FREE Shipping on ALL Orders + 15% Accessories w/Kayak* (details)‚Äč
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Kayak
Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Kayak
$1,205.00
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Kayak
$1,205.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Tarpon 140 angler is perfect for the fisherman or woman that spends more time on the coast and in the lakes but still wants to float the rivers. The high quality rod holders are perfect for taking several rods.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Ryan J.
Rating:
4
Date:
11/24/2014
Review:
This is my first angling kayak and I am throughly pleased with it so far. The seat is it comes with is superior to all other kayaks I have seen and it can take some bumps and bruises. I use it mostly in the chesapeake bay and tidal rivers and have no problems with it, I just worry about my gear when there are white caps in the bay but the kayak can handle it. It is heavier than a lot of friends kayaks and is usually a two person job getting it on and off your car. I can get it on my car before I go out and then once I'm a couple hours of fishing in the sun I have issues getting it on my car by myself. I would have given it five stars but it leaks somewhere and water gets into the dry department. It's not a lot of water but enough to notice and it makes it a lot harder to but the kayak back on your car with that water in there. It's also hard to get the water out without a shot vac.
Reviewer:
Al Tower
Rating:
4
Date:
9/17/2014
Review:
Purchased this from Austin Kayak as part of Labor Day close out. Shipped in 5 days for free, well packaged, and not damaged- impressive business AK. My previous kayak was a 10ft recreational SINK. Got this for fishing/camping purposes. 1.) Performance: tried Tarpon 140 on a small lake as well as a small river with class 1 rapids. Tracks well, easy to paddle when underway. Opted for rudder package-works great and highly recommend it. You can turn ok without it, but takes more effort. Very pleased with speed and both primary and secondary stability. Easy to get back in when I bailed out in deep water. 2.) Phase 3 seat: thought it was very comfortable after 3 hours of paddling-really love the seat. 3.) Storage: like a flat-bed pickup behind cockpit-plenty of room for my camping/fishing gear. Little disappointed with dry storage. Lot of room with orbix hatch, but got an inch or two of water in it on river. Read about leaks with Orbix hatch, but after testing at home it was my midship small hatch leaking. No missing parts-just looks like an inadequate o-ring seal. Significant problem because of low-lying position of this hatch in cockpit. You get water in cockpit-it's getting in dry storage. Plan on emailing AK for solution. 4.) Portage: somebody else said it beautifully "this is an unruly beast out of the water". Car-topping on my SUV was definitely 2 person job. Hard to carry on your own with side handles for distances over 20 yards. Of course, as big as it is out of water- not big at all in water. 5.) Wet ride: saw a lot of complaints about water coming up thru scuppers. Easily fixed with scupper plugs. (I am 190 lbs). Don't think the "wet ride" criticism is fair. You look at any kayak basic buying guide and it tell you this is a con for SOT kayaks. Conclusion: I am very happy with my Tarpon 140 and would recommend it to others. Would have given it 5 stars if not for leaking midship hatch.
Reviewer:
WHIDBEY PERIGRINE
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2014
Review:
I had an old demo Tarpon 140 that I love, so I bought my wife a new one for her birthday. It is so great, I bought myself one, too. ACK was super easy to work with. I use my Tarpon for cruising around Puget Sound and salmon fishing. Great boat!
Reviewer:
Texas Tarheel
Rating:
4
Date:
9/6/2012
Review:
in the price range, the Tarpon 140 is my pick for lake, river or BTB fishing. Its lite- weight makes is easily managed by one person for loading or unloading. The service from ACK makes it even better.
Reviewer:
Kevin
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2012
Review:
Love this yak. Took it fishing around the Altamaha
Reviewer:
tito
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Purchased this kayak from ACK about a month ago and absolutely love it. Tracks well, is stable, has good speed but not so maneuverable especially in wind W/O a rudder very conveniently designed. I would recomend this to anyone.
Reviewer:
MasterGuns
Rating:
5
Date:
4/24/2012
Review:
This is the third Wilderness System kayak, I have purchased. This one is as good as the other two. Awesome Product
Reviewer:
kelpfrond
Rating:
5
Date:
10/23/2011
Review:
Excellent craft. My first sit- upon, I chose it for ocean fishing on the Pacific Northwest Coast, and am very pleased. It handles getting out through the surf well, is stable yet propels along quickly. Purchased with a rudder, which I highly recommend. As always, Austin Kayak provided their exceptional service and support.
Reviewer:
Henry
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2011
Review:
Great kayak, tracks well, steering is a breeze with the rudder kit, and Austin Kayak shipping is quick and excellent. Definitely would make my next purchase with them.
Reviewer:
Corey Hayes
Rating:
5
Date:
5/17/2011
Review:
I purchased my 140 a year ago never had ever been in one.My final decision to buy the 140 was when I went to Austin kayak and compared them with Ocean and others.You can tell the quality differance right away.Then I sat in the Ocean kayak and felt the floor buckle up and down.The biggest advantage the Tarpon has over other kayaks are the design of the scupper holes.They are countersunk so they don't take impacts.If you have never been in a yak before the first thing you will notice is how stable and comfortable the Tarpon is.I would recommend getting a seat cushion after a few hours the stage 3 cushion gets a little hard on the rear end.I will tell you this it is alot more fun fishing out of the Tarpon than my bassboat.I have caught 4 and 5 lb bass out of it and it's a blast!!!Love my Tarpon!!!
Reviewer:
Hayden
Rating:
4
Date:
7/23/2010
Review:
I purchased two of the Tarpon 140 Anglers, one with rudder and one without. I really like these kayaks and find them to be top of the line with regards to quality and construction. My only minor gripe is that at 6'3" I find the rudder controls to be just a little too short at maximum extension for me.
Reviewer:
Chris Moses
Rating:
5
Date:
7/10/2010
Review:
I have strictly been an Ocean Kayak (Caper and Prowler 13) owner for years, but decided to try out the new WS Tarpon 140. All I can say is WOW, what a HUGE upgrade. It seems as though REAL fishermen designed and engineered this kayak. All of the added features are so handy, and the old ones improved by far...including the newly designed locking hatch covers and adjustable seat. This is by far the best kayak I have ever owned, and I won't be selling this one anytime soon. To add to that, the guys at Austin Kayak are awesome and knowledgeable. I will only buy from Austin Kayak, as well as get repairs/modifications done there. They do the best work, paying attention to detail....not sloppy like I've seen elsewhere.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.211.73.232 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat