Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
 
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Richard A.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/23/2015
Review:
Just a follow up to post the Old Town Predator 13, under way.
Reviewer:
RJ Unleased
Rating:
5
Date:
4/22/2015
Review:
First I want to thank everyone who reviewed the Predator 13 by Old Town here on ACK pervious to my review. After much research, ACK a big part of that, viewing, sitting, reading about this Yak, then finally paddling it, before I purchased one in Black Cherry! My first sit on top fishing Yak was a Future Beach 160. It was a great starter boat. I felt so secure in it. My son and I fished out of a OT Guide for many years. Although I love OT and have bought, paddled and sold many different models of OT Canoes, the Guide always felt tippy. I was always on the edge, not to tip it , with all the tackle in the boat! Yikes Then I started Yaking. Then YakFishing. My FB 160 was great. I felt stable and caught many fish on it the last two years. So,after a long, snowy, cold winter, I started looking at new yaks. I feel in love with all the 11.5-14 foot fishing class yaks that were being made. It was so difficult to decide what kayak to get, if any? My main criteria were: 1. had to be stable enough to stand up and fish 2. had to have a comfortable seat with different positions 3 had to be able to be powered by more then my paddle to cover more ground and catch more fish. This was the most difficult criteria to meet without breaking the bank! Hobie, Fabulous boat but to much, Native Paddle same, great boat, not as expensive of Hobie but still too much, Predator XL super format but to much! 4. I had to be able to get my new Yak, up and down on my slide and grab Thule yak rack system, on my car. I did not want to do the trailer thing. Mo Money, taxes, Regs and just another thing to maintain. I can just about maintain myself! The four finalist that met the above criteria were ( I am sure there other yaks that meet my criteria) these are just my preferences. 1. Feel Free Lure 11.5, nice compact, 2nd widest of the four, coolest colors! 2. Wilderness system RideX 115, angler, I use to drool over WS Pungo angler! 3. Feel Free Lure 13.5, see my thoughts below 4 Old Town Predator 13, I loved the lines, the big bow V, tri hull, colors and width! I must say, I did not paddle all of them, but I could not wait until the weather broke, here in New England, for a demo day. I know, I know that is the best way to decide. So, without that ability, what to do? I love to colors and features of both Feel Free yaks. And that Lure 13.5 is a beautiful Yak. OMG I loved everything about it, except for the weight. So one down! I almost got the Lure 11.5 but as I watched video after video, KayakBassinTV, has some awesome videos. I saw smaller guys then me standing in the Lure 11.5 and he was not as steady as the bigger yak dudes in the Predator. Plus I considered, longer waterline, faster the boat can go. Its just a physics thing. Sail and you will know about waterlines and speed. The host on KayakbassinTV was the guy who taught me how to set up and make an anchor trolly. he is very cool. Thanks! So if I cant afford a foot paddle yak or engine options for the Lures or WS are very pricy too. Not to much for what you get, just to much for me. And the Lure 13.5 A Beast of a Yak, but also to load and port. I guess after all that was calculator like all of us, Yakers do review and calculate! Cause we are very retentive, It left the Predator. I must add I've been and Old Town guy most of my small craft life. My FB 160 was 85 lbs so I knew I could do the load thing, alone. If you are still reading, thank you! So, before I bought, I jump on the Predator, it was a little windy that day in March in RI, but not to bad. I was on a small inlet, salt, and I was on it, finally! At the first light but gusty breeze, started pushing me around. I did not like this, but I knew it had high top sides and is subject to some pushing. I was ok with that. It paddle very nicely, held the line very well. so I paddle over to a very high dock with a latter attached. I pull up to it, easy into the breeze. I held the latter, I stand up, I let go of latter, I purposely rocked it side to side. Wow! Its everything they said. I sat, paddled, put it on the car! Stay tuned for my Predator outfitting reviews and new Utube series called RJ Unleashed! Thanks for reading and good luck if you are buying, I hope this review helped. ALa Al Davis, Just Yak Baby, Just Yak! Peace, Out RJ
Reviewer:
Shane H.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/20/2015
Review:
Awesome kayak . Delivery was fast and simple . Highly recommend this to any one looking for a solid fishing kayak
Reviewer:
Darby
Rating:
5
Date:
4/12/2015
Review:
Great Yak for fishing, wont break any speed records and you definitely should consider a rudder kit. If comfort and stability is the important factors in your search for a kayak then the Predator is for you. I love this yak fishing Tampa Bay. I am top heavy from weight lifting and tip the scales at 275lbs. I go all day with this yak seat in high position. Never a worry.
Reviewer:
Edward F.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2015
Review:
Love this boat! Excellent service from ACK and Estes Freight- arrived in perfect condition when they said it would. I would recommend both ACK and the Old Town Predator 13 to anyone interested in an excellent fishing platform which is extremely stable without sacrificing too much in the speed and maneuverability department. Awesome fishability, tons of storage and rigging options- love the mod pod especially the ability to store a few rods inside the yak! Can't say enough about the kayak and ACK was great to deal with!
Reviewer:
Edward F.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2015
Review:
Love, love, love this boat! Excellent service from both ACK and Estes Freight. Delivered in perfect condition. I would recommend ACK and this kayak to anyone looking for an excellent fishing platform.
Reviewer:
Keith Beneteau
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2014
Review:
This kayak is excellent. Great stability and easy to fish with. However the delivery was not so enjoyable. Our kayak somehow got on the wrong truck and we had to wait longer to receive which caused us some issues as you have to be there for delivery. So we had to make special arrangements.
Reviewer:
Barry Morris
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2014
Review:
Austin Kayak rocks! I ordered two Predator 13 kayaks in urban camo along with some Scotty fishing products and a Kong Lasso cable for security. Absolutely love the look, design and stability of the new kayaks. My wife and I use the kayaks primarily for fishing in the local bayou/bay in NW Florida. We have installed Scotty deck mounts on most of the mounting plates along with Scotty rocket launcher rod holders and a Scotty anchor lock. As others have mentioned, the kayak is slow to get moving and can be tough to steer in windy/strong current conditions. However, the ability to stand up while fishing and easily move around the kayak makes up for these weaknesses. We leave the seat in the highest position for all our paddling and fishing which provides a nice storage space underneath for supplies/lure boxes/etc. I spoke with customer service several times at Austin Kayak regarding the kayaks/accessories. I also had to return a couple accessories that I didn't end up needing. They truly have one of the best customer service departments in the business. The kayaks arrived in perfect condition from Estes and the delivery driver helped me move the kayaks into my backyard. I have recommended the Predator 13 and Austin Kayak to all my friends looking for a kayak.
Reviewer:
flpaddler2
Rating:
5
Date:
7/14/2014
Review:
Excellent boat. Good job Old Town! I was a little sceptical at first about the performance of the hull as it has a wide beam for a kayak. It is a slow starter but once you get it moving it performs very well and is easy to paddle. This boat is very stable and holds just about anything you want to put into it. I Would recomend a rudder when paddling in a wind. It tracks so much better and is easier to control. No compaints. I am very pleased with this boat. I would recomend it to anyone who needs a good fishing platform.
Reviewer:
Jacob Backer
Rating:
5
Date:
6/9/2014
Review:
To begin, I found Austin Kayak to be a great company in terms of customer service. Before my order shipped I received a phone call from a rep to ensure I had everything I needed and to discuss the shipping process. All the staff I dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful. I did encounter an issue however and was sent the Ocean Kayak Big Game Prowler II rather than the Predator 13 that I had ordered. While the kayak was on time it was the incorrect model. I called an Austin Kayak rep, David, who guided me through the process of refusing the package to the delivery driver (also very friendly and helpful) and got the correct kayak, the Old Town Predator 13, on its way. Although the issue was unfortunate it only cost me time and gave me the opportunity to examine the Predator's main competitor model up close. While Johnson Outdoors owns both companies, Old Town and Ocean Kayak, I did find some major differences that I believe set the Predator above the Prowler. 1: The molded in carry handles on the bow and stern. The Prowler features attached straps for the purpose, but a molded in handle can never break. 2. The no slip floor of the Predator. While it may not seem like a major point at first I have come to realize as much as I love to stand in the Predator I would miss the ribbed floor if I didn't have it. As stable as this kayak is, I can't imagine anyone sits down much. 3. Included scupper plugs. The Predator came with one-way scupper valve drains where the Prowler did not. I personally prefer to plug the scuppers as I feel it provides added stability, which may just be my opinion but take it for what its worth. With those 3 reasons in mind of why I prefer the Predator over the Prowler I'd also like to discuss a few features both incorporate into their designs that I could not do without. 1. The 3 position seat. It is extremely comfortable and easy to adjust for correct paddling posture. Just as it is intended to, the low setting is great for traveling while the higher setting is useful for providing increased vision which is huge to me because I use this boat primarily for sight fishing. My favorite part about the seat is the folded back position. I push myself through a foot or less of water most of the time while fly fishing and standing is simply the only option. I am also a fly fisherman and standing helps immensely in avoiding tangling line with paddles, poles, etc. 2. The rod pod. This locker allows you to store your rods beneath you and completely out of the way. There is no chance of catching them with a cast, hitting them on branches, or tangling lines. However should you need to switch quickly they are easily at your disposal. 3. The wide tri-hull. Being able to stand in this boat to sight fish absolutely makes it worth every penny. It is a silently, stealthy way to pursue fish and standing to increase your ability to see the fish you are pursuing is imperative. The ability to stand is for me, the most influential aspect of this boat, and the major factor in transforming fishing into a completely new experience. While not quite as major factors I do feel like it is also worth the time to mention the large, comfortable, easy to adjust foot rests, the pouches on the sides of the hull interior and seat back for storage, and the Scotty paddle holder that comes with the kayak. These features continue to add to the function of the boat and help it help you have a more enjoyable experience. To me a kayak is a tool. I bought one to allow me to access waters and pursue fish I wasn't able to before via the bank or in a motorized craft. While some tools may create unnecessary burdens this kayak has done nothing but aid and completely transform my fishing experience. I could not have picked a better boat suited for fishing than the Predator 13 and would encourage any fisherman who is serious about close quarters pursuit to purchase this boat above the competition.
Reviewer:
Nathan McFall
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2014
Review:
Like previous reviewer, I too ordered mine on a Friday and received around 10 am the following Wednesday. The carrier that ACK chose (Estes) was very professional and delivered with no issues. The kayak itself is everything I wanted in a fishing kayak. I'm around 240lbs and I've taken it on 3 extended fishing outings and feel extremely comfortable/stable in the Predator 13. I've only used it in the high seat position but standing up in it is literally as easy as just standing up. I've not attached many accessories to the kayak yet but it has plenty of room for whatever I might want to add. I highly recommend this kayak as well as ACK for fast and professional service!
Reviewer:
Ross Cardona
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2014
Review:
Ordered the camo version over the phone, along with paddle and accessories, on a Friday...it showed up Wednesday. This kayak is very stable and has a ton of storage room in the hull, and paddles very well. The seat is very comfortable. This thing is a fishing machine.
<<  <  1       >>
Live chat by BoldChat