FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident 15 Angler Kayak - Discontinued - Product Reviews
Return to Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident 15 Angler Kayak - Discontinued Product Details.

Out of Stock

This product has been discontinued. Don't worry, we have similar products available.
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
John J
Rating:
5
Date:
11/27/2013
Review:
I really like this kayak. I bought this for saltwater trips in Delaware Bay and ocean. Took it out yesterday for the first time and it cuts through the chop really well. Not the fastest kayak in the world but you'll get there. I would suggest getting the rudder, it's great not having to do correcting strokes all the time. I'm a big guy and I stayed fairly dry. Plenty of leg room (I'm 6'3"). I've paddled a lot of different kayaks and am pleased with the layout and hull shape. Initial stability is good. I didn't really push testing the secondary stability but I didn't feel like I was going over during ordinary tasks like reaching behind, etc. AK did a nice job with shipping the kayak and I didn't see a single scratch. They use plenty of bubble wrap, poly sheeting and cardboard so no worries there.
Reviewer:
Great product
Rating:
5
Date:
1/2/2013
Review:
I paddled a perception yak all last year and nothing compares to my new OK Trident. It is very fast, tracks like a champ and for the fist time in a year I stayed dry most of the time. This kayak is very stable, enough so that I can stand in calm water. I took it out in the Houston ship channel on a choppy day and never felt unstable. I paddled almost every angling kayak ACK has and of course I feel this is the best for the money.
Reviewer:
Tony B.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/5/2012
Review:
Truly excellent kayak! Ive used several different makes and models of kayak and so far this has been my favorite easily. It is rock solid stable to the point that I move around as freely as if I were sitting on a chair at the dock. the Kayak is laid out for comfort and convenience with everything located within easy reach. Not a kayak for small framed anglers as it is large and awkward to move alone outside of the water. it is absolutely silent moving through the water even in significant chop, great for sneaking up on feeding fish. Overall extremely satisfied with this purchase and would gladly recommend this boat.
Reviewer:
George
Rating:
5
Date:
9/7/2012
Review:
I use this kayak mainly for salt water fishing on Long Island Sound.I had the rudder installed, comes in handy when turning in moving water, I have no problems working the rudder with the molded in footrests.I have not mounted a fish finder yet, the sonar shield seems a little to far forward I am 511you can also mount one on the rod pod cover.230cm paddle works fine.Full size wheeleze cart fits in front hatch. I swapped out the seat to one that has rear storage for my tackle. The seat it comes with is a high back seat an well padded,I already had the other seat.There is plenty of storage.Removable rod holder on the rod pod works fine. MY son has the Tarpon 120, I had the Prowler Big Game,I was always lagging behind, now I take the lead! This is a great kayak,it is 16ft. long with the rudder
Reviewer:
DaveG99 David
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2011
Review:
I love my new kayak. I have had many kayaks an this one is the best so far. Its fast, it holds a lot of weight, its nice looking, and its rigged for fishing from the factory. I weigh 270 lbs and I can easily paddle it standing up if I want to. The only thing I dont like is the molded in foot wells but oh well. If you want a great kayak the trident 15 is your boat.
Reviewer:
anonymous
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2011
Review:
Nice kayak and great for fishing. Heavier than I thought it would be (is that 60# spec really right ?). Tracks and paddles very well. Only one suggestion for improvement and that is a mesh net or foam insert under the seat so stuff you put inside doesn't roll or slide to the back of the kayak. I'd buy this again but might consider the shorter length.
Reviewer:
DaveG99
Rating:
5
Date:
7/15/2011
Review:
Just got my new trident 15 this week. I have had many other kayaks including heritage redfish 12, hobie outback, ocean kayaks like the scrambler xt, Cobras, etc. This kayak is pretty quick. The storage pods are layed out very well. I love how easy it is to access the rod pod while sitting in the seat. I carry two rods in the hull and it is easy to take them out and put them back while on the water. The seat the kayak comes with it is a huge improvement over older ocean kayak seats. Its pretty comfy. The weight capacity is 550 lbs on this boat so its perfect for us larger guys. Im 265lbs and this boat doesnt even get water through the scupper holes with me in it. The only down side is the molded in foot rests. The trident 11, 13 floor design would be better. If a rudder was installed on this you wouldnt be able to slide the pegs easily because the foot wells would get in the way. Over all its an awesome boat and I highly recommend it if you want something comfortable, fast, and roomy. And dealing with ACK was simple and it shipped fast!
Reviewer:
melinea
Rating:
4
Date:
12/27/2010
Review:
I bought my OK Prowler Trident 15 in Hawaii about three years ago and have enjoyed it very much. The boat has been off shore of Oahu in 8 to 12 foot swells 2 miles offshore and although I would not recommend that kind of water for this boat, I was able to make a number of 10+ mile paddles in this kind of water. The boat is better suited for for calmer water found in bays and lagoons. It is stable and I have trolled with two salt water spinning rods in ball based rod holders mounted ahead of the fish finder station. Most of my club colleagues have OK Scupper Pros and modify with custom rod holders. I have found that I can, with practice, paddle in the same waters as my friends. The Prowler Trident is considered the "beast" in our club as speed is sacrificed for stability. It is challenging to stay with others using the Scupper Pros. On the plus side, there is plenty of real estate to mount GPS, fish finder, compass, rod holders, battery, secure a VHF radio, emergency gear, sea anchor, first aid kit, food, water and small tackle boxes. A plastic orange dry box fits nicely behind the seat in a form fitted space in the tank well. Compared to the Scupper Pro, it's heavy and slow, but in often challenging conditions of near shore Oahu, I'm comfortable with this boat and it has served me well.
Reviewer:
Kayakpacking@netscape.net
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2010
Review:
I just Love it! I bought this for my wife, for her birthday, but she may never get to use it. Used it on the bay and can't wait to take it on the ocean. I have other sit on tops, but this one keeps my butt dry, my back comfortable, and I can go like the wind! I could just buy her some jewelry...but better yet, a Trident 15 of her very own. I've already ordered the rudder to help track true in the wind. I can't wait!
Reviewer:
Boggybayou
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2010
Review:
I have recently upgraded from a OK Prowler 13 to a OK Prowler Trident 15. I use the kayaks for long trips up lakes and along the Texas shorelines and Intercoastal canal. The OK Trident and Prowlers are the best sit on tops that I have owned and I have had the best service from Austin Canoe & Kayak. The Trident offers great storage and weight balance, this includes my border collie, who sits up front on the bow hatch. I will stay with the Ocean Kayak Prowler series and Austin Canoe & Kayak for any kayak services and equipment. Thank you. Yak on!
Reviewer:
Craig
Rating:
4
Date:
7/19/2010
Review:
the Trident Prowler kayak has all the requisites of a solidly constructed, well balances kayak. The fishing pole holders are not ideal, but they are well placed. i would construct something with PVC to bring the reels higher off the water- don't want the saltwater to corrode the gear. The bungees and clasps that came are adequate enough if you are doing the minimum. Plus, the live well and storage area is a little small- typical coolers will not fit in the area. A styrofoam cooler fits nicely, but they're cheap and won't hold up on a long trip. Seating placement and distance from potential fish finders is also not ideal. the center storage compartment is a little too long lengthwise. For 6 ft or over, this kayak is ideal. I would get something a little smaller if your legs are short.
Reviewer:
C.Fugate
Rating:
3
Date:
6/5/2010
Review:
Good boat, smooth though the chop. However, attention to detail needs improvement!
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.196.162.238 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat