Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak 2015
Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak 2015
$399.00
 
Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak 2015
$399.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Old Town Vapor 10 is a really basic easy to use sit inside kayak. It's perfect for lazy rivers and days out on the lake. Throw it in the back of your truck and know you will have a good day.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
David FL
Rating:
5
Date:
11/9/2009
Review:
Very pleased, we bought this Old Town Vapor Kayak 10 as a replacement kayak for a wilderness systems sit on top. The size and weight are perfect for my wife; it tracks great and is an easy paddle, perfect for the river and fishing. Her only complaint is after an hour the seat was a little hard. Also impressed with the packaging and shipping. Kayak came by semi in just a few days, wrapped professionally and in excellent shape. All in all a great experience.
Reviewer:
Keowee
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2009
Review:
My first experience with a kayak and I love it. The Vapor 10 is fun, easy to paddle, not heavy to lift on dock and very stable. Thank you ACK for the excellent service and prompt response to my request. It is a pleasure doing business with you and look forward to further purchases when needed. Sincerely, A very satisfied customer .
Reviewer:
rightmuch
Rating:
5
Date:
7/24/2009
Review:
We've been paddling this yak in class II & III rapids in the rivers of VA, and it does great. Very stable, handles the rapids like a champ. Super value for what you get.
Reviewer:
Scott, PA
Rating:
5
Date:
7/5/2009
Review:
We are extremely please with our Kayaks. We bought two after mush research. We wanted a cockpit large enough to fit our 8 and 6 year olds with us, and there is plenty of room. They either sit facing backward, or forward with their feet towards the bow. Can't believe how stable the yaks are, and tracking is excellent. We were out handling 2-3 ft swells today with no problem. They are a great product in you are interesting in a quality recreational kayak.
Reviewer:
Randy
Rating:
4
Date:
7/1/2009
Review:
The vapor is a great kayak as far as i see for lakes and fishing but for river runs with class 2 rapids it gets to much abuse and want last doing it a lot. mine has damage I'm gonna have to repair. If fishing rivers with rapids is your thing then u need a better kayak with a better bottom. I love the way it handles and the storage room. It tracks great unless the wind is up. I would recommend it to some one who uses it for fishing lakes and small rivers but not with rapids. I will have to install a skid plate to get any life out of mine.
Reviewer:
GT in Texas
Rating:
5
Date:
6/22/2009
Review:
I read every review I could find on just about every kind of kayak while searching for the right one for me. I wanted something to kayak and fish from that would fit all of my needs. To be honest, It came down to price and I thought I was having to "settle" for the Vapor 10. After all, everyone told me and everything I read said that a 10 footer didn't track well, had no speed, no storage and wouldn't fit my needs. They were wrong. I took it home, saved a bundle by outfitting it myself with bungees and rod holders, etc... and took it out to find out for myself whether I liked what I had or not. I went to Toledo Bend (Check the Texas / Louisiana border maps for a huge body of water). I started in the shallows of a lagoon and ultimately ventured into deep water. The vapor handles great. It was very stable, even to fish from. It was a lot quicker than I thought it would be and when you got it going it required only light paddling to keep it moving. It tracked straight and true. I also liked the storage, although a dry hatch would have been nice. The well in the back held my dry box easily. I carried my fishing tackle in the yak between my feet for easier access. I had it rigged for a small anchor and kept a throw line handy also behind the seat. The seat was relatively comfortable and easily adjustable. As for transport... I could carry it easily from my truck to the water. It was easy enough to load into the truck when I was done. For actual transport, I just put it in the back of my truck and used a few bungees to hold it in place. The carry handles at both ends worked well to tie the bungees to. As it turned out, I'm happy with the Vapor that I thought I was settling for. I would recommend it. If you want it for fishing, it is cheaper to buy the accessories and do it yourself than to buy a fully outfitted kayak at twice the price. Sure, the Mini-X would have been nice... but I can take this one down Village Creek or any of the local bayous. I can also carry a small child along with me, which makes it family friendly. I am going to enjoy this little Yak.
Reviewer:
JEP in NC
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2009
Review:
First of all - thanks to ACK for a great buying experience - they were customer oriented and FAST in rigging and shipping my kayak! I got the Vapor package and have been on the water several times - I wanted to test it out well before I wrote a review. I LOVE this boat! It tracks very well, it's very easy to maneuver, and requires little to get going when paddling. It's very stable and easy to fish from - I've already caught several bass up to 5lbs. It's easy to load into my wife's pickup and not too heavy to carry (even full of gear). The over-sized cockpit makes for easy entry and exit and a comfortable paddling experience - no bent/banged knees and cramped feet for a tall guy like me! I'm now trying to talk the rest of the family into Vapors as well!
Reviewer:
Ronnie and Michele Herron
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2009
Review:
We are so happy with our Kayak purchase. I have already recommended this model to my friends who are looking to buy kayaks and to people we've passed on the river that ask about them. The only possible thing I can think of as a downfall would be that even though there is an area for a small cooler, there are no hooks to strap one in...however this is not enough of a problem for me to not purchase again if the need were to arise. We are in love with our Vapors and are on the river every weekend now.
Reviewer:
Marc
Rating:
5
Date:
6/11/2009
Review:
I just bought two of these boats and took one out for a paddle today for two hours. I am an avid kayaker and have built and owned several kayaks so I thought I would write a quick review since I did not find any myself. The Vapor 10 is at least as fast as a sit-on-top kayak of around 16 feet. It is not as efficient as a touring boat, but that is to be expected as a result of its length. This boat fits in the bed of a standard 6 foot pickup truck and with the tail gate down, it hangs past the tailgate only about 12 inches so it is no problem to transport. The kayak is light and one person can easily throw it on a shoulder and walk it 100 yards down to the beach with paddle and life jacket. The handles are sturdy and great places for tie downs. The boat is well constructed. The plastic is not as thick as the $1,000+ boats, but it is adequate. There are two cup holders, one in the front and one in the seat between the legs. The seat is okay in quality, not as good as the expensive kayaks, but that is also to be expected. The stability of the boat is excellent. It has very good initial stability and excellent secondary stability (the more you lean over the more stable it feels). It is a good platform to fish from and great for all level of paddlers. I would imagine that class II white water and small wave surfing would not be a problem, however in my opinion, it does not have the skin thickness to handle large impacts in white water repeatedly. The boat maneuvers very well. Better than sit-on-top kayaks and much better than longer touring kayaks. It tracks straight when not paddling in no wind, no current. When the wind comes up, it tends to turn into the wind similar to touring kayaks. The cockpit is so large that I took my five year old for a ride as well and he sat in a camping seat near my feet with his legs extended into the bow. He was very comfortable and so was I. It is a great boat to take kids in before they are ready for their own. The stability of the boat adds to the comfort level with taking kids. The nose does drop a little with 40 pounds up there so the ride is just slightly wet in light chop. By myself, the ride is dry. According to the manufacturer, a spray skirt will not be available until sometime in 2010. The boat can carry enough gear for an overnight trip if needed. The interior room is certainly large enough for day paddling. The interior has Styrofoam supports. Be careful that a child does not take his shoes and grind on the support in front as it will start to flake with excessive rubbing. For the price, this is an excellent boat. Beginners and families will have a great time with this kayak. Intermediate and advanced paddlers might like it for its ease of handling, maneuverability, and ease of transport.
Reviewer:
sunrise express
Rating:
5
Date:
6/9/2009
Review:
Bought the pkg. wonderful value! Stable, easy to handle w/ the extreme winds and currents on our tidal creek and marsh. Excellent vessel! Excellent value!
Reviewer:
medinaphotography.com
Rating:
5
Date:
4/19/2009
Review:
Awesome boat, really performs out on big water. Add a half spray skirt and it will look and perform like a much more expensive kayak!
Reviewer:
WV2968
Rating:
4
Date:
3/27/2009
Review:
The Vapor is a great starter kayak. It is very stable and easy to control. It takes very little effort to make progress on lakes or slow-moving rivers. A very good product.
Live chat by BoldChat