Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
 
Old Town Predator 13 Kayak
$1,399.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Mike N.
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2016
Review:
I did research for 2 years be for deciding on the Old Town Predator 13. I followed every manufacturer, read hundreds of reviews, and watched countless YouTube video's. For my type of boating/fishing the Predator 13 continued to standout. I live on a lake and float/fish rivers about 80% of the time. With the Predator 13, I got great tracking on the lake and a great platform for fishing. On the river, I got the same great tracking, but also, great storage for a 3 day on the river camping/fishing trip. It was easy to install rod holders etc. with the mounting plates. I also installed a 6" rear hatch for additional storage. ACK did everything in an above and beyond fashion. Very professional and knowledgeable. Perfect purchase!!! Thanks ACK!
Reviewer:
Richard A.
Rating:
5
Date:
3/1/2016
Review:
Finally, Here Is my Old Town Predator Video Review. www.YouTube.com/RJUnleahsed Thank you for watching https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGSJKQyxgvE
Reviewer:
Christopher C.
Rating:
3
Date:
11/15/2015
Review:
*Updated* just finished my first season as another poster and here are my thoughts. First of it's a great kayak, very stable, super comfortable seat and I like the plates for mounting. Now for a few things I don't care for, and these to me warrant a 3 star review. For one, the Humminbird transducer hole is almost worthless. It's made to accept only the lowest models of HB FF that don't even have DI. If you want to use a better HB or even a Lowrance it really takes some ingenuity to come up with a way to make the larger 'ducers work. Not only that but now it sticks out farther below and is easily scrapped or even catches on my trailer. Now the trailer, I ended up having to buy one since it's heavy and was causing my neck problems trying to balance it on my head to get it on top of my car. Though I didn't take a star off because of that, just wish I had a truck but I drive too far for work to justify buying one. Another thing is the high sides, if it's windy you are SOL. It is impossible to keep it facing down wind, even with the rudder. My old kayak, I could face it down wind and I could use the wind to push me, just use my feet to adjust the rudder and have my hands free to fish. Not so with the Predator, the sides are like sails. I'll see about posting a short clip on YouTube of me getting blown around, just search "Predator, Wind". One last thing, the one way scupper plugs are worthless. They might work with zero gear but not with a loaded kayak for fishing. Once the boat is loaded, it sits far enough below the water that the water can't drain out. So for them to use that as a selling point just doesn't make any sense. Overall it is a good kayak, I just don't know if I would buy it if I were to do it all over again. Hope my review helps.
Reviewer:
Phil T.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2015
Review:
Just finishing up my first season fishing from my Predator 13. I absolutely love it. I've spent days in the seat catching hundreds of fish. It's extremely comfortable. The one thing to keep in mind, particularly if you're going after large fish like Musky, as I do in northern Wisconsin...the deck space in the kayak is tight. So you need to be prepared to handle large fish when you're on your own. It only took one large Pike trashing between my legs for me to realize this. I'm better prepared now. I leave all my gear loaded in my kayak during transport. So it is a bit heavy to load and unload. But between the Seattle Spots scupper kayak cart and Seattle Sports boat rollers I use (both work great) I can load and unload on my own. It's pretty easy once you do it a few times. I transport my kayak on my 2007 Honda Civic hybrid. You'd hardly know it's up there traveling 70 mph...I recommend the Danuu cover...although, I'd design it a bit differently for this specific kayak. I honestly can't say enough about this kayak.
Reviewer:
Jason W.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2015
Review:
First off, I did not buy this kayak from ACK. However, I did buy most of the gear for it from ACK. It is a great company with awesome customer service and fast delivery. I can't recommend the Predator 13 enough. This is an awesome QUALITY kayak tailored for fishing. It is very well engineered. It tracks really well, although not as fast as the extremely light weight kayaks out there. But that is expected. The seat is absolutely perfect. I can sit in it all day with no issues whatsoever. Trust me, I have literally sat in the seat for 12 hours at a time (I love to fish). I can paddle this thing for miles & I do not completely wear myself out. Stability is great too. I can easily stand up & cast without a problem. I actually recently stood up in it on the water and cut some tree branches with a machete. I got tired of them being in the way of my casts. Again, no issues. This kayak can take a lot of weight as well. I am only 160 lbs, but I carry a ton of gear, including a trolling motor and lead acid deep cycle battery. This brings me to the next point, STORAGE! The front storage area and the area under the mod pod in the center of the kayak can hold a ton of stuff! I easily store a dolly (C-TUG), life vest, net, machete, stake out pole, nav light with a pole, & a 250 cm Bending Branches Classic Angler paddle (2 pieces). I literally still have plenty of room for more too! The rear storage area can easily hold a large battery, kayak crate with rod holders, & a small cooler. Obviously, this makes the kayak pretty heavy, but it isn't a big deal. I am actually planning to do a primitive camping excursion with it soon. Don't be fooled, this is a heavy kayak. The 86lb empty weight of the kayak does not sound like much, but when you got to move it over natural barriers to get to other spots it can be a real (you know what). That's where a good dolly comes into play (C-TUG). Be sure to take a look into the reviews on that as well. Lastly, the mounting plates on this kayak are a great feature too. I can easily mount rod holders, anchor cleats, pad eyes, etc to them without poking a bunch of holes in my kayak. All told, this is the best fishing kayak "bang for the buck" on the market. You will not find anything comparable at the same (or less) cost. Old Town hit a home run with this one. Now, Old Town needs to make another Predator that is 10 or 11 feet in length. I wouldn't mind having a much lighter version for those quick trips to a local river or pond. :)
Reviewer:
David M.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2015
Review:
I wanted to get at least a half dozen outings on this kayak before writing and I can now say I love this thing. I've never owned a kayak before so I have nothing to compare it to, and was unable to test drive before buying so I did tons of research first and made the best educated choice I could, and I don't regret it. I did get to see and touch one at a shop but they didn't have a pond to try out. This is a big heavy beast and with my lower back, I knew I wouldn't be hoisting it on top of my 4Runner so I opted for the Trailex trailer. Another great choice. I decided my biggest needs were comfort, space and stability in that order. The seat is every bit as comfortable and awesome as everyone else has said it is. Some have mentioned they don't like the fact that the seat isn't removable for transport, fair enough, but nothing that one bungee strap won't fix. Space wise, I'm hoping to pack it for some overnight sand bar camping here in the Ozarks and this thing has tons of room. Stability wise, this thing is great. I have stood a few times but haven't mastered it yet. I'm a little top heavy myself so maybe if I fix that problem, I won't be so wobbly standing. I'm thinking about adding the stand up tower to add to it. I'm exclusively a fly fisherman so I haven't cluttered the deck out with a bunch of stuff as it just gets in the way of my fly line, but I did add a Sea Lect anchor trolley on the side and that is a must for all the lake and pond fishing I do. Overall a great kayak for my needs. It paddles fine and seems to track well. I need work on my paddling and that will get better. Granted you're not going to win any races in it, but it's a cruiser, not a racer.
Reviewer:
David D.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/27/2015
Review:
I love my Predator 13! My wife and I paddled as many boats as we could for 6 months trying to make a decision. She went with the Jackson Coosa HD, (a great boat). It all came down to personal preference. I like the Predator seat system, rod pod, and molded handles. It is the most stable boat I paddled. Its primary use is river and lake fishing. Been in it every weekend since my purchase. I'm 6'0" , 214 lbs and can stand up in river currents and fish all day. I hope this helps.
Reviewer:
Richard A.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/23/2015
Review:
Just a follow up to post the Old Town Predator 13, under way.
Reviewer:
RJ Unleased
Rating:
5
Date:
4/22/2015
Review:
First I want to thank everyone who reviewed the Predator 13 by Old Town here on ACK pervious to my review. After much research, ACK a big part of that, viewing, sitting, reading about this Yak, then finally paddling it, before I purchased one in Black Cherry! My first sit on top fishing Yak was a Future Beach 160. It was a great starter boat. I felt so secure in it. My son and I fished out of a OT Guide for many years. Although I love OT and have bought, paddled and sold many different models of OT Canoes, the Guide always felt tippy. I was always on the edge, not to tip it , with all the tackle in the boat! Yikes Then I started Yaking. Then YakFishing. My FB 160 was great. I felt stable and caught many fish on it the last two years. So,after a long, snowy, cold winter, I started looking at new yaks. I feel in love with all the 11.5-14 foot fishing class yaks that were being made. It was so difficult to decide what kayak to get, if any? My main criteria were: 1. had to be stable enough to stand up and fish 2. had to have a comfortable seat with different positions 3 had to be able to be powered by more then my paddle to cover more ground and catch more fish. This was the most difficult criteria to meet without breaking the bank! Hobie, Fabulous boat but to much, Native Paddle same, great boat, not as expensive of Hobie but still too much, Predator XL super format but to much! 4. I had to be able to get my new Yak, up and down on my slide and grab Thule yak rack system, on my car. I did not want to do the trailer thing. Mo Money, taxes, Regs and just another thing to maintain. I can just about maintain myself! The four finalist that met the above criteria were ( I am sure there other yaks that meet my criteria) these are just my preferences. 1. Feel Free Lure 11.5, nice compact, 2nd widest of the four, coolest colors! 2. Wilderness system RideX 115, angler, I use to drool over WS Pungo angler! 3. Feel Free Lure 13.5, see my thoughts below 4 Old Town Predator 13, I loved the lines, the big bow V, tri hull, colors and width! I must say, I did not paddle all of them, but I could not wait until the weather broke, here in New England, for a demo day. I know, I know that is the best way to decide. So, without that ability, what to do? I love to colors and features of both Feel Free yaks. And that Lure 13.5 is a beautiful Yak. OMG I loved everything about it, except for the weight. So one down! I almost got the Lure 11.5 but as I watched video after video, KayakBassinTV, has some awesome videos. I saw smaller guys then me standing in the Lure 11.5 and he was not as steady as the bigger yak dudes in the Predator. Plus I considered, longer waterline, faster the boat can go. Its just a physics thing. Sail and you will know about waterlines and speed. The host on KayakbassinTV was the guy who taught me how to set up and make an anchor trolly. he is very cool. Thanks! So if I cant afford a foot paddle yak or engine options for the Lures or WS are very pricy too. Not to much for what you get, just to much for me. And the Lure 13.5 A Beast of a Yak, but also to load and port. I guess after all that was calculator like all of us, Yakers do review and calculate! Cause we are very retentive, It left the Predator. I must add I've been and Old Town guy most of my small craft life. My FB 160 was 85 lbs so I knew I could do the load thing, alone. If you are still reading, thank you! So, before I bought, I jump on the Predator, it was a little windy that day in March in RI, but not to bad. I was on a small inlet, salt, and I was on it, finally! At the first light but gusty breeze, started pushing me around. I did not like this, but I knew it had high top sides and is subject to some pushing. I was ok with that. It paddle very nicely, held the line very well. so I paddle over to a very high dock with a latter attached. I pull up to it, easy into the breeze. I held the latter, I stand up, I let go of latter, I purposely rocked it side to side. Wow! Its everything they said. I sat, paddled, put it on the car! Stay tuned for my Predator outfitting reviews and new Utube series called RJ Unleashed! Thanks for reading and good luck if you are buying, I hope this review helped. ALa Al Davis, Just Yak Baby, Just Yak! Peace, Out RJ
Reviewer:
Shane H.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/20/2015
Review:
Awesome kayak . Delivery was fast and simple . Highly recommend this to any one looking for a solid fishing kayak
Reviewer:
Darby
Rating:
5
Date:
4/12/2015
Review:
Great Yak for fishing, wont break any speed records and you definitely should consider a rudder kit. If comfort and stability is the important factors in your search for a kayak then the Predator is for you. I love this yak fishing Tampa Bay. I am top heavy from weight lifting and tip the scales at 275lbs. I go all day with this yak seat in high position. Never a worry.
Reviewer:
Edward F.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2015
Review:
Love this boat! Excellent service from ACK and Estes Freight- arrived in perfect condition when they said it would. I would recommend both ACK and the Old Town Predator 13 to anyone interested in an excellent fishing platform which is extremely stable without sacrificing too much in the speed and maneuverability department. Awesome fishability, tons of storage and rigging options- love the mod pod especially the ability to store a few rods inside the yak! Can't say enough about the kayak and ACK was great to deal with!
<<  <  1       >>
Live Chat