Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
$2,459.00
 
Native Watercraft Slayer 13 Propel Kayak
$2,459.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Ryan B.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2015
Review:
I decided to wait on writing a review until I had some time on this kayak. I've put probably 100 hours out on this kayak now since purchasing it in May 2015. The bad - Let's get the bad out of the way first. The shipping is terrible for this kayak. Other people talk about it on here, the guys carrying your kayak have no idea that they're carrying 2500$ worth of plastic around. I will say that it is free, which was great compared to the Hobie brand, so there's only so much complaining I can do. As for the kayak itself, the included plastic rudder is weak. I didn't trust it to control me in choppier waters and went with the boonedox aluminum rudder. HUGE difference in control for not much money. This was my biggest issue with the kayak. Beyond that, it's missing some of the quality touches that the Hobie PA has. The accessories panels and such mounted on the PA were of higher quality than the aluminum tracks on the Slayer. The good - I don't really have much I dislike about this kayak. It's extremely stable, and only if I intentionally tip it will it tip. I've been in 4 foot rollers over 100 feet of water. I've been on inland lakes pedaling straight into 30mph gusts "the propel does not care about wind". The seat is always comfortable. Pedaling the kayak is easy, I can go after work for 4 hours pedaling and not feel fatigued. Easy to reach the front hatch as well as behind me. The tracks included are sufficient to run rod holders on each side, both easily accessible within arms reach from a comfortable position on my chair. I was also able to mount extra ram tubes behind me, a kayak crate, lowrance fish finder, and even some accessory track lashes for my paddle and boga. The only hole I drilled was for my transducer, otherwise every other accessory could be mounted with the included tracks. A big plus to me. Speed is solid too, I am a big guy at 6'2 240lbs and I can get up to 4.5-5mph full on trying, or 3.5mph without much effort. The only time I've touched a paddle is to push off of a dock, otherwise everything is done with my feet and the rudder. My only hope is that Native eventually releases a Pro Angler level Slayer or Ultimate pedal version, ideally closer to the PA width of 37". The PA has a few inches on the Slayer as far as width, and it makes a big difference for stability.
Reviewer:
Robert A.
Rating:
3
Date:
8/9/2015
Review:
This is a really good kayak. Fast, stable, comfortable seat. Package was a great deal - delivered to my door, no tax and discounted life jacked and paddle. Paddle and jacket are good and a perfect fit. Now the downside - first had an issue with the bar that holds the propel system down - but the manufacturer sent a replacement right away. But, the real issue is the bracket the holds the propel system down - it is only on one side and within a short time, my pedaling started raising the pedals slightly resulting in a small but consistent noise. Until they fix this issue, I would not purchase the kayak as its annoying and only going to get worse. Additionally, one of the pedals kept working its way loose. So, a good kayak with some issues that can be a great kayak when the issues are corrected. Austin Kayak customer service is great, but the manufacturer has some work to do.
Reviewer:
Mitch S.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2015
Review:
I have had the kayak out 8 times in the past month, and I have got to say that I am floored by the stability, and overall quality of the Kayak. I was thrilled to be getting it, and now that I have it, I can't wait to go out again, and again. I noticed that I don't even deploy my anchor because with the pedals, I can go forward and reverse, holding my position is easy. When I stand up to fish I can move back and forth with a couple of quick turns of the pedal, by hand. If you are on the fence, hop off and buy this kayak....you will not be dissapointed.
Reviewer:
Israel
Rating:
4
Date:
6/29/2015
Review:
great yak fast stable little heavy but tracks well only bad thing sea weed or grass goes in propel and have to stop and clean cuz causes ristriction
Reviewer:
YAK PROPEL
Rating:
5
Date:
6/26/2015
Review:
GREAT PRODUCT, ARRIVED WITH ISSUES WITH STEERING.. BUT ACK ASSISTED IN CORRECTING.. DELIVERY WAS PRETTY CLOSE TO DEAD ON, OVERALL REAL HAPPY BUT I'VE ONLY HAD IT ABOUT A MONTH.. GIVE ME A BIT AND ASK AGAIN
Reviewer:
Alexander S.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2015
Review:
Great Kayak, stable and roomy. Super thick plastic = durable... but adding a bit of weight. This is a monster to try to carry as a 1 man rig. Think Trailer or wheel kit. The storage area behind the seat is expansive... you could almost have 2 milk crates and not interfere with the rudder.
Reviewer:
John Booth
Rating:
5
Date:
5/2/2015
Review:
I had my slayer 13 propel for almost 2 months now. The kayak was shipped by truck to Sebastian,Fl. I helped the driver remove the kayak. it was buried so to speak with other cargo. A few days later I removed it from the cloth sock that it was transported in and noticed two small dents on the side of the hull. I wasn't bad enough to have it replaced.My thought on this is to improve on better protection or complain or replace the trucking company. Other than that problem it's a great kayak.
Reviewer:
Scott H.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/25/2015
Review:
Gator Bait is more of a hot pink than purple as shown in picture. Great for the lady anglers or the kids.
Reviewer:
Chuck R.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/19/2015
Review:
Great yak got it on the water before it iced over ready to go workes great got on time.
Reviewer:
G. A. W.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/10/2014
Review:
Great boat setup. A bit of a challenge to load by myself.
Reviewer:
Wayne
Rating:
5
Date:
9/13/2014
Review:
The best thing about the Slayer 13 ... Hands free , faster than paddling, easy to stand up in ,stable, nice to troll with, only thing wrong with it is why didn't I get this last year ! oh yea free shipping .
Reviewer:
Bill Gunby
Rating:
5
Date:
9/6/2014
Review:
Pedaling vs. paddling is a no contest in favor of pedaling. You can't paddle as fast as you can pedal ! If you are a speed freak, do both. Being able to go forward and in reverse hands free puts this is a class by itself. Excellent engineering, high quality product and easy to remove prop for shallow water or loading/unloading. Price ? You get what you pay for ! Like to see ACK build a tandem.
<<  <  1       >>
Live chat by BoldChat