Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
NRS Pilot Knife
$44.95
 
NRS Pilot Knife
$44.95
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The NRS Pilot Knife is perfect for the fishing and exploring crowd. I can't remember a single trip I have ever taken that didn't require the use of a handy knife. This is that knife.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Pete
Rating:
5
Date:
11/4/2010
Review:
Just bought the NRS Pilot Knife. Luckily there was no need for it in an emergency situation, but the knife came in very handy in cutting para cord for our tarp, opening many a beer bottle, and slicing through summer sausage and smoked salmon on our latest trip. Great knife!
Reviewer:
NJKayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
5/12/2010
Review:
Great knife!! Use it for almost everything while fishing on the kayak. The release system is great you can truly remove it and place it back in it's sheath w/ one hand yet it will not accidentally release when banged. ACK customer service is awesome! I am glad to spend hard earned money w/ them.
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2010
Review:
Attaches to lash tab on my PFD; yes, it is a tight fit, but you KNOW it's not coming off and I appreciate that. Quick release is very handy keeps knife secure until you need it. For the price this knife can't be beat.
Reviewer:
Kent
Rating:
4
Date:
4/6/2010
Review:
I would have given it 5 stars, but like another reviewer stated, it was difficult to attach to the lash tab on my Kokatat Bahia Tour Fishing PFD. Other than that, it has a lot of features and stands up well to corrosion. Even after keeping it wet for a prolonged period of time, it still hasn't shown even a spec of rust. The sheath has a great quick release button allowing for one handed use.
Reviewer:
Joe the Grinder
Rating:
5
Date:
3/31/2010
Review:
I had been looking for a good kayaking knife and found a great one. The NRS Pilot Knife is perfect for attaching to my PFD and is easily removed from it's sheath when needed.
Reviewer:
Dallas Eastley
Rating:
4
Date:
3/30/2010
Review:
Attached easily to my MacPac PFD, strong clip and the knife appears durable. I would give 5/5 but need to see how corrosion resistant it is after being in use for a little longer, overall quite happy.
Reviewer:
archie spacek
Rating:
5
Date:
3/19/2010
Review:
Great knife!! attachs nice and snug onto my life vest, i love the ease of it!! awesome knife!!
Reviewer:
RC - Texas
Rating:
3
Date:
3/17/2010
Review:
Overall, this is a good knife, but the clip on the sheath is way too large to fit into the standard lash tab on my Kokatat PFD. Either Kokatat makes their lash tabs too small, or NRS made their clip too big. Hmmm... What to do... what to do?
Reviewer:
Skadar
Rating:
3
Date:
3/16/2010
Review:
I'm not sure how I feel about this knife. It certainly looks nice, but it's made in China out of some unspecified material. I'm worried about corrosion in a marine environment. The sheath that comes with the NRS Pilot is probably more important than the knife itself. It is meant to provide two distinct benefits: 1) an absolutely secure attachment point out in the open, and 2) instant availability of the knife. It's a great idea, but it's not executed with as much precision as is required. The sheath fails to secure the knife with 100% perfection, leaving me with the strong desire to tether the knife, which seems like a bad idea for an emergency knife. The sheath has two small, plastic, opposite-facing projections that push through a rectangular opening in the knife. These projections are "spring loaded" by way of stressing plastic tabs inside the mechanism. (I opened it up to take a look) These aren't as strong as they should be. I wish this part of the sheath was made of precision metal. Pushing the knife onto the sheath almost always produces tiny black plastic flakes, which means the plastic is wearing away with each reattachment. I may be unfairly targeting the sheath when the attachment point on the knife may actually be at fault. The rectangular opening on the knife is the weakest part of the whole package. On mine, at least, it is quite rough on the inside with an almost unfinished look. Also, the long sides of the rectangle are tapered. This tapering alone appears to be the cause of the slightly insecure attachment. If you wiggle the knife enough, or accidentally bump one of the disengagement buttons, one of the plastic projections can end up resting on the taper. At this point, if you tug the knife it has a fair chance of popping off the sheath.
Reviewer:
hinkle15
Rating:
5
Date:
2/11/2010
Review:
The NRS Pilot Knife attaches easily to the PFD, awesome knife!! Must have for safety!!
Reviewer:
Amy
Rating:
5
Date:
1/11/2010
Review:
My husband has been wanting an NRS Pilot Knife for years. He loves it. I hope it is a gift he never has to use - cut himself free of his life jacket.
Reviewer:
Bill Howser
Rating:
5
Date:
1/7/2010
Review:
This was a gift for my son. He was thrilled with the NRS Pilot Knife. In fact he picked it out himself.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.161.155.142 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat