FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Hobie Mirage Oasis Tandem Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage Oasis Tandem Kayak Product Details.
$2,849.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Paul
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2014
Review:
Its great. Expensive, but great. Just quit smoking and put the $1500/yr into this for 2 yrs and its free. And figure you will keep it forever so not too bad. This really makes me want to get out on the water. Sooo much better than paddling, faster, more efficient, good workout too.. It handles very well for such a big boat. The only real draw backs I can see so far are : price (its about $1K over priced), weight - very heavy, you almost should not put this on the roof of a car, and it cant be used with the mirage drives in shallows like in rivers (such as the Hooch). For ponds, lakes, or ocean, this thing simply cannot be beat. You can cruise along at 5 mph with no problem, you can add a sail kit, outriggers, elec motors, you can even troll off it just with the pedal drive. In fact, Im taking my 6yr old out in it now to go for some bass in the neighborhood pond. I only wish the pond was bigger, we can scoot across it in 2 minutes. Hobie has done this right. Yes you can buy a 90 hp bass boat with a trailer for about the same price on craiglist. But you wont get to go in neighborhood ponds, small lakes, reservoirs, or off the beach at Grayton in 1 of those. And a $3K bass boat will eventually leave you stranded and cost more like $6K in a year or 2, whereas this likely will not. Wish it were little less expensive, but I'll get my $ worth outta this thing ! Get it in blue, its beautiful.
Reviewer:
Michael
Rating:
5
Date:
9/25/2013
Review:
I really like the Hobie Mirage Oasis Tandem Kayak that I recently purchased. For a large kayak it moves quite fast with the turbo fins. Most of the time, I use it by myself for kayaking and fishing in the ocean. The Mirage Oasis has a lot of storage room and I especially like the large storage area at the front of the kayak. Where I can keep a lot of miscellaneous items. The Mirage Oasis Tandem is very stable in the ocean and I am never afraid to getting swamped or tipping over. There's also 3 in the hull strorage areas, 2 are right in front of the seats, which is very handy to store fishing stuff or food to eat. The boat is quite heavy and you will need some strong racks and accesories to transport it. I ended up buying Yakima racks with rear Hully Rollers and front saddles. When the Oasis is strapped down, it is really secure and I can zoon down the freeway at 70mph without worrying about my kayak moving around. I would recommend that you buy the heavy duty cart for transporting your Oasis on the ground. I also purchased the ST Turbo fins for a little extra pedaling power and 4 fishing rod holders installed in the front seat and back seat areas for fishing. Great buy, like working out in the gym, but your one the water and moving quite fast. I am also a swimmer and have noticed that my leg strength has really improved. Beats going to the gym to work out my legs.
Reviewer:
Tag
Rating:
4
Date:
6/9/2013
Review:
The Oasis is an excellent kayak for my needs. ACK delivered the product in a very timely manner. I had a couple rudder issues that eventually were resolved, but it took longer than it should have.
Reviewer:
Mike S.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/28/2011
Review:
Awesome little boat. Great stability. Fast. Fun. Lots of great features. Plenty of storage. Beautiful. The only downside is the weight, but even at 70- something pounds, I am able to get it on top of my car by myself. Best buy I've ever made. Buying from Austin Kayak was also great. Quick and delivered to my driveway.
Reviewer:
bonbon
Rating:
5
Date:
7/11/2011
Review:
great site, fast service, awesome experience with ACK, awesome Hobie yak
Reviewer:
Robert D
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2011
Review:
I was very happy ordering from Austin Canoe & Kayak. Delivery was quick and tracking info was provided as soon as it was shipped, although I was surprised to find that the shipping company would not lift the kayak off the truck and put it at my door, so I had to ask my brother-in-law to help. This kayak can handle 3 people (children) as long that it adds up less than 550. I just order the Hobie Sail for this kayak from Austin because it would be awesome and I know Austin would provide excellent service. The first week I took it camping, all 20 people took turn using it. Before the first use I would recommend you to get some UV spray protection from an automotive store because the tiny bottle that came with it is not enough. The insert cart is also a must have with this kayak, makes life a lot easier. This is a Hobie so I also recomment getting a lock and cable ($19 at Home Depot) to secure it where ever you go. I think my gear bucket was taken when I had it on my roof rack over night. People will be eyeing for the name Hobie. I also bought the Hobie fish finder kit and turbo fins.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
11/18/2010
Review:
My wife and I are new to kayaking so we don't have anything to compare it too other than a Hobie Outfitter that my sister has. We love it. It is fast. Wife and I went out with a co-worker & his son on their canoe. Before we knew it, we were several hundred yards ahead of them on our Oasis. We really like the dual steering, that has come in handy several times. If you have room for the extra 2 feet, you will like the extra storage that the Oasis has over the Outfitter too. The 2011 Oasis comes standard with the large sailing rudder so don't order one like I did!! No worries though, ACK handled the return without problem.
Reviewer:
John hayward
Rating:
4
Date:
8/15/2010
Review:
Overall I am extremely happy with purchase. My only complaints would be one that I anticipated and one that I didn't. You do have to be cautious with the fins in shallow water. As I use my kayak primarily in tidal salt marshes and flats the tide charts are all important. The kayak is so much fun to use with the mirage drive that at low tide I wont bother going out. The other complaint I didn't anticipate is that when seaweed and eel grass get caught on the fins it is as if someone dropped an anchor. One day coming back in with tide we were having to pull out and clear the drive every few minutes. Not much fun.
Reviewer:
Peter Morrison
Rating:
5
Date:
7/16/2010
Review:
A great Kayak, superbly designed and engineered
Reviewer:
USS Peleliu
Rating:
4
Date:
6/14/2010
Review:
We love our new Oasis. We have rigged it for fishing as we live on the North California coast. It is plenty stable and once fitted out makes for a great fish hauler. The only problem I have with it is trying to get the awkward weight of it up on my Volkswagen Vanagon. The Thule Hullivator has helped a lot. The boat is very fast and we are learning to take all the drives up and rudder up when going in the kelp.
Reviewer:
PNWkayak
Rating:
5
Date:
11/14/2009
Review:
The Hobie Mirage Oasis Kayak is fabulous! Drive system works like a charm. Accessories are great. Rudder pin is cheap plastic. The kayak needs more carrying handles for its 75 lbs size, but you can buy those and add them on yourself.
Reviewer:
Microboater
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2009
Review:
Kayak: Austin Kayak has been fabulous all the way for this mail order and very helpful with followup questions. We are so pleased with our Hobie Oasis we have talked about getting another one for other family members. We have put over 300 miles on the boat in 7 months, on the Colorado River and on lakes. The boat is literally a tub compared to traditional skinny sit-inside paddle kayaks, but the extra power of the Mirage Drives more than makes up for the slow design of the hull. In good weather, trips of 15-20 miles in a 7-hour afternoon are now routine for us. No kidding. And we are not athletic types. The Mirage Drive is a godsend for me (55, with bad shoulder problems) and for my wife (59, a polio victim with one bad leg and weak arms). Without the pedal system we would not be kayaking. Period. We call the Oasis the “geriak”. The semi-recumbent position is very comfortable. You can even slouch down, stretch your legs out, and take a nap, or maybe even spend the night if necessary (Everglades?). If you’re thinking about getting the Revolution or Outback, consider the Oasis as an alternative. It’s great as a solo boat—all that gear space up front. You’ll have the option of carrying guests when you want. If you have the discipline to live with its lack of a large hatch, you will find the Oasis to be a serious expedition-capable boat. My son and I did a 7-day, 107-mile, entirely self-supported journey on Lake Powell. Our longest day was 23 miles, fully loaded. We traveled backpacking style with all of our food and gear packed into the hatches in 7-1/2” drybags, plus some on the rear deck. We were literally running rings around paddlers in traditional long, skinny sea kayaks who seemed quite concerned about waves that just made us wish for more stimulation. For the sake of discussion, I’ll propose that with two Mirage drives pumping, the Hobie Oasis is the safest kayak on the water in the hands of anyone short of powerful diehard pros who have developed a full set of sit-inside kayaking skills, especially a bombproof roll. I’m no expert kayaker, but I have read a lot about how average people get in trouble kayaking (best collection: “Sea Kayaker Deep Trouble”), and aside from errors in judgment and preparation, the biggest problem seems to arise from that fact that kayaks are inherently tippy and badly underpowered in bad conditions. The Hobie Oasis is probably the most powerful kayak on the water, of any type. Power equals speed; power in the wind and waves, power to make headway against headwinds and to steer, speed to make progress ahead of weather or fading light. Yes, it catches more wind than a sit-inside, but also has a lot more power to handle that wind. The Mirage Drive is submerged down deep below the turbulence zone and out of the wind. And no paddles trying to act like sails. Only one kayaker needs to pedal, so the other can rest. A sick or injured kayaker can be transported. Pedalers don’t need to pedal in sync; just pedal when you can, rest when you want (and given post-polio syndrome, my wife needs to rest often). No need to struggle with steering by paddling strokes: the big sailing rudder does it all. The boat is so stable you can sit in it sideways and dangle your legs over the side. No special edging or bracing skills needed. No boat to bail out after a capsize. As for the Eskimo roll . . . how many kayakers have a reliable roll and a reliable, quick reentry method in bad conditions? Do you? The Oasis is wonderfully seaworthy. I haven’t had it on the ocean yet, but I have had it ALONE on a lake playing joyously in 3-4 foot waves and 35-mph winds, going head into the wind, with the wind, and broadside to the wind and waves—no problem making progress in any direction (with Turboins), no capsizes, no problem steering. Imagine what it would have been like with two pedaling. On Lake Powell , with the boat fully loaded for overnight camping, I went 3 miles ALONE in winds clocked at steady 40 mph with waves I estimated to four feet. The only real problem I had was trying to turn the boat head into the wind during gusts I found out later were clocked at 60 mph. I think it would have been no problem had I had a second person on board to double the pedal power and to hold the bow down out of the wind. The biggest problem we have with this boat is finding bodies of water big enough to make it worthwhile deploying and finding some place with waves to play in. In Utah, we live too far from the ocean. Essential options: You will need the sailing rudder to really command the waves. It will slow you down a bit, and draws more water, but you need it. A kayak cart is essential; this is a heavy boat, and you won’t want to scratch the bottom dragging it. Eventually you will want the Turbo ST fins for astonishing maximum power, but might want to condition your legs with the “lower geared” standard fins first. Carry a couple of extra plastic shear pins for the rudder, and a spare mast for the fins. Use paddle tethers. In bad conditions, tether yourself to the boat, since a boat can blow away faster than you can swim. While some agile people can right a capsized Oasis by jumping on top of it and pulling on the far side or the fins, in practice drills we have found we need flip lines to right the boat (we have never capsized in actual use, except once in a whitewater situation). We use two 9-foot x 1” cam-type river straps from Northwest River Supply, looped in strap eyes screwed outside the gunwales on one side of the boat, approximately in the middle of the length of each cockpit. The straps can double as reentry stirrups for the less-agile. I rigged bungee cords with brass snap hooks to hook onto the Mirage drives to allow us to pull the drives up in shallow water without risking losing them overboard. Essential. If you are serious about going places, I suggest you decline the Outfitter. It’s slower (shorter + wider + heavier = slower, and more effort required), and has less storage space, despite the cute fishing lure and rod pockets. The Oasis has all the stability you need. In fact, I believe the boat could benefit from being made a couple of inches narrower and a foot or two longer, with a big hatch in front. If such a boat were held to 17’ or under (to ride the ferry to the Islands), that will get my money. See also my separate comments under: Mirage Drive; turbo fins; sailing rudder; sail kit; dodger; seats. Other pleased owners: http://www.hobiecat.com/community/viewtopic.php? f=11&t=13583&sid=3956721560010e1005adcf3976ccaf25
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.226.80.196 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat