Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit
Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00
 
Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00 You Save: $55.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Ocean Kayak Trident Rudder Kit allows you to gain more control and achieve better efficiency in wind or fast currents. If you paddle in windy conditions or moving water, adding a rudder to your kayak will make your paddling experience so much more enjoyable. The Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit is the factory rudder kit from Ocean Kayak. Complete with instructions. This rudder kit will fit the Trident series model years 2009 - 2012 and older. If you have a 2013 model or newer, you need the Universal Rudder Kit. Call our customer service team if you have questions about which rudder is right for your boat.

• The Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident rudder kit is easy to install
• Great for superior turning ability and control in the wind
• Factory rudder kit from Ocean Kayak
• Also fits the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13, Big Game Angler, and Tetra series model years 2009 - 2012
• Includes all necessary hardware for rudder installation
  • What's Inside?
  • Item #: 1014
    Part Number UPC
    07.1970.0000 0785978055633
    Back to Top
     Product Videos
    Back to Top
    Back to Top
     Reviews
    Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
    No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
    Back to Top
     Questions
    Have a question about this product?
    Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
    If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
    * Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
    ** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
    customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
    ACK Review: A much needed rudder for a very big kayak. The Ocean Kayak Prowler Trident Rudder kit is easy to install and necessary.
    Customer Rating: 4.3 of 5
    Rating Stars  

    Customer Reviews

    Reviewer:
    Fishsticks
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    4/20/2014
    Review:
    Works really well down wind. Tacking is somewhat limited but does seem to work OK with wind direction up to about +/- 60 degrees from the rear
    Reviewer:
    Hazzilla
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    8/19/2013
    Review:
    Assembly instructions could have been better. Once installed working fine.
    Reviewer:
    Jw Bowen
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    8/3/2013
    Review:
    Now that I have one its next best thing slice bread, works great
    Reviewer:
    CaddiYak
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    5/27/2013
    Review:
    I went with the rudder option when I ordered my Trident 13 so I didn't have to deal with installation, but I really don't know how I got by in my other yaks without a rudder. I love this thing and definitely recommend it if you are serious about kayaking.
    Reviewer:
    labayfisher
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    2/1/2013
    Review:
    Fast shipping Easy to install.
    Reviewer:
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    1/31/2013
    Review:
    works good for what I needed it for.
    Reviewer:
    Robert P
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    9/25/2012
    Review:
    Installation wasnt very difficult. The up down line didnt work well with included hardware so I used the double pad eyes instead of the pad eyes included. Works great now the line doesnt bind now. Would be an improvement to include the double eye pads make it 5 stars with that.
    Reviewer:
    Tim
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    8/31/2012
    Review:
    Perfect addition to my T 13 . Rudder kit makes a big difference when paddling in the river systems,lakes .
    Reviewer:
    Matt Germaine
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    8/23/2012
    Review:
    Fairly easy install except for the fact that the foot pedal brackets do not line up with the holes on the OK Prowler 15T, so you have to drill out new holes in the bracket. Other then that the install was fairly straight foward. Makes a HUGE difference paddling through strong currents and chop of Long Islands bays
    Reviewer:
    John from MD
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    6/14/2012
    Review:
    Man, I dont know how I got by without a rudder on my Trident 13 for so long! As for the kit, if I wasnt a licensed mechanic, I would have had some issues. The instructions are not the best and I advise searching the net for other installation videos done by private owners. The pivot bushing for the rudder was cut with a pipe cutter and was too long. It caused the rudder to drag when extending or retracting. I was able to trim it to size. Additionally, the rudder bolt was 1 inch too long and had to be cut. I also used the existing foot pads by drilling a hole for the bungee and inserting the movable pads for the locking pads that came with the yak. This was easier to do than drilling a new mounting hole for the shorter pad rails that are supplied with the kit. OC should allow for this and sell the kit without the short rails for yaks that have existing rails. It was easier than making one from scratch so I give it three stars.
    Reviewer:
    Mashpee_Dave
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    3/7/2012
    Review:
    Although installed, it's still too cold in Mashpee for any saltwater species to be about, so I haven't yet used it. The thing I think is very important to note is that if it were not for the Youtube video detailing the installation, I wouldn't have been able to install this on my Trident 13. The printed instructions are WAY too ambiguous. Solid parts and extra hardware though.
    Reviewer:
    anonymous
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    8/7/2011
    Review:
    Rudder works well in heavy wind and current as expected. Not really needed otherwise. I'm 6' and the position of the rudder controls (so that it works) interferes with where I want to put my feet. Resting my feet on the control pedals puts extra stress on the cables.
    <<  <  1         >>
    Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
    All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
    ip:54.196.207.55 svr:55
    Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
    Live chat by BoldChat