Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit - Product Reviews
Return to Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit Product Details.
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00 You Save: $55.00(20%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.3 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Hazzilla
Rating:
4
Date:
8/19/2013
Review:
Assembly instructions could have been better. Once installed working fine.
Reviewer:
Jw Bowen
Rating:
4
Date:
8/3/2013
Review:
Now that I have one its next best thing slice bread, works great
Reviewer:
CaddiYak
Rating:
4
Date:
5/27/2013
Review:
I went with the rudder option when I ordered my Trident 13 so I didn't have to deal with installation, but I really don't know how I got by in my other yaks without a rudder. I love this thing and definitely recommend it if you are serious about kayaking.
Reviewer:
labayfisher
Rating:
5
Date:
2/1/2013
Review:
Fast shipping Easy to install.
Reviewer:
Rating:
5
Date:
1/31/2013
Review:
works good for what I needed it for.
Reviewer:
Robert P
Rating:
3
Date:
9/25/2012
Review:
Installation wasnt very difficult. The up down line didnt work well with included hardware so I used the double pad eyes instead of the pad eyes included. Works great now the line doesnt bind now. Would be an improvement to include the double eye pads make it 5 stars with that.
Reviewer:
Tim
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2012
Review:
Perfect addition to my T 13 . Rudder kit makes a big difference when paddling in the river systems,lakes .
Reviewer:
Matt Germaine
Rating:
4
Date:
8/23/2012
Review:
Fairly easy install except for the fact that the foot pedal brackets do not line up with the holes on the OK Prowler 15T, so you have to drill out new holes in the bracket. Other then that the install was fairly straight foward. Makes a HUGE difference paddling through strong currents and chop of Long Islands bays
Reviewer:
John from MD
Rating:
3
Date:
6/14/2012
Review:
Man, I dont know how I got by without a rudder on my Trident 13 for so long! As for the kit, if I wasnt a licensed mechanic, I would have had some issues. The instructions are not the best and I advise searching the net for other installation videos done by private owners. The pivot bushing for the rudder was cut with a pipe cutter and was too long. It caused the rudder to drag when extending or retracting. I was able to trim it to size. Additionally, the rudder bolt was 1 inch too long and had to be cut. I also used the existing foot pads by drilling a hole for the bungee and inserting the movable pads for the locking pads that came with the yak. This was easier to do than drilling a new mounting hole for the shorter pad rails that are supplied with the kit. OC should allow for this and sell the kit without the short rails for yaks that have existing rails. It was easier than making one from scratch so I give it three stars.
Reviewer:
Mashpee_Dave
Rating:
5
Date:
3/7/2012
Review:
Although installed, it's still too cold in Mashpee for any saltwater species to be about, so I haven't yet used it. The thing I think is very important to note is that if it were not for the Youtube video detailing the installation, I wouldn't have been able to install this on my Trident 13. The printed instructions are WAY too ambiguous. Solid parts and extra hardware though.
Reviewer:
anonymous
Rating:
3
Date:
8/7/2011
Review:
Rudder works well in heavy wind and current as expected. Not really needed otherwise. I'm 6' and the position of the rudder controls (so that it works) interferes with where I want to put my feet. Resting my feet on the control pedals puts extra stress on the cables.
Reviewer:
Dan
Rating:
5
Date:
7/25/2011
Review:
I found it easy to install. I did have to modify the foot rest. When adjusted to their shortest length they were still too long for my wife. I almost bought a generic brand. I am glad I went with the ocean kayak rudder because everything lined up properly. The rudder is not as wide as the one on my Hobie, however, it does a very good job of steering.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.243.23.129 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat