The learning curve is extremely easy. The rudder works great and it is very easy to keep the kayak headed where you want it to go. I went out on the Laguna Madre on a very windy day my second time out. 20-25 mph north wind with white caps. I let the wind and current take me a mile or so to the south and then headed back. I was amazed how easy it was to 'pedal' back against that wind and current. I don't think I would have had the stamina to paddle back in those conditions. Honestly, wind and current are not a factor with these kayaks. The first time out, I pedaled almost non stop for two hours and never became fatigued. My GPS app said I was making about one to two miles per hour. Not blazing speed, but we are able to maintain that speed for extended periods of time without ever becoming tired. I'm 63 and my wife is 61. My wife and I were out on the Laguna yesterday in a light chop and 10-15 mph wind. There must have been a lot of fish in the shallows because the pelicans and dolphins were busy feeding. The Propels are very quiet and evidently new to the dolphins. They came up to us repeatedly to check us out, often to within ten feet of our kayaks. On the way back they followed us, two or three at a time. Once I stopped, turned the rudder, pedaled backwards and quickly turned sideways. The dolphins following me kept coming on and at the last second dived down and went under the kayak. These kayaks are a blast!
Reviewer:
Mark b
Rating:
3
Date:
10/8/2015
Review:
Slayer propel is OK. I haven't had it very long (3 weeks) and I have to replace a prop pin that is Bent. I haven't abused it so I am a little concerned about how strong these parts are. Hind sight 20/20 I think I would spend the extra and get the pro angler
Reviewer:
Ryan B.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2015
Review:
I decided to wait on writing a review until I had some time on this kayak. I've put probably 100 hours out on this kayak now since purchasing it in May 2015. The bad - Let's get the bad out of the way first. The shipping is terrible for this kayak. Other people talk about it on here, the guys carrying your kayak have no idea that they're carrying 2500$ worth of plastic around. I will say that it is free, which was great compared to the Hobie brand, so there's only so much complaining I can do. As for the kayak itself, the included plastic rudder is weak. I didn't trust it to control me in choppier waters and went with the boonedox aluminum rudder. HUGE difference in control for not much money. This was my biggest issue with the kayak. Beyond that, it's missing some of the quality touches that the Hobie PA has. The accessories panels and such mounted on the PA were of higher quality than the aluminum tracks on the Slayer. The good - I don't really have much I dislike about this kayak. It's extremely stable, and only if I intentionally tip it will it tip. I've been in 4 foot rollers over 100 feet of water. I've been on inland lakes pedaling straight into 30mph gusts "the propel does not care about wind". The seat is always comfortable. Pedaling the kayak is easy, I can go after work for 4 hours pedaling and not feel fatigued. Easy to reach the front hatch as well as behind me. The tracks included are sufficient to run rod holders on each side, both easily accessible within arms reach from a comfortable position on my chair. I was also able to mount extra ram tubes behind me, a kayak crate, lowrance fish finder, and even some accessory track lashes for my paddle and boga. The only hole I drilled was for my transducer, otherwise every other accessory could be mounted with the included tracks. A big plus to me. Speed is solid too, I am a big guy at 6'2 240lbs and I can get up to 4.5-5mph full on trying, or 3.5mph without much effort. The only time I've touched a paddle is to push off of a dock, otherwise everything is done with my feet and the rudder. My only hope is that Native eventually releases a Pro Angler level Slayer or Ultimate pedal version, ideally closer to the PA width of 37". The PA has a few inches on the Slayer as far as width, and it makes a big difference for stability.
Reviewer:
Mitch S.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2015
Review:
I have had the kayak out 8 times in the past month, and I have got to say that I am floored by the stability, and overall quality of the Kayak. I was thrilled to be getting it, and now that I have it, I can't wait to go out again, and again. I noticed that I don't even deploy my anchor because with the pedals, I can go forward and reverse, holding my position is easy. When I stand up to fish I can move back and forth with a couple of quick turns of the pedal, by hand. If you are on the fence, hop off and buy this kayak....you will not be dissapointed.
Reviewer:
Israel
Rating:
4
Date:
6/29/2015
Review:
great yak fast stable little heavy but tracks well only bad thing sea weed or grass goes in propel and have to stop and clean cuz causes ristriction
Reviewer:
YAK PROPEL
Rating:
5
Date:
6/26/2015
Review:
GREAT PRODUCT, ARRIVED WITH ISSUES WITH STEERING.. BUT ACK ASSISTED IN CORRECTING.. DELIVERY WAS PRETTY CLOSE TO DEAD ON, OVERALL REAL HAPPY BUT I'VE ONLY HAD IT ABOUT A MONTH.. GIVE ME A BIT AND ASK AGAIN
Reviewer:
Alexander S.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2015
Review:
Great Kayak, stable and roomy. Super thick plastic = durable... but adding a bit of weight. This is a monster to try to carry as a 1 man rig. Think Trailer or wheel kit. The storage area behind the seat is expansive... you could almost have 2 milk crates and not interfere with the rudder.
Reviewer:
John Booth
Rating:
5
Date:
5/2/2015
Review:
I had my slayer 13 propel for almost 2 months now. The kayak was shipped by truck to Sebastian,Fl. I helped the driver remove the kayak. it was buried so to speak with other cargo. A few days later I removed it from the cloth sock that it was transported in and noticed two small dents on the side of the hull. I wasn't bad enough to have it replaced.My thought on this is to improve on better protection or complain or replace the trucking company. Other than that problem it's a great kayak.
Reviewer:
Scott H.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/25/2015
Review:
Gator Bait is more of a hot pink than purple as shown in picture. Great for the lady anglers or the kids.
<<  <  1       >>
Live Chat