Darby Extend-A-Truck Bed Extender - Product Reviews
Return to Darby Extend-A-Truck Bed Extender Product Details.
MSRP:  $129.99
$99.00 You Save: $30.99(24%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In-stock: Ships Monday if ordered today!
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
5
Date:
4/18/2009
Review:
Best price I found online. I use it on my short bed Tacoma with two 2x12s bolted onto it from inside the truck bed. That lets me ride my mower up ramps and sit on the lumber, since the wheel well "bumps" are in the way of getting the mower all the way forward in the bed. So the back wheels of the mower rest on the lumber, which is supported by the extend-a-truck. Way cheaper than buying a utility trailer to haul the mower around on jobs.
Reviewer:
Ray Salter
Rating:
5
Date:
3/30/2009
Review:
I used it for the first time this weekend to pickup 6 sheet of 1/2 drywall on a 2005 Ford Escape and it worked great. Numerous people stopped as I was loading and ask where I got it Austin Kayak was great, best price I found ($100 less than one place) and it was delivered free in 3 days.
Reviewer:
Robert
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2008
Review:
product works well with additional padding to protect canoe keel--some vibrations but typical of any product inserted into hitch--product shipped fast and easy
Reviewer:
Todd
Rating:
4
Date:
8/27/2008
Review:
First let me say that I got great service from ACK, timely shipping and best price. I gave a rating of four stars because I'm not totally satisfied with the quality. (1) Paint was flaking at weld site and (2) for advertising that it needs to be held with straps, there are no mounts for connecting those straps. It just so happened that I needed to raise the cross member up one hole to match the height of my roof rack and so I used the now open holes to attach the hooks from my straps. Although this worked well, I would not have been able to do this if I needed the lowest position. Having said all that, I padded the cross bar and my roof rack and use this to carry my 19 foot long hang glider and it works great. When I want to take it down but have it available it lays flat in my short (5 foot) pickup bed.
Reviewer:
Jamie T
Rating:
5
Date:
8/4/2008
Review:
Great price, reasonable delivery time and it works!
Reviewer:
KTH
Rating:
4
Date:
6/26/2008
Review:
It does what it says it will do. It needs support straps to keep it from rocking side to side. Other thnn that it's great.
Reviewer:
Doug
Rating:
5
Date:
4/21/2008
Review:
This is definitely worth the price paid. I will take my 17 ft. kayak out much more often now that I can load and unload the boat at waist level. Quality material and finish. I will need to get some kind of wedge to keep the horizontal position level.
Reviewer:
Lisa M.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/14/2007
Review:
Hi, Everyone. Absolutely love the Extend-a-Truck I ordered from Austin Kayak. Simple to attach and use and loading one's boat at waist height surely beats car-topping!
Reviewer:
GARY
Rating:
5
Date:
9/24/2007
Review:
GREAT IDEA. I AM ABLE TO HAUL MY KAYAKS AND OTHER LONG ITEMS SECURELY. I AM 100% SATISFIED
Reviewer:
Ron
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2007
Review:
Great product and easy to use. Ideal if you are loading and unloading a kayak by yourself. Excellent service from Austin kayak co. as well. cannot beat the price.
Reviewer:
spikey
Rating:
5
Date:
8/2/2007
Review:
I have a short bed full sized Silverado Chevy truck and I can move both of my 160T Loon Old Town Kayaks with ease , thanks to the Extend-A-Truck. It's simple,and it works !
Reviewer:
Jeff
Rating:
4
Date:
7/18/2007
Review:
The extend-a-truck is pretty slick. I bought it so that I could easily transport my canoe to and from the lake and it has worked great. There are two reasons I didn't give it a 5-star rating: 1) When I was attempting to use it as an upper rack it looked like it may not clear the sport racks on the cap of my truck (Chevy Silverado 1500). It looks like it may need one more hole which I will probably just drill myself if there is room for another and if I really need to use it in that configuration. 2) I had to wrap carpet around the "T" member in order to avoid damaging my canoe while driving. Not a big deal at all, but it would have been nice to include some simple padding. Aside from that, the product is great and AC&K has the best price on the web.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.90.205.61 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat