Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)‚Äč
Home > Racks & Trailers > Car Rack Systems > Base Systems > Malone HandiRack Roof Rack
Malone HandiRack Roof Rack
MSRP:  $99.95
$89.95
 
Malone HandiRack Roof Rack
MSRP:  $99.95
$89.95 You Save: $10.00(10%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: So cool. The Malone handiRack is an inflatable kayak rack that inflates quickly and straps down tightly inside your car doors. Each rack has 4 d-rings to secure your kayak.
Customer Rating: 3.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Bryan Lee
Rating:
4
Date:
5/11/2014
Review:
This roof rack is pretty nice. Works great and its easy to use. Only problem was one of the racks had a leak in it when it arrived but malone shipped out a replacement very fast. Only thing to watch out for is if your car is wide it may dent the roof in. I put this on my friends ford 500 and it made the roof dent in when I tightened a kayak onto it. Luckily the dent popped out when the straps were released. Great item if you dont want an expensive metal rack.
Reviewer:
Nathan
Rating:
4
Date:
9/10/2013
Review:
I bought this for use on my Dodge Dakota Quad Cab. I'm loading my OK Trident 13 on it. This rack is really pretty nice; very easy to get in place. The little pump that comes with it inflates each tube VERY quickly. Definitely make sure your car has been washed, and you may consider putting something soft underneath it because it WILL scratch the paint. The paint on the roof of my truck is in bad shape so it doesn't bother me at all. I use ratchet straps (very carefully!) for the bow/stern through the scuppers. The smaller straps that come with the set (2) don't keep a good hold for too long, so make sure you plan on using additional tie down methods. All-in-all, GREAT product for those of us without roof racks. Would buy again.
Reviewer:
KayakFisher
Rating:
2
Date:
5/27/2013
Review:
Worked great for about a month hauling my 13ft kayak, even at interstate speeds (had bow + stern straps as well). After a month, the tubes started leaking air, and almost fully deflated while driving and now my roof has some pretty big scratches in it. Might have just been a fluke, but I'm not going to mess around with another inflatable rack.
Reviewer:
ThePolice
Rating:
4
Date:
7/5/2012
Review:
Everyone in the direct vicinity of your vehicle immediately slows down - assuming that your roof rack is actually police lights. Id assume this could safely be doubled if you have a white vehicle. Its really annoying. Just a forewarning.
Reviewer:
AJSab
Rating:
5
Date:
11/2/2011
Review:
Just tried this thing out for the first time this weekend. I have a 2001 Honda Civic Sedan and two 12' sit-on-top Ocean Kayaks. They're also stackable which helps immensely. After I inflated the rack and secured it to my roof I stacked the two kayaks upside down on top of each other. Then I strapped the two kayaks securely together and then strapped them both to the heavy duty D Rings attached to the rack. Lastly, I secured the bow and stern of the yaks to hooks that are found underneath the front and back of your car. If your car doesn't have these hooks then you need to find something else to secure them to. The front and back MUST be tied down. They must have improved the design because it happened to rain a little bit that day and not one drop leaked into my car. I should also mention that the kayaks that I have stacked up there are Ocean Kayak Scrambler XT's and they weigh about 50 pounds each. The Malone Handirack can hold up to 180 pounds. The rack was extremely easy to inflate and can be done by one person with no problem; took me about 2 minutes to inflate both pieces. I took it up to speeds of 65 mph on the highway but quickly exited because it was very windy and I was afraid one of my tiedowns might slip off. When it's windy you can really feel the wind pushing on your car and the kayaks. I'd recommend this rack to anyone who doesn't want to spend money on a metal roof rack or don't want to modify your car. They work just as good and you can find them for around $80 on Amazon. Even if you have a small car it will still work. Again, I have a 2001 Honda Civic and it carried TWO 12 foot kayaks. Here is a picture of it. http://i.imgur.com/JkhKU.jpg
Reviewer:
AJSab
Rating:
5
Date:
11/2/2011
Review:
Just tried this thing out for the first time this weekend. I have a 2001 Honda Civic Sedan and two 12' sit-on-top Ocean Kayaks. They're also stackable which helps immensely. After I inflated the rack and secured it to my roof I stacked the two kayaks upside down on top of each other. Then I strapped the two kayaks securely together and then strapped them both to the heavy duty D Rings attached to the rack. Lastly, I secured the bow and stern of the yaks to hooks that are found underneath the front and back of your car. If your car doesn't have these hooks then you need to find something else to secure them to. The front and back MUST be tied down. They must have improved the design because it happened to rain a little bit that day and not one drop leaked into my car. I should also mention that the kayaks that I have stacked up there are Ocean Kayak Scrambler XT's and they weigh about 50 pounds each. The Malone Handirack can hold up to 180 pounds. The rack was extremely easy to inflate and can be done by one person with no problem; took me about 2 minutes to inflate both pieces. I took it up to speeds of 65 mph on the highway but quickly exited because it was very windy and I was afraid one of my tiedowns might slip off. When it's windy you can really feel the wind pushing on your car and the kayaks. I'd recommend this rack to anyone who doesn't want to spend money on a metal roof rack or don't want to modify your car. They work just as good and you can find them for around $80 on Amazon. Even if you have a small car it will still work. Again, I have a 2001 Honda Civic and it carried TWO 12 foot kayaks. Here is a picture of it. http://i.imgur.com/JkhKU.jpg
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2010
Review:
So far so good. It has held my Malibu II XL on the top of a 2003 Maxima at 60 mph with crosswind. What every one else said about leaving it on in the rain and leaking is true, of course there was no forecast for overnight rain so it is not the HandiRack's fault, it it the meteorologist and the foolish owner to blame. Be careful when loading your wet kayak if there is any incline on your parking spot as the kayak can slip before you have it strapped in. Overall I am pleased....met my expectations and needs.
Reviewer:
Inexpensive but NICE!
Rating:
3
Date:
5/24/2010
Review:
This is an overall nice roof rack for the money esp. if you don't want to spend the $ for a permanent roof rack system. Just install it on your car as instructions say to in case of water leak since this rack is not friendly of rainy weather. I did have one of the straps break on first use but Malone sent me one back ASAP!
Reviewer:
MALyak25
Rating:
5
Date:
11/13/2009
Review:
The Malone HandiRack was a good investment. Very easy to use. Only thing i had to get was straps for the front and back of the car. I just felt more comfortable w them, seemed to slide w/o them .
Reviewer:
Jubster12
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2009
Review:
I think this Malone Handi-Rack works great. I live in NC and my mom lives in WV .It's about a three hour drive to get to the New River. I put my liquid logic remix 9 on top on my 2 dr cobalt, This is why I bought the rack cheap and it actually works. So I trucked it up going 70 to 75 all the way up. I stopped one time to check the straps, including the straps I had to add to the front and the back to stabilize my kayak, and I was good to go. I highly recommend this rack for any 2 dr driver just getting into kayaking that basically has no other choice. Ha Ha!
Reviewer:
cgbigboy
Rating:
3
Date:
6/25/2009
Review:
It works as advertised. However, I used a separate 1" ratchet tie down strap and had to be careful that the hardware did not press open the the buckle on the fixation strap of the Handi-Rack.
Reviewer:
Dan S
Rating:
4
Date:
7/23/2008
Review:
This works great. Traveled 4hrs. at 70 mph with new 14ft (70lb.)kayak on top. The kayak shifts a little in wind but it is definitely secure and not going anywhere. Easy to install, rugged.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.163.139.36 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat