Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Old Town Predator MX Kayak
Old Town Predator MX Kayak
$1,299.00
 
Old Town Predator MX Kayak
$1,299.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
William W.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/12/2015
Review:
Predator MX: Great kayak for fishing the North Branch of the Susquehanna as well as all the area lakes. It is stable with a lot of room for gear, supplies, and everything you will need for a day on the water fly fishing. I carry a cooler, camera bag, two 9 foot fly rods, several boxes of flies, a pack (with leaders, tippets, pliers, stripping guards, sun screen, and cigars with lighter and cigar cutter), and anything else I feel necessary. I like the leg room and comfort of the elevated seat, as well as being able to stand if you would like. Well worth the money!
Reviewer:
Adam
Rating:
5
Date:
7/2/2015
Review:
Old town predator MX. Great boat! It takes some practice to stand in but it is possible. You will want a cart to pull it very far. It's a bit heavy but you can tell it is well made.
Reviewer:
Mike H.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2015
Review:
This kayak is wide, stable and comfortable. I like the replaceable mounting plates, they make customizing easy and inexpensive if you make a mistake or change your mind about and accessory. The seat is very comfortable, and will fold back out of the way for a better standing platform. There is also a nice storage pocket on the back of the seat. I enjoy being able to stand up and stretch my legs and had no issues doing so in this kayak. The front hatch could be slightly larger to make it more useful and you place any small items in the front hatch they can slide all the way to the back of the boat making them difficult or impossible to retrieve on the water. Overall this boat is a good fit for my needs and fishing style. It came very well packaged with all of items secured inside the boat. Only took a few days to get from Texas to Virginia. ACK was great to deal with and saved me several hundred dollars over the same items purchased locally.
Reviewer:
Nick
Rating:
5
Date:
11/19/2014
Review:
**Amending my original** I am new to kayak fishing and did a considerable amount of research prior to purchasing this vessel. I flipped a standard kayak with a rounded hull and wanted something comfortable and stable for fishing. I found it in the Predator. I fish the Des Plaines river in Illinois. This can be treacherous and fast moving. This craft is stable, rock steady and durable. You can stand up but you still need good balance or you will fall out. The kayak won't flip over. Heavy, sturdy and worth the price. It is extremely comfortable and I have sat in it for hours with no discomfort. Roomy, wide and can hold pounds of gear. It is heavy so keep that in mind if you plan to cartop carry.
Reviewer:
Joey G.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/11/2014
Review:
Great service from ACK staff. They were very knowledgeable and patient answering all of my questions. Shipping was fast and hassle free. I ordered on a Monday, and it arrived by Thursday. The MX is my second kayak (I started out with an Ascend FS128T) and I could not be happier with the purchase. I debated on this and the Predator 13, but ultimately I wanted the wide open area of the MX. Many of the reviews note that the MX is heavy. Coming out of that Ascend, I feel like the MX is light. I can actually pick this up by myself. The plates offer customization options that allow you to try new rigging ideas and if it doesn't work, toss the plate. You don't have to worry about that permanent pad-eye or Scotty base that is just not in the right spot. The first day I tried it out in a small pond. Even in high winds I was able to keep it moving with little or no effort. The MX glides through the water and it is dead silent as it moves. If I could paddle quietly there would be no sound at all. Tracking is what you would expect on a 12' yak. I actually had to change my paddle method since this is so much easier to maneuver than the Ascend. Stability is top notch. My Ascend was super stable, I had no problem standing up in it and paddling, casting, or ridding myself of beer waste. However, the MX has the Ascend beat hands down in the stability department. I am more likely to step off the yak into the water before I ever tip it over. The seat is the most comfortable I have used in a kayak. I think it beats my buddy's Native Slayer seat. I cold easily spend a day on the water with no back problems whatsoever. If you are looking for a great all-around fishing kayak you cannot go wrong with the MX. Add in the great staff at ACK helping you through the buying process and you have a winning combination.
Reviewer:
Nick
Rating:
5
Date:
10/16/2014
Review:
I am new to kaysk fishing and did a considerable amount of research prior to purchasing this vessel. I flipped s standard kayak and wanted something comfortable and stable for fishing. I found it in the Predator. I fish the Des Plaines river in Illinois. This can be treacherous and fast moving. This craft is stable, rock steady and durable. You can stand up but you still need good balance or you will fall out. The kayak won't flip over. Heavy, sturdy and worth the price
Reviewer:
Todd
Rating:
5
Date:
10/7/2014
Review:
I first put the MX in the water close to a dam. Within 10 feet of leaving the shore I was standing up. The stability in this boat is probably the best of any out there. Once we left the still deep pool below the dam we were faced with our first set of riffles. They were shallow and the rocks high. It gave me a good feel as to how the boat would turn. It actually turns on a dime and i picked my way through the rock garden easier than I ever have. If you fish rivers and lakes like i do, then this is the best boat out there. And yes, the seat is very comfortable. Be warned, it is heavy but so are most kayaks you can stand in. I don't know about taking this through any serious rapids. I probably wouldn't go above a 2, but thats me. The niftiest thing about this boat is the removable/interchangeable plates. I have attached rod holders and fish finders. I used the 2 plates behind the seat to mount a trolling motor transom, works perfectly for big lakes and you can remove it whenever you want.
Reviewer:
Jason
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2014
Review:
I've had this kayak for about a month and a half now and have taken it out a few times and I love it. Standing in it is easy and it tracks well. I've taken it to a few small lakes so far but it seems like it would work well in slow moving rivers and other bodies of water. I wouldn't do whitewater in this though just strictly fishing. There are lots of ways to customize it and make it suitable for you.
Reviewer:
From Dover, Ar
Rating:
5
Date:
8/15/2014
Review:
I have own the Old Town Predator MX for three weeks now. Before I bought this Kayak I tried two other kayaks, (one I feel out of), both of them did not have the stability that the MX has. My first time out in the MX I was able to stand and fish with no problems. The weight is the only thing that has me concerned. I fish in watersheds that don't have boat ramps and some you have to hike to get to. I'm trying to build something with wheels at one end so I can pull it to and from my truck. Beside that I could not be happier with the MX
Reviewer:
From Boise, ID
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2014
Review:
I got to admit I was nervous about making such a purchase site not seen but Austin Kayak had the best deal and free shipping. I am 5 star happy with the product and with Austin Kayak. Shipping was fast and my yak came wrapped up like a new baby. I also got a 15% coupon for my next purchase which I will make with no reservation. The MX is a great Yak. I researched the heck out of different fishing Kayaks and I found the one. AND the company to get it from.
Reviewer:
tom from connecticut
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2014
Review:
purchased the MX to fly fish in remote ponds in the state of Maine. The MX performed excellent. Spent many hours fishing in my MX with no discomfort. Seat is awesome and was able to stand up and fish when I wanted to. Well worth the money.
Reviewer:
dough boy
Rating:
5
Date:
10/30/2013
Review:
this kayak is the best thing I ever sat in floating , fishing, and standing up in.really cool craft !!
<<  <  1       >>
Live chat by BoldChat