FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem Kayak Product Details.
$1,649.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
BS1225
Rating:
5
Date:
12/28/2012
Review:
Love it! Very stable, tracks well, racks easily and great comfortable seating. Plenty of room for two paddlers and plenty of gear. Lots of great accessories available from Native to outfit the kayak to your personal preference.
Reviewer:
GregZ
Rating:
4
Date:
8/20/2012
Review:
Easy to load and unload from the back of my pickup with a bed extender. Slices through the water against a 10 mph headwind. Nicely stable.
Reviewer:
JasonSRX
Rating:
4
Date:
7/24/2012
Review:
Well I finally was able to get the boat out a bit this summer and so far is does very well on calm water. Rough water not so much. I recently did a trip on Lake Superior and went out during calm water. It got a little choppy and the boat swamped once. I realize this kayak is not made for big lakes but once swamped it was a nightmare to bail out. Good thing I was close to shore. You need to be a very strong person should you swamp this boat since the water weight is literally hundreds of pounds. Other than that bad experience the boat takes a good line on the water and with the rudder kit. The weight is not too bad considering the accessories either. One other issue I noticed was highway noise. If you do not have the back storage area blocked off you will have a lot of noise about 35 mph when on a vehicle. Plus the straps like to fly around so make sure you secure everything before it is on your vehicle. Other than these few issues the boat is well worth the price.
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/29/2012
Review:
Im very pleased with everything about the boat. I am very happy with the boat and the ordering experience thru ACK! I would highly suggest this boat to anyone that plans to do some kayak fishing or just for recreational paddling.
Reviewer:
Jeremy
Rating:
5
Date:
9/8/2011
Review:
I'm not a boat person, so I had a lot of trouble figuring out what kind of boat to purchase. I bought this boat about a month ago and have spent several days out on the water fishing and/or just enjoying the day with my five year old son. Couldn't ask for a better experience as a novice. Very stable, very comfortable, and easy to cruise around in. It's big and heavy enough that it's a little awkward to get on and off the car by myself, but not so bad that I can't do it. I'm going to try duck hunting with it this fall and have no doubt it will perform wonderfully for that job as well.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
4/5/2011
Review:
Just bought this boat a few weeks ago and I love it.. Spent a lot of time looking around and this boat was number 1 for my needs. Two grown men fit comfortably but I've converted into a single (5 minute job) and had a blast paddling around by myself. The seats are awesome in this thing! Next I plan on gearing up for some fishing.. Austin Kayak is a great store don't waste too much time by going anywhere else first!
Reviewer:
Ben
Rating:
4
Date:
11/24/2010
Review:
I think this is the best down river boat available, and is my favorite paddle boat on the market. Period. All the strengths of a canoe and none of the weaknesses. Great speed, good responsiveness in current when the boat is properly balanced with gear, and for the aesthetics crowd, it's lines are beautiful. Among the nice features are lots of available accessory gadgets for gear-junkies (if you go barefoot in your boat, BUY the Wussy Foot pads - they're worth it), the comfort of the seats and the obvious extra seat that's removable (seats and footpads are adjustable such that the boat can be converted into a 1-person dream cruiser), and the fact that this is the best boat for standing up in both while casting and while paddling. Down river paddling will always benefit from being able to stand up periodically to scan riffles ahead, and this boat facilitates that on Class I Rivers, perhaps on Class II for practiced paddlers. If after an hour of trying you still have difficulty standing up in this boat solo, it's because of your balance and not the boat's construct (at 6' and ~160lbs I have a high center of gravity, so no excuses). I love to use this as a standup down river boat on relaxed watercourses with Werner's standup Advantage paddle. The tunnel hull lets you learn how to fall forward onto your knees into the boat when you hit an obstruction so long as it's not broadside, so standing in this boat is far less likely to result in a swim than doing the same in a canoe. There are three reasons I won't give this boat five stars. 1: It should be available in Royalex - the rotomolded plastic that it's currently made with is likely fine for inshore fishing, but down river paddling lets gravel and rocks carve up the hull. Made out of the former material, this boat would have better bounce, more memory (these boats will deform if left atop a hot car for several days), and longer lifespan. That said, I've paddled watercourses that pounded the rotomolded boats and they do hold up well - just don't faint over the hull scars. 2: Despite ACK's current photo (11/2010), the toggle handles (which I prefer) are no longer a feature of this boat. For those of you who prefer overmolded handles (the soft rubber loops bolted at either end), that's a good thing since 2011 models have these. NWC claims this change came about to make the handles quiet when paddling. Since the toggles were bungeed (the only kayaks I know of that did this) there was no noise in the first place. However, the bungee cords likely weathered out on earlier models and were difficult to replace. 3: These boats are super fast, but are subject to windage. If you will be using the boat on lakes and inshore, pay ACK to install the rudder or plan on rigging one yourself. For folks who like the feel of a reclined, two-blade paddling experience found only in kayaks but also like an open top without the canoe wobble, this is THE boat. Worth every penny, and it's one of my hardest opinions that you won't find a better place from which to purchase this boat than ACK.
Reviewer:
Josh
Rating:
5
Date:
11/18/2010
Review:
5 star service from ACK. Great Kayak for a serious Freshwater (lake or river) with kids and or a wife. After looking at the Ultimate 12 my wife made a comment about wanting to be able to spend time with me on the water. This boat does both solo and tandem kayak fishing. Plenty of room for 2 people and big enough to fish on larger bodies of water.
Reviewer:
rgrin1
Rating:
3
Date:
9/9/2010
Review:
I purchased the tandem Ultimate 14.5 and I am pleased with it. This is my third kayak. The other two are Wilderness System Tarpon 140s. For fishing I would take the WS Tarpon 140 over this kayak. For taking my 3 year old out for a day I would easily choose this one as the best choice. This kayak is lighter and much faster than the Tarpon 140. I believe the Tarpon 140 is better constructed though. I found the Native to be a bit overpriced for what I got. Having said this I am still satisfied with the boat. I was blown away with the speed ack shipped the boat to me.
Reviewer:
dlk1077
Rating:
5
Date:
1/6/2010
Review:
Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem Kayak is great - everything it's advertised to be.
Reviewer:
scguidry
Rating:
5
Date:
9/9/2009
Review:
The Native Ultimate 14.5 has been a slam dunk for me and my family. I've only been forced to load it atop my Acura MDX alone once. It was a challenge to say the least but I did it. However, I've easily loaded it with either my wife, 12 year old daughter, and 14 year old son. Its been a blast to take on the water and fish or just go for a leisurely ride. No complaints and feel good about my purchase.
Reviewer:
Linda
Rating:
4
Date:
7/17/2009
Review:
We purchased the 14.5 Tandem and have been doing small and large rivers with it. It is very stable and easy to paddle. I know the guy in one of the reviews said it was to heavy to put on top of their car but my husband and I have no trouble putting it on top of my trail blazer. The seats are very comfortable and I have a bad back. Austin Kayak was very helpful and we received our Kayak when they said. It was wrapped very well so there was no damaged.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.196.201.253 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat