Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Kayak - 2014 Closeout - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 ACK Angler Kayak - 2014 Closeout Product Details.
SRP:  $1,119.05
$909.96 You Save: $209.09(19%)
Kayak Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
WHIDBEY PERIGRINE
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2014
Review:
I had an old demo Tarpon 140 that I love, so I bought my wife a new one for her birthday. It is so great, I bought myself one, too. ACK was super easy to work with. I use my Tarpon for cruising around Puget Sound and salmon fishing. Great boat!
Reviewer:
Texas Tarheel
Rating:
4
Date:
9/6/2012
Review:
in the price range, the Tarpon 140 is my pick for lake, river or BTB fishing. Its lite- weight makes is easily managed by one person for loading or unloading. The service from ACK makes it even better.
Reviewer:
Kevin
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2012
Review:
Love this yak. Took it fishing around the Altamaha
Reviewer:
tito
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Purchased this kayak from ACK about a month ago and absolutely love it. Tracks well, is stable, has good speed but not so maneuverable especially in wind W/O a rudder very conveniently designed. I would recomend this to anyone.
Reviewer:
MasterGuns
Rating:
5
Date:
4/24/2012
Review:
This is the third Wilderness System kayak, I have purchased. This one is as good as the other two. Awesome Product
Reviewer:
kelpfrond
Rating:
5
Date:
10/23/2011
Review:
Excellent craft. My first sit- upon, I chose it for ocean fishing on the Pacific Northwest Coast, and am very pleased. It handles getting out through the surf well, is stable yet propels along quickly. Purchased with a rudder, which I highly recommend. As always, Austin Kayak provided their exceptional service and support.
Reviewer:
Henry
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2011
Review:
Great kayak, tracks well, steering is a breeze with the rudder kit, and Austin Kayak shipping is quick and excellent. Definitely would make my next purchase with them.
Reviewer:
Corey Hayes
Rating:
5
Date:
5/17/2011
Review:
I purchased my 140 a year ago never had ever been in one.My final decision to buy the 140 was when I went to Austin kayak and compared them with Ocean and others.You can tell the quality differance right away.Then I sat in the Ocean kayak and felt the floor buckle up and down.The biggest advantage the Tarpon has over other kayaks are the design of the scupper holes.They are countersunk so they don't take impacts.If you have never been in a yak before the first thing you will notice is how stable and comfortable the Tarpon is.I would recommend getting a seat cushion after a few hours the stage 3 cushion gets a little hard on the rear end.I will tell you this it is alot more fun fishing out of the Tarpon than my bassboat.I have caught 4 and 5 lb bass out of it and it's a blast!!!Love my Tarpon!!!
Reviewer:
Hayden
Rating:
4
Date:
7/23/2010
Review:
I purchased two of the Tarpon 140 Anglers, one with rudder and one without. I really like these kayaks and find them to be top of the line with regards to quality and construction. My only minor gripe is that at 6'3" I find the rudder controls to be just a little too short at maximum extension for me.
Reviewer:
Chris Moses
Rating:
5
Date:
7/10/2010
Review:
I have strictly been an Ocean Kayak (Caper and Prowler 13) owner for years, but decided to try out the new WS Tarpon 140. All I can say is WOW, what a HUGE upgrade. It seems as though REAL fishermen designed and engineered this kayak. All of the added features are so handy, and the old ones improved by far...including the newly designed locking hatch covers and adjustable seat. This is by far the best kayak I have ever owned, and I won't be selling this one anytime soon. To add to that, the guys at Austin Kayak are awesome and knowledgeable. I will only buy from Austin Kayak, as well as get repairs/modifications done there. They do the best work, paying attention to detail....not sloppy like I've seen elsewhere.
Reviewer:
Todd Thompson
Rating:
5
Date:
6/14/2010
Review:
The Tarpon 140 is a great kayak,stable and has good glide. The seating is comfortable and dry, even after 3 to 4 hours on the water. I like the seat adjustment system. The Orbix dry hatch works well, this is a quality unit.The rudder is very effective and of high quality. I would recommend it
Reviewer:
Big N
Rating:
4
Date:
5/8/2010
Review:
I went from an Emotion Mojo Angler to a Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140. It's like going from a VW to a BMW. It's a little longer so it turns and bit harder, which I expected. It's just a little heavier so it takes a bit more effort to wind up. Once it's moving though, it's effortless to paddle and keep it moving. It's much faster and much more streamlined than other kayaks I've used. I don't like the fact that the storage area just behind the seat gets soaking wet. Anything you have in that area WILL get wet, so be sure it's all waterproofed. I don't get as much water in the cockpit as I've heard but I only weigh about 190 and these guys were much heavier. They say the remedy is to get scupper plugs and simply plug the holes. If that's the case, why put the holes there in the first place? It's much lighter than I expected in regards to loading it on top of the car. That won't be a problem for many years. It's very stable and not tippy, although it's 3 inches narrower in width than my other one. The storage areas are plenty and handy, but if you put something in, it has the ability to go all the way up to the front. I'd like to see the compartments fixed, not open along the whole inside of the boat. The phase III seat is not all that comfortable. I ended up buying a gel cushion for the seat and backrest. Overall I like this boat very much and in several years will move up to the Tarpon 160 (16') and keep this one for tighter streams I have to get into. It's a very nice boat and Wilderness Systems is a name-brand company.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.167.241.4 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat