Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
 
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Keith Beneteau
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2014
Review:
This kayak is excellent. Great stability and easy to fish with. However the delivery was not so enjoyable. Our kayak somehow got on the wrong truck and we had to wait longer to receive which caused us some issues as you have to be there for delivery. So we had to make special arrangements.
Reviewer:
Barry Morris
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2014
Review:
Austin Kayak rocks! I ordered two Predator 13 kayaks in urban camo along with some Scotty fishing products and a Kong Lasso cable for security. Absolutely love the look, design and stability of the new kayaks. My wife and I use the kayaks primarily for fishing in the local bayou/bay in NW Florida. We have installed Scotty deck mounts on most of the mounting plates along with Scotty rocket launcher rod holders and a Scotty anchor lock. As others have mentioned, the kayak is slow to get moving and can be tough to steer in windy/strong current conditions. However, the ability to stand up while fishing and easily move around the kayak makes up for these weaknesses. We leave the seat in the highest position for all our paddling and fishing which provides a nice storage space underneath for supplies/lure boxes/etc. I spoke with customer service several times at Austin Kayak regarding the kayaks/accessories. I also had to return a couple accessories that I didn't end up needing. They truly have one of the best customer service departments in the business. The kayaks arrived in perfect condition from Estes and the delivery driver helped me move the kayaks into my backyard. I have recommended the Predator 13 and Austin Kayak to all my friends looking for a kayak.
Reviewer:
flpaddler2
Rating:
5
Date:
7/14/2014
Review:
Excellent boat. Good job Old Town! I was a little sceptical at first about the performance of the hull as it has a wide beam for a kayak. It is a slow starter but once you get it moving it performs very well and is easy to paddle. This boat is very stable and holds just about anything you want to put into it. I Would recomend a rudder when paddling in a wind. It tracks so much better and is easier to control. No compaints. I am very pleased with this boat. I would recomend it to anyone who needs a good fishing platform.
Reviewer:
Jacob Backer
Rating:
5
Date:
6/9/2014
Review:
To begin, I found Austin Kayak to be a great company in terms of customer service. Before my order shipped I received a phone call from a rep to ensure I had everything I needed and to discuss the shipping process. All the staff I dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful. I did encounter an issue however and was sent the Ocean Kayak Big Game Prowler II rather than the Predator 13 that I had ordered. While the kayak was on time it was the incorrect model. I called an Austin Kayak rep, David, who guided me through the process of refusing the package to the delivery driver (also very friendly and helpful) and got the correct kayak, the Old Town Predator 13, on its way. Although the issue was unfortunate it only cost me time and gave me the opportunity to examine the Predator's main competitor model up close. While Johnson Outdoors owns both companies, Old Town and Ocean Kayak, I did find some major differences that I believe set the Predator above the Prowler. 1: The molded in carry handles on the bow and stern. The Prowler features attached straps for the purpose, but a molded in handle can never break. 2. The no slip floor of the Predator. While it may not seem like a major point at first I have come to realize as much as I love to stand in the Predator I would miss the ribbed floor if I didn't have it. As stable as this kayak is, I can't imagine anyone sits down much. 3. Included scupper plugs. The Predator came with one-way scupper valve drains where the Prowler did not. I personally prefer to plug the scuppers as I feel it provides added stability, which may just be my opinion but take it for what its worth. With those 3 reasons in mind of why I prefer the Predator over the Prowler I'd also like to discuss a few features both incorporate into their designs that I could not do without. 1. The 3 position seat. It is extremely comfortable and easy to adjust for correct paddling posture. Just as it is intended to, the low setting is great for traveling while the higher setting is useful for providing increased vision which is huge to me because I use this boat primarily for sight fishing. My favorite part about the seat is the folded back position. I push myself through a foot or less of water most of the time while fly fishing and standing is simply the only option. I am also a fly fisherman and standing helps immensely in avoiding tangling line with paddles, poles, etc. 2. The rod pod. This locker allows you to store your rods beneath you and completely out of the way. There is no chance of catching them with a cast, hitting them on branches, or tangling lines. However should you need to switch quickly they are easily at your disposal. 3. The wide tri-hull. Being able to stand in this boat to sight fish absolutely makes it worth every penny. It is a silently, stealthy way to pursue fish and standing to increase your ability to see the fish you are pursuing is imperative. The ability to stand is for me, the most influential aspect of this boat, and the major factor in transforming fishing into a completely new experience. While not quite as major factors I do feel like it is also worth the time to mention the large, comfortable, easy to adjust foot rests, the pouches on the sides of the hull interior and seat back for storage, and the Scotty paddle holder that comes with the kayak. These features continue to add to the function of the boat and help it help you have a more enjoyable experience. To me a kayak is a tool. I bought one to allow me to access waters and pursue fish I wasn't able to before via the bank or in a motorized craft. While some tools may create unnecessary burdens this kayak has done nothing but aid and completely transform my fishing experience. I could not have picked a better boat suited for fishing than the Predator 13 and would encourage any fisherman who is serious about close quarters pursuit to purchase this boat above the competition.
Reviewer:
Nathan McFall
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2014
Review:
Like previous reviewer, I too ordered mine on a Friday and received around 10 am the following Wednesday. The carrier that ACK chose (Estes) was very professional and delivered with no issues. The kayak itself is everything I wanted in a fishing kayak. I'm around 240lbs and I've taken it on 3 extended fishing outings and feel extremely comfortable/stable in the Predator 13. I've only used it in the high seat position but standing up in it is literally as easy as just standing up. I've not attached many accessories to the kayak yet but it has plenty of room for whatever I might want to add. I highly recommend this kayak as well as ACK for fast and professional service!
Reviewer:
Ross Cardona
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2014
Review:
Ordered the camo version over the phone, along with paddle and accessories, on a Friday...it showed up Wednesday. This kayak is very stable and has a ton of storage room in the hull, and paddles very well. The seat is very comfortable. This thing is a fishing machine.
Reviewer:
Thomas Johnston
Rating:
5
Date:
1/25/2014
Review:
I wanted a stable yak to fish from with a dry confort seat, I looked hard at the Hobie proangler but I love fishing shallow flats and bars and knew the Mirage Drive could be a problem as well as the extra weight of the Pro angler, the Predator 13 is wide and stable and needs a longer paddle to give you the torque in the water, I'm over 6' and 250lbs and I can flip the seat up and stand and paddle/fish with no problem, I flip the seat up so to keep my weight neutral from bow to stern, one word of caution is to make sure to buckle the seat down when you change the seat height or it can shift on you when twist or lean back in the seat, if your thinking about putting on roof rack the seat mount is above the gunnels so when flipped upside down it will be hit the roof of your car unless to have really raise cross bars, the Predator paddles and track good , I rented a Cuda 12 last summer for a week to fish out of but standing in it was not fun, I'm looking forward to spring fishing in my Predator.
Reviewer:
Tim Scolaro
Rating:
5
Date:
11/23/2013
Review:
Let me just say I am not a little guy, 6'4 250 lbs. My first outing in my Predator and I was standing and paddling like nothing! I still have my Cobra fish and Dive, which is 2” wider, and nowhere near as stable. I love the built in features of this Kayak from the storage compartment up front, the ingenious one-way scuppers, the mounting plates and the transducer well. Fantastic kayak and ACK was fantastic to deal with. Kayak was delivered well packaged and exactly when they said it would be. Thanks again as I am a very happy and satisfied customer!
Reviewer:
Chris B
Rating:
5
Date:
10/7/2013
Review:
This is my second fishing kayak and I have taken it out ten times so far. The yak paddles well and it's stability makes it easy to stand and fish. I love the elevated seat and the mounting plates were perfect for adding my fish finder, gopro, and rod holders. Everything in the hull/hatch of the yak remains bone dry and my feet only get wet when I stand.Its only downside is the weight. Someone weighing less than 170lbs might have trouble lifting it into the bed of a truck
Reviewer:
Ron T
Rating:
4
Date:
9/11/2013
Review:
This is my fifth fishing kayak so I have a pretty good grasp on what a fishing kayak should and should not do. For the most part the Predator 13 delivers on what it promises. The good: Super stable Super comfortable Lots of room for your gear Easy to stand in Neutral: Paddles ok, not fast, not slow Turns ok The bad: (Isn't there always?) Heavy! Only the brave will attempt to put this on top of a pickup. 72 pounds is the stripped hull less hatches, seat, and rigging. Traditional kayak saddles may dent the hull if positioned wrong. The hull does pop back out on its own.
Reviewer:
Chris L
Rating:
5
Date:
8/6/2013
Review:
This kayak is my first but I did a lot of research and visit many times at various ACK. I was determine to buy the great Diablo but they are sold out and a long wait. They are awesome for rivers and marshes. I travel a lot and wanting something more versatile for fresh and saltwater no matter what the condition is. I was visiting Houston and stopped at the ACK in Houston Bissonnet st which just demo the new Predator 13 in Urban Camo. It look great and the seat has various sitting heights. Great price with many changing mounts for various usage, hideaway bag for your battery for your fish finder, to great area for your transducer to be stored. I placed my pre-order. I finally got it after waiting for production. I got it on the river and it was like a ferrari on the road. It is smooth ride, quiet and great to sneak on fish for a time. I was amaze how fish were swimming close to the Predator. Strong kayak to hold a 260 lbs guy with gear. I highly recommend this kayak to others.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.234.0.85 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat