Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Fishing Kayaks > Feel Free Moken 12.5 Angler Kayak
Feel Free Moken 12.5 Angler Kayak
$899.00
 
Feel Free Moken 12.5 Angler Kayak
$899.00
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
PDReino
Rating:
4
Date:
8/8/2014
Review:
My Moken 12.5 was delivered two days ago and arrived in excellent condition. It was well wrapped and included all that I ordered including PFD and storage racks. I also had ACK install a rudder system which required some minor final assembly (would be difficult to ship with the rudder extended). Total time from order to delivery was about 10 calendar days. I'm new to the sport of kayak fishing, so please keep that in mind. I have rigged the boat with a milk crate, and a Scotty rod holder (mounted on uni track). That's about all I've done to it so far. I transport the yak in the back of my short bed Toyota Tacoma pickup with a bed extender that gives me an extra three feet. The boat hangs off an additional two feet or so. My first observation is this boat is heavy and kind of a barge compared to what I expected. The wheel in the keel is a great feature, but even with that, a lot of muscle is required to load and unload by yourself. Because the yak has a pretty pronounced keel, when lifting from the bow handle and using the wheel, it is very tippy and you must use two hands to man handle it so it doesn't flip over. The molded in handles port and starboard are great tiedown points to secure in the truck. Using the large front hatch, I was able to put my fishing rod and PFD in there for transport to the lake. Nothing remarkable about unloading, much easier with gravity on my side, but mind the lateral control on the way down the boat ramp. I bass fished on a local lake for a few hours and loved the yak, and got a few compliments on it. I'm not an experienced kayaker, but it seemed to paddle very easy and the rudder was nice for fine tuning and keeping me parallel to the bank. Drift speed on a calm lake was perfect to work the shoreline. At the end of the trip I unloaded all my gear and put back out to try and stand on the installed platform. I will try again in the future, but it did not feel very stable and I'm sure I would have gone swimming if I had tried to cast. Probably something I'd get more comfortable with after some practice. I am very happy with this kayak package and would recommend the Feel Free Moken 12.5. It's on the large side, but I wanted a boat I could take into inshore areas as I work my way up to that. ACK puts together a nice discount package deal with PFD and paddle, and I plan to buy my daughter's yak from them very soon.
Reviewer:
John from Florida
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2014
Review:
This is my first kayak so I really don't have much to compare it to, But I love it so far!Great seat, lots of storage, Love the wheel in tne keel and the built in handles.It seems very well made with lots of great features. Shipping to Florida was quick and easy and ACK customer was top notch!
Reviewer:
Matt from Minnesota
Rating:
5
Date:
2/15/2014
Review:
Love my Moken 12.5. When I bought it, I had narrowed down my selection to this boat and the Jackson ultimately selecting the Moken. Here's what I love best about the boat: Great storage yet decent speed - it accommodates enough gear for 3 days/nights on the water. The wheel in the keel rocks - I've had 3 heart surgeries and this feature gets me on the water quickly and easily. (Make sure it's screwed in tight from the factory). Good stability/functionality - I take this boat on the huge lakes of MN and WI and yet it is great in small rivers too. The molded handles - I can't believe what an asset these are when it comes to securing or dragging the boat around The seat is the most comfortable of any yak I've fished in - I've put in 13 hour days in this seat. The center tackle storage - this is a great feature and I'm hardly ever reaching back to my crate for more tackle. The rod storage in the hull comes in handy too. Interestingly one of the major reasons I bought this boat was the Unitrak system. I honestly don't care for it. I also don't like the location of the paddle holders but, in my mind, these are two small negatives in what I feel is the best fishing Yak out there.
Reviewer:
Stuart
Rating:
5
Date:
11/10/2013
Review:
I bought this in September, and had it shipped from ACK to Minnesota. I love thus kayak. It is very stable, although at 5'10 230lbs, I cannot stand and fish confidently, but a smaller person I believe could just fine. I love the layout and the accessorizing options. I have a Garmin finder mounted on a uni-track plate on the right with an over the side sonar arm so the sonar is not going through the hull. I also have a GPS mount on the front right deck. On the left, I have two rod holders on uni-track plates. I also installed an anchor trolley. have a crate in the back with the ACK crate buddy which I great. This yak is fast enough, and seemingly just glides on the water. I fish Mississippi back waters and Minnesota lakes, and it tracks very well without a rudder. I love the storage this boat has as well, and so far only a few drops of water have managed to get into the hull from the hatches on a very rainy day. The seat is fantastic, all day comfort. As has been said before, the biggest complaints are the weight and the paddle keepers are to far back. I can live with both.The kayak had a few hardware issues when I received it, but nothing a few drops of superglue and ACK's great service couldn't take care of. I highly recommend this kayak, and as all fishing kayaks are a trade off in features, this one included, it is not perfect. However, it is the closet to everything I want that I have seen.
Reviewer:
Don C.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2013
Review:
The first thing I noticed about this kayak was hull design and the performance it offers. This thing is super stable yet still glides quite well once you get it moving. I've tried a lot of kayaks and nothing has been able to make this combination of speed and stability. The next big thing I noticed is all the common sense options it has. The wheel in the keel allows me to load it up right next to the truck and roll it across the parking lot and right down the launch fully rigged! Small things like rod leashes right in the flush mounts, stand up assist strap, and straps to hold your crate in place eliminate having to incur additional costs after the fact. The seat has an extremely high back and is quite comfortable. I did however notice that a backless pfd such as a mustang model will allow the most comfort in this seat. Overall I'm highly impressed with this kayak!
Reviewer:
Doug
Rating:
5
Date:
6/28/2013
Review:
Absolutly love this Kayak. Very stable, tracks well. Love the accessories. The one and only drawback to me is that it's heavy and lifting it on top of my SUV can be fun at times.
Reviewer:
clint
Rating:
5
Date:
5/25/2013
Review:
Great kayak!!! I searched for about 3 months solid for a yak and hooked on this one. Paddle holders are a little more rear but didn't mind it. The front hatch can be accessed while on the water because its so stable. The hatch between your legs is deep enough for an extra reel, and 2 scotty rod holders with the pate attached for the uni track system. Uni track system can be used for almost anyting. The crate keepers on back is a huge bonuse with the rod keepers and rod holders mounted. Molded in handles are perfectly placed and the wheel in back is a little wobbly but works great. I can put 5 rods in my front hatch and travel with them until I get to my destination.The platform is very stable for pushing around and fishing with a strap to assist with standing or sitting.This yak cuts through water with ease and seat is top of the line and even better with the adjustable foot pedal controls by the seat. The customer service at ACK is top notch and best around.
Reviewer:
thetacoeater
Rating:
4
Date:
4/28/2013
Review:
This kayak is great. Stable and plenty fast enough in the water. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is the location of the kayak paddle holders is too far back in the kayak.
Reviewer:
Dan Larsen
Rating:
4
Date:
2/18/2013
Review:
I've been to the lake 3 times now and have gotten comfortable in the moken. The major benefits are that it is very stable, and the wheel in the keel makes loading, unloading and moving around very easy. The biggest drawbacks are the foot rest they are made entirely of plastic and feel very cheap and like they will be the first thing I'm sure I will have to replace. The seat has 3 times the amount if strap than needed, I hope this is because they will be coming out with a seat riser for the mokens.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:23.22.204.36 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat