Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)‚Äč
Home > Racks & Trailers > Trailers & Trailer Accessories > Malone MicroSport Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460G
Malone MicroSport Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460G
MSRP:  $1,299.00
$1,169.10
 
Malone MicroSport Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460G
MSRP:  $1,299.00
$1,169.10 You Save: $129.90(10%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today! - Expedited Shipping Not Available
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: I am thrilled with the downeaster trailer from Malone. It was easy to assemble although time consuming but it makes getting my kayaks from location to location so easy. I will be getting one for my 65 year old plus grandparents! shhhhh.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Gary & Teresa
Rating:
5
Date:
5/31/2014
Review:
WOW, this is exactly what we needed - I don't know what we have been thinking this past years. We have been loading our kayaks on the lop of our jeep and this trailer is AMAZING!! If you are looking for a trailer to haul your kayaks or anything , I would strongly say go with the Malone MicroSport Kayak Trailer!!
Reviewer:
Karim
Rating:
3
Date:
2/23/2014
Review:
I haven't taken it for a trip yet but I had a couple of issues during installation: Not all parts arrived in the initial shipment but ACK customer service corrected that quickly. The parts are very heavy for the boxes which caused them to arrive opened and scratched with the parts sticking out. ACK offered a $50 gift certificate for that. The plastic cover ends on the loading bars are all very bad material. they get broken if you try to snap them all the way in. And if you didn't snap them all the way in then they'll most probably fall on the road. So the loading bars don't look that good without them but they don't affect functionality. The tongue is too long - yes there is an upgraded one that looks like it can divide to 2 - but the base tongue needs to be redesigned to divide to 2 with that length. Other than that, not bad.
Reviewer:
Flipper
Rating:
5
Date:
10/1/2012
Review:
Bought this trailer because we have two Outback Hobies, and were hauling in the truck bed. I can say the quality of the trailer is good. we added two thick swimming pool noodles to the cross bars when installing, so the yaks set on the trailer in garage on 1.5 inch of foam. Trailers well. Nice and light, I can move it without hooking up. Just pick up and go. It is much easier when going out and returning, you dont have to pick up and you dont have to get wet, unless you want too. Good buy. Cant go wrong. 4 months of use, so far.
Reviewer:
KJC
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2012
Review:
This is an update to my earlier review on this great trailer. We just got back from a mini-vacation where we had the Malone MicroSport trailer over 40-miles of dirt/gravel/pot-holed roads with both our kayaks and mountain bikes on it. Other than getting very dusty and dirty, the trailer never had a problem with the roads. The kayaks were solid and undamaged in their Malone J- Racks, and the mountain bikes didnt move a centimeter in their Yakima High Roller racks. We did buy the optional 3rd bar for the Malone trailer as recommended and that added stability to the bike racks. Great little trailer for folks who like to take all their toys to the backcountry. And the trailer handled highway speeds fully loaded with no problems either. Way to go, Malone!
Reviewer:
KJC
Rating:
5
Date:
6/6/2012
Review:
Wow, cant say enough good about this little trailer! We have had it out several times carrying our 2 kayaks and it has performed flawlessly. Our Honda Element doesnt even know its pulling the load. A friend has the fancier Yakima Rack N Roll trailer--it is prettier than the Malone, but MUCH more expensive and the wheels are not as sturdy as the Malone. The only change we made in the trailer was to have the 8-foot tongue cut down to 5-foot--we will never haul a kayak larger than 12- foot, so the 5-foot tongue is sufficient and much more manuverable. If you dont feel like backing the trailer, it unhooks form the car in a jiffy and is easy to push anywhere with or without the kayaks. So much easier than trying to get the kayaks on the roof of the car! We can also haul our 2 mountain bikes along with the kayaks on the trailer. This trailer is worth every penny it costs! We love it!
Reviewer:
Ed krak
Rating:
5
Date:
4/5/2012
Review:
This is a great product. Assembly very easy took only four hours. Currently loaded with 3 kayaks, 2 single 14footers and a 15ft tandem. Loading and unloading is a joy. Would highly recommend making this purchase.
Reviewer:
James Young
Rating:
5
Date:
3/27/2012
Review:
This is a great trailer. When I started working on it I realized that the only way to get this built in 3-4 hours was to have a nascar pit crew and the engineer who desiged it working on it. This does take two people to put together. I did it myself and took my time.. The instructions are very detailed and easy to follow. If you are looking for a trailer to haul boats, this is the one. Very solid trailer. no complaints and I highly recommend it.
Reviewer:
Dee
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2011
Review:
The trailer was really very easy to put together. The instruction were great and the packaging helped ensure you had the right nuts and bolts for the right section of the trailer you were working on. It took longer to assemble than the 2 to 4 hours suggested. It's a great trailer.
Reviewer:
Ted Bedford
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2011
Review:
I am beyond happy with this trailer. It is well constructed and the instructions to assemble it were very detailed making it easy to put together. I would recommend this trailer to anybody.
Reviewer:
David Israel
Rating:
5
Date:
6/30/2011
Review:
My wife and I assembled the Malone Micro Sport Kayak Trailer over 3 evenings, investing roughly 6 - 7 hours at a liesurely pace. The instruction manual is good (better than most I've worked from, in the past) but not outstanding. There were a few places where the photos could have been a little bit more detailed or instructions more detailed. The kit divides the parts into different bags (i.e. electrical assembly, tongue assembly, tire assembly, etc.). There were a few times where the instructions called for a 1 1/4" bolt for a task; however, there were 1 1/4" rounded head bolts and 1 1/4" hex head bolts. It wasn't hard to figure it out but the manual could have been more specific, in order to save us the trouble of having to "figure it out." The quality of individual parts is also good, however, the 3" x 4" galvanexed steel plates (used in the suspension assembly) were not drilled properly and I had to drill them out in my workshop. Also, Malone does not include any spare washers, nuts or bolts (and there are many), so if you lose one you will need to make a trip to the local hardware store in order to finish the project. Also, our kit was missing some minor parts (plastic tips to cover some bolt ends) that I will need to buy from my local hardware store. Overall, my wife and I like this trailer very much. We purchased ours with the plastic trunk (which holds our life jackets). We use 4 sets of Malone "J style" XV autoloaders to hold our 4 14.5' kayaks. With all four of the kayaks loaded, the tongue weight is approximately 40 pounds. It is easier to move this cart around, fully loaded, than it is to carry a single kayak by hand. We recently ordered the spare tire for this trailer, which will add a little weight the tongue weight. For the price of this trailer, we are very pleased with it. I give the trailer 5 stars (out of a total of 5 possible stars) for value; 4 stars for ease of assembly and 5 stars for aesthetics and ease of use. I also give Austin Canoe and Kayak 5 stars for their outstanding service and ultra fast delivery. Their customer service reps are pathologically pleasant and cheerful whenever I call with questions. These guys really get it when it comes to customer service.
Reviewer:
David Israel
Rating:
5
Date:
6/30/2011
Review:
My wife and I assembled the Malone Micro Sport Kayak Trailer over 3 evenings, investing roughly 6 - 7 hours at a liesurely pace. The instruction manual is good (better than most I've worked from, in the past) but not outstanding. There were a few places where the photos could have been a little bit more detailed or instructions more detailed. The kit divides the parts into different bags (i.e. electrical assembly, tongue assembly, tire assembly, etc.). There were a few times where the instructions called for a 1 1/4" bolt for a task; however, there were 1 1/4" rounded head bolts and 1 1/4" hex head bolts. It wasn't hard to figure it out but the manual could have been more specific, in order to save us the trouble of having to "figure it out." The quality of individual parts is also good, however, the 3" x 4" galvanexed steel plates (used in the suspension assembly) were not drilled properly and I had to drill them out in my workshop. Also, Malone does not include any spare washers, nuts or bolts (and there are many), so if you lose one you will need to make a trip to the local hardware store in order to finish the project. Also, our kit was missing some minor parts (plastic tips to cover some bolt ends) that I will need to buy from my local hardware store. Overall, my wife and I like this trailer very much. We purchased ours with the plastic trunk (which holds our life jackets). We use 4 sets of Malone "J style" XV autoloaders to hold our 4 14.5' kayaks. With all four of the kayaks loaded, the tongue weight is approximately 40 pounds. It is easier to move this cart around, fully loaded, than it is to carry a single kayak by hand. We recently ordered the spare tire for this trailer, which will add a little weight the tongue weight. For the price of this trailer, we are very pleased with it. I give the trailer 5 stars (out of a total of 5 possible stars) for value; 4 stars for ease of assembly and 5 stars for aesthetics and ease of use. I also give Austin Canoe and Kayak 5 stars for their outstanding service and ultra fast delivery. Their customer service reps are pathologically pleasant and cheerful whenever I call with questions. These guys really get it when it comes to customer service.
Reviewer:
Lou
Rating:
5
Date:
5/15/2011
Review:
I am very pleased with the trailer. It rides well, looks great and sure beats hoisting kayaks to the roof of the SUV. Assembly was not difficult but would have been easier if instructions for the tongue retraction kit were written into the basic trailer kit so you do not have to backtrack.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.211.219.68 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat