Ocean Kayak Trident 11 Angler Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Ocean Kayak Trident 11 Angler Kayak Product Details.
Looking for a package deal? Ocean Kayak Trident 11 Angler Kayak - Deluxe Fishing Package available at great savings !
$999.99
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In-stock: Ships Monday if ordered today!
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
MK
Rating:
5
Date:
8/4/2013
Review:
This is my go to kayak. I fish 75% of the time and paddle 25% of the time and feel like this kayak is built for just that ratio. It tracks well although slightly not as well as a Tarpon 120. However, what it lacks in tracking to the Tarpon it makes up for in storage space, fishing options, loading and unloading and storage. It is light for its size at about 11 1/2’ feet long and has massive storage for rods and soft sided coolers inside of the kayak. Loading this kayak on an off of my car was much easier than other brands of near the same length due to it being lighter. Another surprise advantage I discovered was how easy it is for me to stand and fish in; something I wasn’t easily able to do in the Tarpon 120. One disadvantage is that when it’s loaded down with equipment and my butt will get wet if I don’t have scupper plugs. However, scupper plugs are a very easy and cheap fix. The seat seems to be more rudimentary than other brands but is surprising comfortable anyway. Another feature that I like about this kayak is the adjustable, comfortable foot pegs. They have a bigger more ergonomic design which is really nice. For my height and size of 5’7” and 140 pounds and my fishing to paddling ratio I would highly recommend this kayak or the Tarpon 120.
Reviewer:
ssh
Rating:
4
Date:
9/12/2012
Review:
Only issue was it took long to receive the kayak than stared. We live in area where FedEx turns their shipments over to local trucking companies so about 10 days to ship to Northen Idaho. Otherwise very happy with this kayak Trident 11.
Reviewer:
OldAngler
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2012
Review:
Had my Trident 11 Angler for 2 months. Ive been out about 6 times. It performs wonderfully. You can store 3-4 7 ft 6.5-7 ft rods in the hull. It is stable, but also moves rather quickly for the widest boat in the trident line. It is ready to fish and really a wonderful value. I can not think of any reason why I would want to get rid or upgrade this kayak It really is top of the line. Some people complain of the seat being underpadded I weigh 200 lbs and it has not been uncomfortable for me. I would highly recommend it.
Reviewer:
VAScouter
Rating:
5
Date:
4/2/2012
Review:
This is my first kayak but have had a canoe for many years and put on a lot of river miles. This past summer we took our Scout Troop on a 50 mile canoe trip and several of them had kayaks. After trying a couple I fell in love and then did a lot of research on which type was right for me. I planned to mostly fish on rivers and some whitewater. After many hours of research I settled on the Trident 11 Angler. I used it for the first time this weekend and love it. My friends that went along in kayaks were amazed at the dry storage you get with a sit-on-top. The features designed for fishing were great from the rod holder to the measuring scale and the small pockets to keep lures handy. I look forward to many more miles on the river and only regret I did not have it last year when I took the 50 miler. The seat is so comfortable and endlessly adjustable. You do get wetter than in a canoe in small whitewater but I guess that is expected in a kayak.
Reviewer:
Stephen
Rating:
5
Date:
2/23/2012
Review:
I spent my tax return on a new Trident 11. I was also looking at the Ride 115, but it was just too heavy for me. This is the second sit-on-top kayak I've owned. My first is an '09 Tarpon 100. The Trident is just the right size for me! I can stand up and fly-cast easily. It tracks MUCH better than my old Tarpon, even without a rudder (which I plan to install eventually). The Mod Pod makes customization easy, and I don't worry about drilling extra holes in my boat for accessories. I can't wait to take it camping!
Reviewer:
garholesportsman
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2011
Review:
This is my first kayak, but i have been in boats and canoes most of my life. I got the Trident 11 Angler in camo because i want to be able to hunt, fish and float rivers. The long between-the-knees opening is perfect for keeping a shotgun safe and dry while paddling. In a couple of fishing trips I've taken, I've found the Trident easy to paddle and very stable. The seat's comfortable and the hatches are secure. I checked out a lot of kayaks before buying this one and I think I got the best one for my needs - regardless of price.
Reviewer:
Gordon
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2011
Review:
I have never owned a kayak before, so it would be difficult for me to compare the Trident against other comparable kayaks of that size. I will defend this unit is someone recommended that I should have purchased a different brand. I did search the internet and and found that the Ocean brand kayaks were highly rated. The Trident 11 filled all my requirements. I find that at 60+ years old, this kayak is a breeze to paddle and is very stable. Transporting this unit in my small pickup is great. I built a trolley with 1" PVC that slips into the rear scupper holes. Works great. I did place a foam seat pad under the existing seat and have no problem spending four or more hours fishing. Need a little extra padding at my age. Now for ACK. I cannot say enough about this company. The price was right. Others did not carry this unit in camo. They were the ONLY company that I found that did not have hidden shipping costs. It only cost $49.00 to ship to Wisconsin. The kayak was packaged properly to avoid damage. I have told and will continue to tell others about ACK. They will continue to receive my business. Thank you ACK!
Reviewer:
Daniel
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2011
Review:
I ordered this kayak a few weeks ago, and it came extremely fast with zero issues. As for the OK Trident 11 itself, its a GREAT little kayak. I find it extremely stable and it tracks very well for a boat this size...its also pretty lightweight. I load it by myself on the roof of a mustang without any problems. One thing I did notice is, the speed of this kayak isnt the fastest. I went out with a college buddy (he owns an OK prowler 13) and he was slightly faster then me....its not much faster, but it is noticeable. Austin Kayak is a wonderful place to do business with. Ive ordered several things from them and everything comes to my door very fast and with no issues at all. A random guy asked me where to find good deals on kayaks, and I told him to check out austinkayak.com If anyone is interested to see this yak in action check out my youtube channel. Just search youtube for ecudaniel14 and there are (and will be) several fishing videos out of this yak. One thing I'd recommend is buying a carbon paddle and a comfortable PFD...this will simply make your time on the water much more enjoyable. If you are contemplating on purchasing this kayak, or any other kayak, don't look any further! Order from ack and you wont be disappointed!
Reviewer:
Alex
Rating:
4
Date:
6/20/2011
Review:
I bought a Trident 11 Angler and a WS Tarpon 100. I like the rod pod on the trident, the size is perfect for me or even a bigger guy. I'm about 150 lb. I can lift and put it on top of my suv by myself. I like that it has a scupper hole for a humminbird transducer. I bought a humminbird ff combo with gps that came with a regular transducer. Called humminbird and they exchanged the regular transducer to one thru hull for ocean kayaks for free. I like that I can store my 7ft rods inside. I don't think that I can do that on the Tarpon. I got a rudder and I'm glad that I did. It helps a lot, I love it. The only things I like better on my WS tarpon compared to OK are: better plastic quality, it is ticker (but a little more heavy), rails for mounting different things without drilling and the seat. I have to unhook the seat and take it out when loading the yak on the car roof. With WS tarpon you leave the seat (better quality) on the yak, just fold it down. The seat is comfortable on trident, but I don't like to take it down all the time (30 sec to take it down). Looks like the OK kayak is not perfectly proportional. If I hold it straight on flat surface in my garage, it always leans on the right side, even if I push it to lean on the left side, it still turns to the right side. Probably because of the thin plastic it bent a little. The manual says that you can leave it in the sun for a period and then straighten it. I did not tried it. Also what I like is that it came with a battery bag. Another thing that I like more about tarpon are the hinged hatch covers and the way they close. No straps. It is easy to install anchor systems without drilling holes on the OK trident. Also I'm not a fan of the front and back handles of the trident, I like them more on the tarpon because I use them to additionally secure the kayak on top of the car. Overall I like my OK trident more than my WS tarpon because of the rod pod, bigger hatches, light for it's size, battery holder, scupper hole for transducer (and that I have a rudder on it). I just wish the plastic was a little thicker.. but I guess it would be heavier. About Austin kayak: They are great. Great customer service. The first tarpon came damaged from shipping. They sent a replacement very quickly. The even accepted to replace the PFD because I didn't like the color. The OK trident and second tarpon came without a scratch.
Reviewer:
Clint
Rating:
5
Date:
3/14/2011
Review:
The Ocean kayak Trident 11 is awesome! This is the first time I have ever paddled a kayak and it met all my expectations. Word of advice though, Don't try learning to paddle on a river with a strong current. It takes a while to get back to where you launched!!!!!
Reviewer:
Ken B
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2010
Review:
I bought two of the Ocean Kayak Trident 11 Angler Kayaks. Perfect for the Laguna Madre and any river. The rudder system is worth the money.
Reviewer:
G.Alexander
Rating:
5
Date:
3/27/2010
Review:
The Ocean Kayak Trident 11 Angler Kayak is an all around great fishing kayak. I especially enjoy all the storage space the Rod Pod gives access to. I can load a day's worth of gear inside this kayak and can reach everything easily. Plenty of room inside for my vest, various tackle boxes, 3 ultralight rods, two-piece paddle, and more. The buckles holding both hatches down were a bit cumbersome to deal with, so I followed another boater's advice and replaced them with bungee cord and J-hooks. Cheap, quick and easy fix though! For my size, 6ft. 220lbs. water level is high in the scupper holes. So for cold water and for those that do not want to get wet be sure to buy appropriate scupper plugs. Austin Kayak delivered as promised - no problems. Excellent residential shipping!!!
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.16.169.220 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat