Yakima Bowdown Kayak Carrier - Product Reviews
Return to Yakima Bowdown Kayak Carrier Product Details.
$199.00
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In-stock: Due to the holiday your order will ship on Tuesday 9/2/2014.
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.1 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Jim McConnell
Rating:
2
Date:
9/12/2013
Review:
Absolutely hate these bow downs. Very difficult to tighten enough on round roof bars so the unit does not rotate if you have to slide the boat a few inches front or rear. I give them 2 stars because they are quality manufacture and materials but they do not work as I had hoped. The wind noise is considerable in the down position. Would sell them on e bay most likely.
Reviewer:
M.Romero
Rating:
5
Date:
5/11/2013
Review:
Great Quality product, easy to install & dismount. Frame protects the Kayak .
Reviewer:
David Dunn
Rating:
5
Date:
7/14/2012
Review:
Great product. Easy to assemble and works like a dream. My garage door prevents me from parking inside with the carrier in the up position so it is perfect for my situation. I just fold them down and Im in. Just like it says on the boxEverything you need is included.
Reviewer:
kayakboy
Rating:
5
Date:
7/1/2012
Review:
We used our new BowDowns today for the first time and they are soo easy to use. Ours are mounted on a Rack and Roll trailer and this combo is a dream come true. E-a-s-y! No more lifting the boats onto the roof and struggling with the straps. Dont hesitate. Go for it! Were not looking back!
Reviewer:
Alex
Rating:
2
Date:
5/2/2012
Review:
Love and hate it! Very nice, fat, padded uprights but the up and down mechanism is terrible. I have two sets, both of which Ive replaced twice Yakima does it for free . Theyre good for about 40 trips before the cog wears out or the tightening knob no longer tightens. It has been my annual off season job; to send back the worn out set to Yakima for replacement. If you are not frequent kayaker, then this is probably a good product for you; but this sending a set back every year or so is getting old.
Reviewer:
KJC
Rating:
5
Date:
4/10/2012
Review:
These Yakima Bowdown Kayak Carriers are great! Very easy to attach to the rack, and provide a very solid, protective way to transport any kayak. The Bowdowns also fold flat, so getting your vehicle into the garage with them on is not a problem. They are pricey, but definitely worth every penny. Id definitely recomment these to friends.
Reviewer:
Moatengator
Rating:
5
Date:
2/14/2012
Review:
Great Product and Well Made!
Reviewer:
Steve
Rating:
4
Date:
8/15/2011
Review:
Very well made. Easy to follow instructions.
Reviewer:
Jon
Rating:
4
Date:
12/12/2010
Review:
Very easy to use, Great price!
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
4
Date:
7/30/2008
Review:
This is a solid kayak carrier. I would have given this 5 stars but this rack whistles like a tea kettle over 40 mph. I'm still trying to find the source of the whistle so I can modify. So for now turn up the radio and go kayaking!
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.89.67.228 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat