Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Wilderness Systems Ride 135 ACK Angler Kayak - Low Seat
Wilderness Systems Ride 135 ACK Angler Kayak - Low Seat
SRP:  $1,102.26
$1,055.00
 
Wilderness Systems Ride 135 ACK Angler Kayak - Low Seat
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Ride 135 ACK Angler Kayak Low Seat Fishing Package available at great savings !
SRP:  $1,102.26
$1,055.00 You Save: $47.26(4%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: We love the Wilderness Ride, stable and great for fishing, this one adds all the trimmings needed for fishing, who wouldn't love this boat? The pontoon style hull makes this big boy stable as they come. Thew upgraded seat for 2010 is a nice added feature but more of all I just can't get enough of all the room in the tankwell and the hatches. This is my goto for stability!
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
John
Rating:
4
Date:
7/29/2014
Review:
Well, I have fished out of this particular kayak at least 50 times. -The seat is good, but not the best. It actually hurts my back after a while and the plastic fender washers that hold it on to the frame fall off with use. The seat on the tarpon is actually more comfortable but does not slide like the ride. -It is incredibly stable. I've had it out in up 3-4' waves on the Chesapeake Bay and I have no fear of turtling. I am 230 pounds, and I can stand up and fish and paddle standing on it. Just a bit of fall trying to sit back down with the low seat. I may get the high seat for certain trips sometime soon. -Incredible carrying capacity. 500 pounds and I'm sure it would but I've not come close to that on it. The only problem is bring too much stuff I don't need with me. -Relatively fast for something with such massive weight carrying capacity. It gets me pretty much anywhere I need to go, but fatigue sets in much faster than my tarpon 140 on the long paddles. -Track system is awesome, but I'm still scratching my head as to why did not add them next to the rear tankwell also like the tarpon has. -All in all, this is one of the best kayaks on the market for bigger guys and folks who want to do some sight casting but still have something long enough to take out into open water. There is not really anything else on the market at this price point to match the ride 135. Plus, Wilderness hulls are very solid compared to many other kayak brands at any price.
Reviewer:
Randy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/19/2014
Review:
First I'll say that I've never been in a kayak but wanted something to maybe try and paddle up and down the south shore of lake Erie possibly camping for a few days at a time. My biggest concern was stability and seaworthiness. I wanted space and comfort and am not so concerned with having the fastest kayak,you cant have it all. Today was going to be my day to try it out. Slight drizzle,no wind,should be a perfect day right? Had my kids drop me off at the beach and planned a 6-7 mile paddle. When we pulled in I knew right away the water was not what I hoped but doable. By the time I was a half hour in to it there were white caps and 2-3 foot swells but there was no turning back. At first I was scared to death but as the waves got bigger I started to relax and before I knew it I was having the best time I've had in years. Long story short,by the time I reached my destination I was beaching,launching,taking waves bow on,beam on,quartering and comfortable with anything the lake was giving me. If you know Lake Erie at all you understand the kind of day it was. By the time I hauled out the swells were an honest 4-5 feet with good size breakers coming in....all on what was supposed to be my quiet water first voyage. This boat has FAR exceeded my expectations on all points. I will probably not go out again on a day like today but it sure is nice to know just what this boat is capable of handling. Again, this was the first time I was EVER in a kayak. If I sound happy it's because I am. Thank you Wilderness Systems and thank you ACK. When this ones used up I'll be buying another.
Reviewer:
Paul
Rating:
5
Date:
10/2/2012
Review:
350 lbs person so I was limited to the number of boats I could choose from. The ride 135 handled better then the OK Big Game. Great seat and did not need a ton of after purchase accessories to buy. Outstanding boat.
Reviewer:
Jay in MA
Rating:
4
Date:
8/13/2012
Review:
I purchased this Kayak over a month ago. I fell in love with the Wilderness Systems WS company when I started looking at their products at a local EMS store, but the store just didnt have the options I wanted. Furthermore, the instock WS kayaks just didnt seem to have enough cockpit size for a 64 230 lb guy. I then discovered the Ride 135, which solved this problem with a top notch seat and the ability to slide it back and forth. Actually, I think an 8 ft person could fit in this monster. ACK provided the package that I wanted at a very reasonable price with free S&H. The shipment arrived quickly and without any issues. My opinion on the kayak is still high but I warn people to truly consider how big they want their kayak. WS/ACK sells slightly shorter ones with the same features. Just shy of 14 feet width is above average too is bigger than you might think and it makes it very difficult to get off an SUV, even if you have the right equipment. It really is a two person job every time you load and unload it. Additionally, remember that this is an angler model and can be used as a touring kayak. This means that it is definately not the fastest or even close to the fastest kayak you can buy. If you dont plan on using this for exactly that than you will be disapointed. These two things are the only negatives I have with the purchase and these have nothing to do with the intended design or anything that ACK has done.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
1
Date:
3/19/2012
Review:
I purchased the Ride 135 Angler edition and was excited to get out on the water with it. Within the first ½ hour fishing out of it I was not impressed at all. Its does not have a lot of room & the storage compartments are not sealed off from the kayak. Your gear you store in them ends up all inside your kayak and you have tip it up and down to get it out. Then the claim that the ride makes it easy to stand up and fish… it is not easy at all. I have let friends that have great balance try it and they say noooo way. My buddy bought the Ocean Kayak Big Game and it is wider and more stable. If you’re looking to invest in a fishing kayak this is not the one to pick. I am already looking to get something else and I fished in it 2 times so far! Wilderness Systems let me down big time!
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
1/9/2012
Review:
I like the ride a lot, truly very stable. I am a big boy - 270 pounds 6'2". I never kayaked before and I appreciated how stable this kayak is since at the end of a day I was tired kayaking and if needed to portage would drop myself into the kayak after the portage and it never flipped. It is heavy and once loaded with gear you will need help to move it around. Same for loading it up on a lexus rx-350. Not impossible but definitely an extra set of hands helps. This is not the fsatest kayak. But for the wide beam and open deck you can have very leasurely paddling days ahead.I mainly paddled on the Wisconsin, Illinois, Mississippi and Kishwaukee rivers last summer. The seat can pop loose if you drop suddenly into the boat like I did. The wide beam was really good for stability while crossing the Mississippi from Illinois to Iowa. You do not want to tip in a commercial channel. For the ladies I would recommend the Tarpon 120 as it weighs less has a wide beam and less wieldy due its shorter length. But for the big boys it has plenty of room - not claustrophobic at all. Plus plenty of storage for carrying overnight camping gear including a stool tent, sleeping bag, just an excellent value. The hull takes on rocky river edges eases without having a hole gauged out as if you had a fiberglass bottom. Would really reccomend paddle boy wheels to portage - they fit in one of the hatches too for when you need it later. haven't fished in it yet but seeing its so stable I am sure it will be fine. Again biggest drawback is its weight - if a second set of hands available to load then it should be ok.For safety purposes a big yellow ride is stable, maneuverable, easily seen, can take some cargo and a beating and is fun and safe. The rudder helped a lot in fast water.Steering was responsive with rudder - I really reccomend the rudder - flips up and down -works fine.Not as wet as I thought it would be. I plugged all the scuppers every time and was hardly ever wet. The seat remained dry for the most part. A handheld pump can get any water out witha few pumps. It is a good all around kayak for leisurely paddles down rivers and lakes.
Reviewer:
mojofishin
Rating:
3
Date:
9/27/2011
Review:
I bought my Ride from ACK ( who did an awesome job btw )in 2011 so it isn't the new 2012. I have my doubts about the 2012 also. I mainly saltwater fish out of the yak, but do go down creeks and rivers on occasion. The hatches leak! When I'm in the Gulf fishing, they leak a lot! Bad design that should have been fixed. Seriously doubt those little channels on the new ones relieve the problem. The ride is great fishing Yak just wish Wilderness would fix the leaky hatches. Somehow my rear handle disappeared on a trip back home. I emailed Wilderness to ask where/how to get another. It's been a few weeks and i have yet to hear anything from them. In flat water conditions while paddling it seems as if the boat gets caught on one of the tines and wants to go that in that direction. You have to work hard to correct it. Glad I bought the rudder. I really wouldn't get one without it. Fix the hatches Wilderness and I'll consider another one.
Reviewer:
Bobby
Rating:
5
Date:
9/16/2010
Review:
I bought this 'yak in the summer of '09 for salmon fishing on the waters of Puget Sound in Washington. After 2 seasons, I'm still extremely happy with the boat. All the feature are laid out in the product description so I'll stick to an on the water review. First and foremost, just as described, this boat is incredibly stable. I'm 6'2" and 180 lbs so not huge, but I can still stand up in the yak in 2 foot chop. You would have to REALLY try to flip this thing. Even fighting 5' Dogfish (sandsharks) the boat doesn't tip or rock. After that are just the details. It's not going to win any races being close to 110 lbs fully loaded with fishing gear plus myself, and it takes some effort to get it moving but once it's moving, it's easy to maintain a 4mph pace in most currents. In still, flat calm lake water, 5mph is pretty easy to achieve. It glides surprisingly well for a such a big boat, tracks very nicely but is a bit slow to turn and the now needs a bit more upturn to ride up and over waves instead of through them spilling water over the bow, hatch and into the footwell. The included Angler package is pretty nice, but you can do it cheaper yourself and customize it the way you want it. Nonetheless, It works well and the only modification I had to make was to but an 8" extension for the front rod holder. The hatches seal well and with the exception of the far front one, are well placed. The front hatch could be another 3 or 4 inches back making it easier to access while on the water. The front hatch has enough room to store the NRS C-Tug that I use to transport it to and from the vehicle which is a real blessing. The unusual hull shape makes the C-Tug about the only one you can use with it. The rudder package is well worth it for an angler, especially one that does any trolling with a heavy, high drag lure hanging out one side. It offer great control thought deployment takes a little more effort than one would think it should. The rudder is powdercoated with makes it pretty durable when you forget to stow it before you beach. The pedals could use another 2 inches or so of adjustment to accommodate us long legged folks but it's still pretty comfy for a 4 hour trip. The polyethylene is thick and tough which makes for great stability and durability but adds to the weight. The bare boat still weighs in at around 80 lbs when I have to load it on top of a Jeep Grand Cherokee which takes some strength and effort. Those of slight build and your average lady will probably not be able to load it by themselves on taller vehicles. It's not too bad if you're in good shape and don't mind a bit of effort to load and unload though. It's certainly not unmanageable. The track system that WS offer on the Tarpon series would be AWESOME on this boat. So would the side net storage areas. The seat is so-so. It will make you butt go to sleep after 3 or 4 hours and the back rest is nicely adjustable but doesn't mesh well with my chosen PFD. The Ride is a pretty dry and the only scupper holes you really need are the ones at your feet. The rest of them get plugged. If you're on a nice calm lake, plug them all. You'll appreciate the dry cockpit. This boat has way more features than it lacks but it could use a little refining. As a fishing platform, I don't think it would be very easy to find another boat that is more capable and at home on the water. I trust this boat out in the brine with no qualms. I think you could use it catch as big a fish as you want. A minor nit is the cupholder could be a little bigger to accommodate a Gatoraide bottle or the like and the tackle bod cutout would be better positioned in front of the 5" day hatch instead of behind the paddler. All in all, this boat is a great deal, great performer, and great fishing boat. Austin Kayak was first rate all the way with the purchase too. It arrived early and in great shape. I definitely recommend them to someone looking for a hard to find 'yak, far away from Austin. If you fish and utility and stability are more important than speed, this is the boat for you.
Reviewer:
Omar
Rating:
5
Date:
7/21/2010
Review:
This kayak has a ton of space to put all you need in it and is extremely stable! Standing up is easily accomplished even on a slight choppy bay. I fish the Lower Laguna Madre and it gets windy but this kayak moves well even when paddling against the wind. The width of this kayak allows me to carry a live bait well bucket in between my legs for live shrimp. Simply an awesome kayak! Cant go wrong with this one!
Reviewer:
Colonol Angus
Rating:
5
Date:
11/20/2009
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Ride 135 Angler Kayak is a fisherman's dream. Tracks well on flat water and handles well on rivers. The Susquehanna River in particular. Little modifications needed to this boat, it is fishing ready. Love the locking hatches and for a large kayak she is easily lifted for storage and transport. A by the way. I sit 6'4" and 320lbs, this craft can handle size. This is one well worth tast paddling. ACK gave me a way better deal than any of my local dealers would and even from half way across the country ACK made a personal call to my home to ensure I understood the shipping process and to ensure I was getting what I wanted or if I needed anything else. Kudos to ACK!
Reviewer:
Colonol Angus
Rating:
5
Date:
11/10/2009
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Ride 135 Angler is an impressive yak. Susquehanna River, Swatara Creek and, flat water, she is a gem. A boat not needing many modifications for fishing, that's refreshing. I purchased the 2010 from here and had it shipped to PA. Better service than my local shop and timely shipping.
Reviewer:
J Griffin
Rating:
5
Date:
4/23/2009
Review:
I love the stability and tracking on this boat. I find it has room enough to fish from with all my gear.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.237.213.31 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat