FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak 2015 - Product Reviews
Return to Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak 2015 Product Details.
$399.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
Ships in 1-2 Weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
JEP in NC
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2009
Review:
First of all - thanks to ACK for a great buying experience - they were customer oriented and FAST in rigging and shipping my kayak! I got the Vapor package and have been on the water several times - I wanted to test it out well before I wrote a review. I LOVE this boat! It tracks very well, it's very easy to maneuver, and requires little to get going when paddling. It's very stable and easy to fish from - I've already caught several bass up to 5lbs. It's easy to load into my wife's pickup and not too heavy to carry (even full of gear). The over-sized cockpit makes for easy entry and exit and a comfortable paddling experience - no bent/banged knees and cramped feet for a tall guy like me! I'm now trying to talk the rest of the family into Vapors as well!
Reviewer:
Ronnie and Michele Herron
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2009
Review:
We are so happy with our Kayak purchase. I have already recommended this model to my friends who are looking to buy kayaks and to people we've passed on the river that ask about them. The only possible thing I can think of as a downfall would be that even though there is an area for a small cooler, there are no hooks to strap one in...however this is not enough of a problem for me to not purchase again if the need were to arise. We are in love with our Vapors and are on the river every weekend now.
Reviewer:
Marc
Rating:
5
Date:
6/11/2009
Review:
I just bought two of these boats and took one out for a paddle today for two hours. I am an avid kayaker and have built and owned several kayaks so I thought I would write a quick review since I did not find any myself. The Vapor 10 is at least as fast as a sit-on-top kayak of around 16 feet. It is not as efficient as a touring boat, but that is to be expected as a result of its length. This boat fits in the bed of a standard 6 foot pickup truck and with the tail gate down, it hangs past the tailgate only about 12 inches so it is no problem to transport. The kayak is light and one person can easily throw it on a shoulder and walk it 100 yards down to the beach with paddle and life jacket. The handles are sturdy and great places for tie downs. The boat is well constructed. The plastic is not as thick as the $1,000+ boats, but it is adequate. There are two cup holders, one in the front and one in the seat between the legs. The seat is okay in quality, not as good as the expensive kayaks, but that is also to be expected. The stability of the boat is excellent. It has very good initial stability and excellent secondary stability (the more you lean over the more stable it feels). It is a good platform to fish from and great for all level of paddlers. I would imagine that class II white water and small wave surfing would not be a problem, however in my opinion, it does not have the skin thickness to handle large impacts in white water repeatedly. The boat maneuvers very well. Better than sit-on-top kayaks and much better than longer touring kayaks. It tracks straight when not paddling in no wind, no current. When the wind comes up, it tends to turn into the wind similar to touring kayaks. The cockpit is so large that I took my five year old for a ride as well and he sat in a camping seat near my feet with his legs extended into the bow. He was very comfortable and so was I. It is a great boat to take kids in before they are ready for their own. The stability of the boat adds to the comfort level with taking kids. The nose does drop a little with 40 pounds up there so the ride is just slightly wet in light chop. By myself, the ride is dry. According to the manufacturer, a spray skirt will not be available until sometime in 2010. The boat can carry enough gear for an overnight trip if needed. The interior room is certainly large enough for day paddling. The interior has Styrofoam supports. Be careful that a child does not take his shoes and grind on the support in front as it will start to flake with excessive rubbing. For the price, this is an excellent boat. Beginners and families will have a great time with this kayak. Intermediate and advanced paddlers might like it for its ease of handling, maneuverability, and ease of transport.
Reviewer:
sunrise express
Rating:
5
Date:
6/9/2009
Review:
Bought the pkg. wonderful value! Stable, easy to handle w/ the extreme winds and currents on our tidal creek and marsh. Excellent vessel! Excellent value!
Reviewer:
medinaphotography.com
Rating:
5
Date:
4/19/2009
Review:
Awesome boat, really performs out on big water. Add a half spray skirt and it will look and perform like a much more expensive kayak!
Reviewer:
WV2968
Rating:
4
Date:
3/27/2009
Review:
The Vapor is a great starter kayak. It is very stable and easy to control. It takes very little effort to make progress on lakes or slow-moving rivers. A very good product.
Reviewer:
DJF230
Rating:
4
Date:
2/24/2009
Review:
Good boat for the money. My wife and I bought a pair recently and added some extras like flush mount rod holders and cargo netting with the bungee kits I bought online. I'm 245 lbs. and this little boat cruises well with me in it. It's also pretty stable for fishing. We've put it into a fresh water lake and saltwater creek area near the intra-coastal in Florida. Both days had moderate winds and currents and the yaks did well.
Reviewer:
carter
Rating:
5
Date:
2/14/2009
Review:
a.w.e.s.o.m.e
<<      4    >  >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.81.52.32 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat