FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Seattle Sports Molly Kayak Cart - Product Reviews
Return to Seattle Sports Molly Kayak Cart Product Details.
MSRP:  $64.95
$59.00 You Save: $5.95(9%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 3.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
SUSAN VIVION
Rating:
5
Date:
1/6/2010
Review:
I love my Molly Kayak Cart, the wheels are large and durable and simple structure. It was delivered quickly and in good condition. Kudos to ACK.
Reviewer:
Lisa Houserman
Rating:
5
Date:
10/14/2009
Review:
Wonderful little Molly Dolly. That's what we call it around here anyway. I thought since it wasn't super high quality and made of metal or something that it might not be too wonderful but I was wrong. I highly recommend this as it's handy just moving the kayak around the campground and using the kayak to transport equipment to and from the car even. What a buy and for a great price plus lightning fast shipping. Thanks for a great product.
Reviewer:
W. Patrick
Rating:
4
Date:
9/21/2009
Review:
The Molly Kayak Cart is a great cart to transport the kayaks and being that they fit in the kayak storage compartment is perfect.
Reviewer:
bostoneyedoc
Rating:
5
Date:
7/16/2009
Review:
Little guy does the job! No frills. Very simple. But works great and stows away nicely inside the stern hatch of my Old Town Dirigo 120. Great purchase.
Reviewer:
Do I hear banjo Music?
Rating:
5
Date:
6/7/2009
Review:
I ordered one of the Molly kayak carts and it works well for the paved street that I trek down to the lake.. have not tried off road. Austin Kayak sent email keeping me informed to confirm the order, the order was shipped with the tracking links- Good job. I will purchase another shortly for my other kayak.
Reviewer:
mary
Rating:
4
Date:
10/29/2008
Review:
The molly was simple for me to put on and roll our tandem 75lb kayak- even though I'm a smallish woman. Also fits well into bulkhead storage. Not a 5 because the plastic construction could be sturdier.
Reviewer:
Brad Jenkins
Rating:
4
Date:
10/25/2008
Review:
I used the cart in a adventure race, it fit fine in my Oldtown kayak. I used it on gravel roads and foot trails. Did great for me, it would be nice if the kayak was a bit higher off the ground.
Reviewer:
maineboatman@cox.net
Rating:
4
Date:
10/4/2008
Review:
“Molly Kayak Cart” review by Maineboatman@cox.net Everything is a trade-off ACK’s description says "Larger sit-on-tops may not fit the Molly very well." That is clearly stated & is true for our two Wilderness Tarpon 160i kayaks. Observations: a. The cart sags with our 65lb boat weight, making the two wheels camber in the top 1/3 of the wheels, which then are in contact with the cart frame. b. The strap that hooks on the cockpit rim is not long enough to get to the Tarpon 16’s center hatch at the seat. This is the correct spot however for securing this model kayak. c. The strap holes in the cart frame are round & the flat straps are in constant friction when adjusting the straps on our kayaks. d. The V shape does not fit the bow (or stern) of the Tarpon 16’s well. BTW: Our kayaks are sit on top Tarpon 160i’s, 16 feet long, 65 lbs empty (like I go empty, NOT!), 28” beam, fine entry lines. We named ours; Wife: Mango-Tango Mine: Yellow Submarine Colors: hmm? YES, I do recommend this cart, as everything is a trade-off. I like this cart! Purchased Sept. 8, 2008 from ACK. Recommendations for the “Molly Kayak Cart” purchaser. a. I marked where the wheels rubbed the Molly’s frame & cut the plastic out. I used a heat knife; you might use a hacksaw (an inexpensive tool, +/- $5, if you do not have one) as the fine teeth will provide a smoother cut. Remove as little as possible to retain the cart’s structural support. Fine sandpaper your cuts to remove the burr. b. I replaced the strap with one long enough to work on our boats. Hardware & Home Depot type stores have strap by the foot. In retrospect I would have gotten a contrasting color rather than black as this would visually identify the different straps by function. A nicely made plastic triangle fitting on the Molly takes the strap threaded through, & using the hook provided (also well made) to hook on the rim of my amidships hatch. Snug-up rather than TIGHTEN this strap as you do not want to scar or deform your hatch rim. This hook is simply providing a leverage point, so placement rather than tightness, is important & will most likely vary from boat to boat. c. Live with it. At this point it is not enough of an annoyance to use the heat knife to make 2 horizontal openings in the cart frame. It is hard to pull the straps while lifting the boat’s bow up for final fitting at each use. I’m hoping I will find the sweet spot, then I will put a little painter’s tape on the straps so they remain adjusted at the cart frame pass-through. The V-shape issue is not resolved. I thought I might cut a foam kayak roof-pad (dense foam) to fit the V & lightly glue it to the Molly frame. I will wait to locate the aforementioned sweet spot before trying this & will only DAB small glue spots on the frame so this can by removed if it does not work as I envision. My notes after several uses: Lightweight, is bright yellow (don’t trip over it when preparing to launch), compact, does not fold, spindle or mutilate so it is always ready, good fittings of sturdy plastic (no rust & less weight), easy to put on & take off, hose off or dunk in the river to remove sand, mud etc. before putting in boat or vehicles, I took the risk our boats would overpower this cart & with the above modifications I am VERY happy to own this cart. I would buy one again in an instant.
Reviewer:
kayakcrazy
Rating:
4
Date:
9/28/2008
Review:
It took a little bit of doing to get it to stay under the kayak when moving it but once we figured it out it went smoothly even over mild little rocks.
Reviewer:
Charles in NY.
Rating:
4
Date:
8/19/2008
Review:
This cart is not as stout as I would have liked it, but I guess the benefit is that it is very light and fits in the front hatch of my Manitou. Works well for the short trips I make.
Reviewer:
tuxnjeans
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2008
Review:
I bought the Molly Kayak Cart primarily for its simplicity and it's diminutive size. I have not been disappointed in either respect. Nothing could be simpler than sliding the cart on the end of the kayak, hooking the strap to the edge of the cockpit to keep it in place, and then picking up the other end of the kayak to gently roll it where you want to go. There is no need to dismantle the cart to have it fit into the rear storage area of my Tsunami 140, a fact the makes it even simpler to use. I'd buy another one of these little beauties, except it seems very well made and I don't think it will ever fall apart and need to be replaced. Happy paddling and portaging.
<<      4    >  >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.196.167.69 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat